We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quick meal (not fast food)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calypso Cafe

Calypso Cafe
2424 Elliston Pl, Nashville, TN 37203-1705
(615) 321-3878
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #215 of 1,718 Restaurants in Nashville
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Vegetarian, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch
Tallahassee, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great quick meal (not fast food)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I've eaten several salads here - they are huge, tasty, and ready in a flash. You can get in and out quickly, without suffering from a blah or greasy meal! The cornbread muffins are hard to resist.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    26
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Juicy Chicken and Al Dente Black Beans!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This place was delicious. A friend of mine that used to live in Nashville recommended it to me. I'm glad she did. The chicken was juicy, with a yummy bbq sauce. The black beans were cooked perfectly and were flavorful. My server was very friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, IL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very good change of pace! Quality Carribean food for cheap!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Very good and almost guilt free eating! Rotisserie chicken, beans, rice, sauces, cole slaw, sweet corn bread with coconut! Good stuff! Good people! Very friendly and appreciative! The wife and I ate dinner for less than 16$.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bna
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“chicken is best bet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Several locations in town. One in Belle Meade is rarely crowded. Rotisserie chicken is flavorful as are the salads.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fastest Healthy Option in Midtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Calypso cafe is always refreshing if I need something fast and affordable, but not fast food. Plus it's delicious! My husband and I have recently adopted the Paleo diet/lifestyle and were able to eat out here with ease (Rotisserie Chicken, Salad w/o cheese, vegan spiced sweet potatoes). Vegan friends also eat here easily because menu items are labeled at Vegan or Gluten-Free. And they really are fast. You can walk in and order to-go and it's ready in minutes.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calypso Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Calypso Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calypso Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.