We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant in Nashville!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Etch

Etch
303 Demonbreun, Nashville, TN
+1 615-522-0685
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Etch is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 1,704 Restaurants in Nashville
Price range: $25 - $65
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 3rd AVE.
Description: Featuring an array of global flavors and decadent desserts by Chef Deb Paquette and Pastry Chef Megan Williams, Etch is located in the ground floor of the Encore tower in Nashville's SoBro district. The restaurant is equipped with two private dining rooms, a full bar and an open kitchen with bar-style seating, allowing guests to interact with Deb and her kitchen. Lunch and dinner are available Monday-Friday, as well as dinner on Saturday. In her 13 years as Chef/Owner of Zola, Deb received accolades for Nashville's best chef and Nashville's best restaurant multiple times. Nashville restaurants are many, but Etch sets itself apart with bold flavors and colorful presentations.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Nashville!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We absolutely love this restaurant. In fact , we arranged our trip plans for a stop in Nashville for one reason...to have dinner at Etch! We were not disappointed.
We had the cauliflower as an appetizer and it was great. Then a charcuterie salad which was a wonderful variety of many tastes. For our mains we had the halibut plate and the pork chop. Both were wonderful. We clearly order too much food .... Oh well it was yummy! The restaurant served our meal gluten free. The service was magnificent! We will definitely dine here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    62
    24
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not a memorable meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

The best thing on the menu is the cauliflower, apart from that I didn't think there was much else memorable about this restaurant. I had the duck which was cooked fine but the bed of leaves/veg it was served on was so salty I couldn't eat it. I love salt but even for me it was too much. My partner had a pork chop which again was cooked well but again nothing special. I think it is very overpriced for average cooked food.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best meals I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We selected Etch out of a Nashville DIning Directory, and are still talking about our meal last night.
The cauliflower appetizer was recommended, and it was so delicious - we would have been satisfied with just that. We also had the lamb tartare.
Our group ordered the filet, the duck and I ordered the lamb porterhouse - which was amazing!.
Besides the presentation, the combination of flavors both exploded and blended nicely in your mouth. We had a Sonoma red wine which was delicious. We shared the rutabaga vegetable - which was really delicious. We finished dinner with cappucinos and the pretzel bar and the Jack Daniels chocolate ice cream.
Well worth the price. Will definitely be back next time we are in town.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The Meal Will be "Etched" in Your Memory”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

If dining in a spartan space lets one focus on the meal and its flavors, it works! The meals were delicious, well prepared, well presented, and the wait staff was attentive. It is loud, but that's to be expected given the design, but it is vibrant. The vegetarian dish was tasty and very filling, but unusual in the combination of vegetables. Though it was good, I would select something else next time. The catfish and accompaniments were excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The atmosphere, food and service we received were beyond compare. Special shout-out to James, a wonderful and very talented server. The dishes are a work of art, like Monet for your taste buds. To moan about the price as some reviewers do seems petty. Yes, it's one of the most expensive meals you'll probably eat all year unless you're a celebrity! But it's worth it. You don't get Etch quality at Chili's prices. Live a little. By the way they're very nice here. We came in wearing jeans and sneakers and looking a little rough and touristy, clearly underdressed, but no one batted an eye and we were treated as though we were cherished guests.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Etch also viewed

 

Been to Etch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Etch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.