We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty dinner and a ride to the show” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Midtown Cafe

Midtown Cafe
102 19th AVE South, Nashville, TN 37203
615-320-7176
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Midtown Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 1,724 Restaurants in Nashville
Price range: $20 - $80
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: For 26 years, a top ranked locally and nationally casual fine dining destination just off West End, offers iconic lunch and dinner signature dishes, Contemporary American cuisine and the finest local and seafood / beef / veal ingredients. Superlative service is by a veteran hospitality staff of professionals. Midtown Cafe offers free shuttle service from downtown hotels and to local performance venues including Bridgestone, Ryman, Schemerhorn, TPAC after dinner with reservations. A fantastic wine list includes 40+ glass selections and 150 bottles, and a multi-course "Tasting Menu" that changes nightly and is available a la carte.
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tasty dinner and a ride to the show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We LOVE the Midtown Cafe. Their food is always excellent. I love their fish, their homemade soups, pasta dishes, Filet Mignon and salads. They never disappoint! We also enjoy their shuttle service to the symphony or TPAC...a nice added treat the night of a show.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    38
    19
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Such good food that we keep going back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We liked this so much the first time we went 2 years ago that we just keep going back. It's one of our favorite places in town.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This place should be on top of your list.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a great "business casual" kind of place. The food was great with their own original twist to it. I had a steak sandwich and my friends had the"Best Club Sandwich". Our waiter was great.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphysboro, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We found this place just OK. I can't help but feel they're coasting on their reputation, and maybe at one time they were as good as people seem to think. Reviews raved about the crab cakes. I had those and found them tasteless and soggy, couldn't even finish them. The shrimp and grits appetizer on the other hand was great. The service was also very good. My overall impression, way overpriced for what you get.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Doesn't Quite Deliver”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The atmosphere was great, and the menu impressive. Our waiter was outstanding. Unfortunately, my fish was just mediocre--too much grease. The bill for wine and two dinners (my husband had the pork tenderloin) was over $100--too much for food that's not really great.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Midtown Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Midtown Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midtown Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.