We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only on business” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville to your Saves list
The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   711 Union Street, Nashville, TN 37219 (Formerly Best Western Downtown Convention Center) (Downtown Nashville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #95 of 151 Hotels in Nashville
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Only on business”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I would stay at this hotel again to meet my travel budget but I would never stay here with my family. The room was small but the bathroom was big and the bed soft. The Staff tried to be helpful. The comp breakfast and free internet was of value. My room however smelled of smoke but the location was very convenient.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    154
    150
    94
    94
See reviews for
68
211
22
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamden, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

As others have said, this motor inn is old tired and dilapidated. The bed was OK, but everything else in the room was 1950's, even the pair of someone else's socks I found on the floor. In todays day and age, to walk outside to get to your room in cold rainy weather is uncomfortable.

The description of the hotel says "convention center", but it is .8 miles away. True $4.50 will get you there by cab, but most hotels that advertise as "convention center" are attached or next door.

Staff was absolutely fantastic!! Very friendly and accommodating. My room key didn't work after two trips to the front desk (with my luggage), but a maintenance guy came with me the third time and it worked. I would not stay here again, period. No restaurant, no bar...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM711, General Manager at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments and our apologies that you were not satisfied with your stay. In reading your comments I do understand your concern the age of the building but I also appreciate your comments about the service and efforts of the staff. As you were very busy, we have already started the reinforcement of the exterior building to prepare for the remodel. Public areas are also included. An additional update will be our lobby, which will be expanded and it will include a Bistro that will serve high-end beers and hot foods. We expect completion in May 2014.

Thank you again for staying and maybe you will considered returning later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

In essence my review echos that of KiwiAbroadGally1. . Our room # 306 contained two very comfortable beds. the remaining furnishings were dated- The exterior of the building is in need of a resurface. the public areas are very dated and worn. The property met our needs- a place to clean up and sleep. With every thing else pushing or excedding $300 per night it was a viable option.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This hotel is old and run down. While the staff is very friendly and helpful, they can't do much about the condition of the building. The room was clean, bed was comfortable, but it was noisey and drafty.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM711, General Manager at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
I'm sorry you were disappointed. We do understand that cosmetics have a huge impact on perception. Just so that you know, downtown pricing will always be much higher when there are either a special event or large convention in town. On the good, we have gotten the go ahead to start public space and exterior renovations from the city with an expected completion in late April 2014. With that said, the perception issue will no longer be an issue. Hopefully in the future you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiwi Abroad
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I usually only write good reviews - I figure everyone else can do the bad stuff but this hotel was such a mix of good and bad for us I can't not tell it all! The building itself and reception area looks very dated but reception was friendly although stressed - it was New Year's Eve though and they were really busy. We had to use the Valet parking as the parking spots were very tight and our vehicle was slightly too big - I`m glad I didn`t have to try and park and the guy in charge who 'took it away' was very helpful. The location of the hotel is really good, you can walk downtown to all the nightlife - restaurants and bars. Our room was on the third floor and the lift was really old and slow (by the time we left we were using the stairs as the quickest option). The rooms are along an open outdoor walkway and each room had a large glass window so people passing by could see directly into the room unless you drew the curtains, and you hear their noise. The room was clean but the air con/heater was very noisy. The bathroom layout wasn't the best but the worst, worst thing was when you switched the bathroom light on there was a really loud noise from the extractor fan which turned on and remained on until the light switch was turned off. There was no other switch for lights in the bathroom so a real (loud) pain if you needed to switch the light on during the night. On the plus side, the bed was comfortable and the free Wifi worked well. The staff were the best part of this hotel and that counts for a lot. They were friendly and attentive, particularly the person in the breakfast area. So nice to have a friendly person at breakfast with good customer service focus.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM711, General Manager at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thanks for the review. We are certainly aware of most of the items you described as a disappointment and we are working to resolve them. I do appreciate your comments regarding the service of the staff. With this component already working the building is the only issue left to be fixed and we are currently doing that. As you saw the guest rooms have been updated and modernized. With some small teaks we should have the rooms perfect. Give us a little more time on the public areas and I am sure, if you return, you will see a fantastic value in staying with us.
We apologize for your negative perception and will strive to do better in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfordsville, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This was the worst "motel" I have ever stayed at on business. It was literally a "motel". You had to go outside to get to your room on the 5th floor! The room was musty and the décor was from the 1960's. The bed was hard as a rock and very uncomfortable. I checked out early and went to an actual hotel nearby.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hebron, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Room was clean however had no idea rooms were on the outside. Wind came under door and shook door all night. TV was a good TV brand but the picture was horrible. Had to use a towel and a chair to keep the door from shaking during the night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM711, General Manager at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
I'm sorry that while you were here the nation as a whole was experiencing the lowest deep freezing temperatures in history which made keeping venues warm anywhere a difficult task. As this phenomena was nationally advertised on all news channels, we did try to make the experience as comfortable as we could. Power supply was at max capacity within the city and yes we all did experience discomfort. However, I do appreciate your comments regarding our clean rooms. Hopefully in the future when weather conditions are seasonally normal you will give us another try.

Again, our sincere apologies for your uncomfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville

Address: 711 Union Street, Nashville, TN 37219 (Formerly Best Western Downtown Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 151 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville is in the heart of downtown, within walking distance to entertainment & dining venues. Our 100 sleeping rooms have been newly renovated. Free deluxe hot breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Choice Hotels so you can book your The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Nashville
Best Western Nashville
Nashville Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.