We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They mean hot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bolton's Spicy Chicken & Fish

Bolton's Spicy Chicken & Fish
624 Main St, Ste A, Nashville, TN 37206-3631
615-254-8015
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #288 of 1,726 Restaurants in Nashville
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“They mean hot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

So I knew we were coming to Nashville so I researched food that I knew hubby and I would like. This place was really good, but they are not kidding about how hot their hot flavor is. Hubby and I ordered the breast quarter plate. The options for flavor are regular, mild and hot. I got the mild and hubby got the hot. The hot was beyond his ability, but it was really good and the mild was NOT mild but again, the flavor was incredible. Hubby got the mac&cheese and greens for sides, both of which were amazing. I got the fries and corn on the cob, which were also very enjoyable. This is a little out of the way but totally worth the trip. I second the getting it to go as it is a tiny place with three tables.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    30
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“So Spicy & Delicous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

NY Times was right - really flavorful and incredibly tasty. I advise to order to go food. Place is small and hot, but you have to experience it once!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, MI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Crust so crispy you can hear it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We seek out authentic local food in our travels and baby, this place is the real McCoy. It looks like a dive but don't be fooled. It has a 94 inspection rating.

The chicken and fish have a crust so crispy you can hear your dining partner eating. The crust (we got medium heat) is sublimely delicious, keeping the chicken underneath moist and tender.

The mac and cheese is sensational, heavily laced with black pepper.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York, United States
1 review
“Good chicken and catfish.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Bolton's was delicious. We visited from NY, when Mr. Bolton heard that he said he really appreciated us coming to visit and he personally cooked our chicken. FYI Bolton's just started opening on Sundays. They close on Sundays at 7pm. You gotta try this chicken. People did dine in however I would order to go.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“run down-looking shack with excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Don't be turned away by the run-down, half-buried building with a tiny, cramped, dirty dining area. This place serves the best spicy fried chicken and spicy fried catfish that I've ever tasted! If you can handle spice, I'd recommend still getting the mild. Their mild/medium/hot is not your standard. My friend who drinks Sriacha sauce and Tabasco sauce could not handle the "hot" spiciness at all, and had to drop down to a mild. The mild spiciness is still quite spicy but very flavorful. The chicken wings and catfish were so tender!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bolton's Spicy Chicken & Fish also viewed

 

Been to Bolton's Spicy Chicken & Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bolton's Spicy Chicken & Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.