We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quick brunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capitol Grille

Capitol Grille
231 6th Ave N, The Hermitage Hotel, Nashville, TN 37219-1903 (Downtown Nashville)
615-345-7116
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Capitol Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 1,695 restaurants in Nashville
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Nashville
Cross street: Union
Grand Rapids, MI
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“quick brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I had the eggs benedict - they were nothing to write home about, but food quality was excellent and tasty

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    317
    86
    47
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
O'Fallon, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We new going in that the food was ala carte and expensive. We were ok with this. We started the night with a bottle of wine. They have an extensive wine list, but there are mostly super expensive bottles of wine. Most wines were $75 to over $1000. We spent $44 and had a good bottle. First course my husband ordered the sweet onion bisque which he liked but felt like he needed more salt. I had a the celeric soup. Which was really good considering it was celery. There was a ton of flavor. We also had bread which was really good. Main course I had the 6oz filet of beef with a side of mac and cheese. The beef was very good but was almost overcooked for a medium order. The mac and cheese was just ok. I was really excited about this side and it was a disapointment. My husband had the pork. His pork tenderloin was really melt in your mouth good. For dessert we shared the apple tart which had a great apple flavor. With tip the final price was $175. The meal was good, but I have had food just as good, for about $100-$125. The restaurant is inside an old hotel so it has a lot of charm and the service was fantastic, but it was a little on the loud side and not romantic at all.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good, but not memorabe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a nice meal but it's a week later and I don't remember what I had. I do remember it was on the expensive side, yet it's nothing to write home about. J Alexander was WAY NICER and cheaper, so go there instead.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

The Capitol Grille is set in a lovely space with stylish pictures of local landmarks taken from different perspectives. We stood at the reception desk slightly longer than we'd have expected but after that the service was exceptional.

The delicious food on the menu features the chef's creations as well as simply cooked prime cuts of meat. We opted for creative dishes and sides which didn't disappoint. Local produce is well used as far as possible. I had a beef fillet option and Sarah had wonderful Salmon (not local).

The dessert menu has excellent home made ice creams and sorbets and a coconut cake which is very good but bordering on oversweet.

There is an extensive wine list at sensible prices. We treated ourselves to a Ridge Zinfandel.

This a great restaurant. The sumptuous food is elevated by the meticulous, friendly service. I have no hesitation in recommending it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We found the Capitol Grille restaurant, located in the Hermitage Hotel, to be as excellent as the hotel itself. We enjoyed breakfast, lunch, and dinner here. Fabulous food and service.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capitol Grille also viewed

 
Nashville, TN
Nashville, TN
 

Been to Capitol Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitol Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.