We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Your Average Sub Shop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sub Depot

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sub Depot
528 Donelson Pike, Nashville, TN 37214-3729
615-889-9700
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #415 of 1,632 Restaurants in Nashville
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Not Your Average Sub Shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stumbled upon this gem while checking out another local Nashville restaurant on tripadvisor.com.

Sub Depot is less than five minutes from the airport and what a refreshing atmosphere it is, with a big and airy room, complete with giant maps, world time clocks, magazines and more!

But, let's talk subs for a moment.

I'm from Boston and now living in Music City, and I know a sub from a sub, and Sub Depot meatball subs are very, very high on my list. Delicious meatballs and sauce, great bread, PLUS peppers and onions, as part of the deal!

My son had his favorite sub, Buffalo Chicken, and he gave it two-thumbs up!

One minor point--I found the menu sign way too big with too many offerings that made it very tough to read.

If I'm a restaurant consultant--and I'm not--I'd suggest cutting down my menu to only those subs and other items that really, really sell well--and eliminate the rest, then enlarge the letters of everything that remains on the board.

Overall, though, I give Sub Depot an A!

Hey, the kitchen and pick-up counter guys thanked us as we left!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Average sub shop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Good and diverse menu. I visited for lunch, sandwhich was good, not great. Staff was helpful and attentive.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great subs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Look for a REAL sub? Look no further, this place is original! Many subs to choose from along this homemade cookies and brownies.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Norman, NC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Steak and cheese - steamed.... YUM!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I was in Nashville on business for about 14 days in Sept 2012. I think I ate lunch at the Sub Depot on 6 of the days. I loved the Steak and Cheese - steamed. Good stuff! I also can't say enough about the gent that works the counter. He is the epitome of what a customer service provider should be. He is very helpful, offers assistance, and generally goes above and beyond to ensure you enjoy your visit to this place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent spot for filling lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I absolutely loved stopping in here for lunch when I worked by the Nashville airport. I have never had to wait long in line to order. The food is priced comparably to any subway, however, you get much more! I have tried just about every item on the menu and haven't been let down. If you have a sweet tooth, grab a cookie. You won't regret it!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sub Depot also viewed

 

Been to Sub Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sub Depot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.