We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arnold's Country Kitchen

Arnold's Country Kitchen
605 8th Ave S, Nashville, TN 37203-4102 (Downtown Nashville)
615-256-4455
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 1,718 Restaurants in Nashville
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Downtown Nashville
Boston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The roast beef was spectacular and worth the trip. The atmosphere is fun and authentic and we loved the diversity, both racial and economic, of the patrons. These positives are enough to well outweigh the out of the way location, the cramped and dated dining room, and the long line.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    95
    22
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MESA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Crazy-Good Southern Comfort Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

There's a line at this place most days all the way out the door. If you have time while you're in Nashville, it's worth the wait. You should try the fried green tomatoes as they are much better there than anywhere else. I can't imagine anything on their menu wouldn't be fantastic though.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Southern comfort food experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Read other reviews and tried it. Excellent roast beef! Definitely get it. Chess pie was also excellent. The other menu items good but go for the roast beef. With dessert and drinks, expect $10+ per person. Portions are rather small, so if you are looking for value, I don't know that this is it. Sweet tea VERY sweet, but maybe that's how they drink it in the south.

Restaurant only open for lunch. Arrive early or expect a line. Parking lot also fills up.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious, traditional southern lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Arnold's is a Nashville institution and has been serving locals for decades before it became popular for travelers as well. It is the best Meat & 3 in the area, but it's only open for lunch and is almost always busy. The menu has some everyday staples and then changes a few main courses and side dishes each day, so anytime I find something out of the ordinary I have to try it (today was butternut squash-veggie casserole with cornbread topping). It's my #1 spot when friends or coworkers are in from out of town and it never disappoints. Slow down, enjoy the quaint atmosphere, and save plenty of room for dessert!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodlettsville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Small and Crowded Lunch Venue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Lots of people love this place for lunch, but the serving line is almost against the first row of tables, and you feel like you are almost in the line. It is a little small and crowded and I don't ever go here anymore, partly because of this. Lots of people think that it is a great place, but I am about atmosphere as well as food, and this one doesn't do it for me.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arnold's Country Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Arnold's Country Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arnold's Country Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.