We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Indian food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bombay Palace

Bombay Palace
2912 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203 (Haynes Area)
(615) 321-6140
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #118 of 1,718 Restaurants in Nashville
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Haynes Area
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Over the past 5 years, I've tried just about every Indian restaurant in the Nashville area, and most are very good, although the quality of lunch buffets can vary considerably.
This was a new one for me, and it was excellent! Three of us went for dinner on a quiet week night. Service was very good, and all three dishes were superb! The food was high quality and well prepared. I did not go for lunch, so I can't say anything about their lunch buffet. But for dinners, I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    15
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good lunch buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stopped here for a late lunch before a flight out of BNA, and enjoyed everything I tried at the buffet. The vegetable pakora was very good; the dal and curry dishes were good but not heated as they should have been. I did come at around 2:00 near the end of their buffet lunch period, but all tables were still full, so one would hope they were still producing fresh food. Their mint chutney is excellent. I will give it another chance closer to noon sometime, and hopefully everything will be at the right temperature!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“very nice Indian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I didn't expect much from an Indian restaurant in Nashville and I was actually very pleasantly surprised. The food is very good and the staff is even better. All in all, a good choice, reasonably priced.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Authentic Indian Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I was visiting Nashville on Business and my wife was traveling with me. We both absolutely love Indian food and will eat it as often as our waists allow. A co-worker at the office I was visiting suggested I try Bombay Palace. Since he was from India, I took his recommendation to heart as he knows the food and style better than I!

We found a place to park out front. Parking is very limited, so you may have to walk down the street a bit. I guarantee you, it is absolutely worth the walk. The building is in a strip mall between a cornershop, an out-of-business bicycle shop, and maybe a liquor store. Do not let the outdoors fool you, this is a beautiful restaurant with great food!

We walked in and were seated by the host who also brought us water. The tables are covered with thick white cloths and the silverware was wrapped in neat white linens. We waited a few minutes and placed our order. As we waited, we enjoyed the ambiance of the restuarant. Traditional paintings, and other artworks are hung on the walls. There is a buffet table which appears to only be used during lunch.

After our waters were delivered, the waiter brought us a thin wafer cooked in light oil. I am unsure of what they are called but they very addicting. They are served with four styles of sauces. One is sweet and tangy, another is the onion spicy variety, they have a surprisingly spicy mint chutney and the last one was maybe tumeric based. It was orange/red in color and was the least flavorful of the two. I really thought their mind chutney was very good. It was fresh tasting and a bit hotter than what I am used to eating. Very good way to start!

Our vegetable samosas arrived. They were very delicious! I had them with a very large King Fisher's beer. The samosas were fresh and not over cooked. The potatoes inside were very good. They had a light dash of some kind of spice on top of them.

Our main course arrived after only a few moments of waiting and our servers were attentive enough. I ordered the Bombay Special Biryani. My wife ordered Chicken Korma Northern Style.

I had not had Biryani before so I wasn't sure what to expect. The menu had an ample description, but that doesn't hold a candle to actually tasting the food! The food was served in very cheeky serving dishes. They were round bowls silver in color set on top of cradles. In the middle of the cradle, was room for a tealight candle to keep the dish hot while you ate. The portions are absolutely huge. As delicious as my food was, I could not eat it all in one setting. The Biryani was a mix of chicken, lamb and shrimp flavored with saffron and mixed together with rice. We also received naan bread with our orders. It was fresh as was everything else. The chicken korma was good, but I was too focused on my own dish because of how good it tasted to try too much of the korma. The head waiter or possibly the owner stopped by to ask us how we were enjoying ourselves and I told him it was the best Indian food we had ever eaten in a restaurant. He was very appreciative to our comments and pleased to her the wait staff had been doing an excellent job. He returned to our table after with free dessert, on the house! The Kheer, a basmati rice pudding, was very flavorful and rich. If I go back to Nashville, I will MAKE time to go back to Bombay Palace! I'd love to see how they fare for lunch and to try the buffet and sample each cuisine offered.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“The food here is exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

There is only one place in Nashville I prefer for Indian food over this one. They make THE best Kashmiri naan, bar none. They also serve meat here but I've never tried it because I prefer vegetarian Indian food. They have a really good Baingan Bhartha and their Chili Paneer is exceptional. They keep a clean restaurant and while parking might be iffy at times, we've never been disappointed here.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Palace also viewed

 

Been to Bombay Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bombay Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.