We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love to come here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Street Original Crab Shack & Authentic Dive Bar

South Street Original Crab Shack & Authentic Dive Bar
907 20th Ave S, Nashville, TN 37212
(615) 320-5555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #448 of 1,718 Restaurants in Nashville
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I love to come here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I love to come here to eat lunch. I like the pulled pork and sweet potato casserole. Its all delish. The servers are personable and get you your food fast. I love to come here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    45
    11
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar City, Utah
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Had lunch here today and really enjoyed the place.
My food was great (little slow) but it tasted great and the waitress was helpful and friendly.
I recommend the blue plate special. I also got a coke and the cup was enormous.
Seems to be a great little place for seafood and is convenient to the Vandy campus.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE US
Top Contributor
413 reviews 413 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“I am not sure why the place is so popular”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I’ve eaten here twice when visiting family in TN and we all agree there will not be a third time. This is a popular eatery serving southern home-style food. The manager was nice and the staff pleasant, but the food was bad. The ribs were dry and did not fall off the bone and the BBQ sauce was poor (my southern relatives agreed). I had the plate of pulled pork, chicken and a smoked sausage. The pork & chicken were dry, but the sausage was good and the side of baked beans was superb. The cornbread, which my relatives say was Mexican style, was dry. The Steam pot bucket of boiled seafood looked awful: mostly potatoes. On the other hand, my wife loved her shrimp & grits, but the food was not warm. The pictures on the website do not look like the food at all. The prices are modest $10-18 for mains, which might explain the popularity.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Would not recommend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Ribs were tough - they should fall off the bone and the pulled pork was dry. My daughter liked her kids burger and the beer was good. We were expecting better pork based on the amount of people in the restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a casual BBQ restaurant. Selections, while not low calorie, were fantastic. We had the Smokehouse Trio and Fried Oysters - both perfect! Wait staff was very friendly and efficient. Perfect for a casual meal.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Street Original Crab Shack & Authentic Dive Bar also viewed

 

Been to South Street Original Crab Shack & Authentic Dive Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Street Original Crab Shack & Authentic Dive Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.