We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walkin' Nashville - Music City Legends Tour

Walkin' Nashville - Music City Legends Tour
414 Union St., Nashville, TN 37219
+1 615-499-5159
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established July 2012. Hank, Johnny, Chet, George, Tammy, Conway, Loretta, Dolly, Willie . . . There was a time when country music was on a first name basis with its fans. A time when the streets of downtown Nashville were alive with the sound of backroom guitar pulls, Midnight Jamborees and the Grand Ole Opry. Now you can recapture the magic of this golden era on the Walkin' Nashville Music City Legends Tour. Packed with history and behind-the-scenes anecdotes about your favorite country legends, this 90-minute walking tour tells the real story of how Nashville came to be called Music City. You'll see Printer's Alley, The Ryman Auditorium, Tootsie's Orchid Lounge, Ernest Tubb Record Shop and Hatch Show Print.Your friendly guide is Grammy-nominated journalist and musician, Bill DeMain. A longtime resident of Nashville, he will show you hidden corners of the city not found in any guidebook and tell you stories you won't hear on any other tour.From APRIL - OCTOBER, tours run Tuesday, Thursday-Saturday. From NOVEMBER - MARCH, tours run Friday & Saturday only (weekdays available by special arrangement for groups of 8 or more)Start Time: 10:30 AM (Please arrive 10-15 minutes early to check in)Tour Length: Approx. 2 Hours
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Just Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Bill is so great! We had an awesome time on the tour and learned all kinds of cool stories and little pieces of Nashville history you would never know of by touring the city alone. Start your trip with this tour!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Wonderful tour! Around every corner was a story on Nashville's fabulous history told with love and passion. Bill is the best way to start or end your visit to a great city. He made our visit complete! Thanks, Bill! You Rock!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great story teller!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The reviews are right! Bill was engaging and informative. He has great passion for music and Nashville. Told great stories that you won't hear on other tours.
We parked by the library and were close to everything we wanted to see that day.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsburg, Indiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great introduction to Music City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Enjoyed every minute of the tour, Bill is a font of interesting information about Nashville, both its music history and current events. He's incredibly personable and seemed to take a genuine interest in ensuring that everyone on the tour was having a great time and had all their questions answered, giving recommendations on restaurants and music venues too.

Be sure to dress for the weather as it can be chilly in the shade, especially when the wind blows.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Bill's Walking Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

While visiting from KC, MO my best friend in Nashville, she played to my love of country music. We went on the Nashville Music City Legends tour. Definitely one of the best things we did while here. Bill made it interesting from start to finish. His personal stories of people and places here made us sorry when the tour ended. So much knowledge that we didn't hear any other place during our visit. I would recommend this to everyone. After walking on Bill's tour, don't be surprised if you take other tours and feel like you know as much or more as the other tour guides. GREAT TOUR !

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walkin' Nashville - Music City Legends Tour also viewed

 

Been to Walkin' Nashville - Music City Legends Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walkin' Nashville - Music City Legends Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.