We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hungry? Here is a place to fill up with country cooking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monell's at the Manor

Monell's at the Manor
1400 Murfreesboro Pike, Nashville, TN 37217-2811
615-365-1414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 1,762 Restaurants in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Etowah, North Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hungry? Here is a place to fill up with country cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Monell's at the Manor is on the south edge of the Nashville airport in a large colonial home. They serve family style with 8 at a table. The food is plentiful and there is large number of dishes on each table. You will sit with others, but that adds to the enjoyment and you will be busy passing the dishes up an down the table. The dishes were mostly Southern style and all were tasty and served at the right temperature. We all ate until we were full, and then came dessert -- in our case, delicious banana pudding. The price is affordable, the noise level is actually quite low and the service is excellent. It is family and business friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    54
    10
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Close to Nashville Airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Excellent food served family style in a beautiful antebellum home. People assembled at a large rectangular table and the server brought out multiple meats, casseroles, vegetables, and breads. Ice tea, water, coffee was served and dessert was included. Service was excellent! Flat rate for all diners that is paid upon departure. Take a tour of the home if time allows!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Al
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great food & atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Our barbershop chorus was in town competing and had a wonderful meal here. They wait for all of your party to be there before seating but you are quickly seated whenever everyone gets there. We had a great dinner and everyone enjoyed all of the courses. Fried chicken, meatloaf, barbeque pork, cat fish filets,fried green tomatoes, mac & cheese, mashed potatoes, gravy, green beans, okra & tomatoes, mixed salad, macaroni salad, cole slaw, along with great peach preserves (which you can buy) and fabulous mini corn bread muffins & biscuits. Desert was banana pudding. No one walked away hungry and we loved every minute of it. We liked that we could talk with each other and it was family style oriented too! We will come back again in the future, this time with our family. You will not be disappointed at all and the price is reasonable since you have a large variety of food items and everyone, even those who are picky can find something to eat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A nice way to experience a variety of Southern style food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Some of the food was wonderful like the fried green tomatoes and banana pudding. All of it was good. At 19.00 a person for all you can eat it was reasonable. Lemonade and iced tea started with biscuirs, cornbread, vegatables, salad, four kinds of meat and dessert. Eating at the table with strangers was fun. My kids really liked it. We will go again on our way throughtown.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
“Wow, reasonable prices, home cooked food, beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Monells is family style seating and serving. The menu is limited to a few different main courses and you don't order from a menu. Unless you are in a large group you'll sit with strangers but for someone like me on a business trip, it was more like sitting with distant relatives. Everybody is always friendly and the conversation pleasant.

Although the menu is "limited" don't let that deter you, we had three meat choices, one vegetarian main, and SIX different vegetables and THREE different salad choices. Drinks (lemonade, tea, water) are all included with the meal. So is dessert.

The food is served family style, in help yourself serving bowls to pass around. There is plenty of food and when any platter or bowl goes empty, the attentive serving staff refill it immediately. The food is just as good as my mom used to make.

Finally, the restaurant is in an old southern mansion that appears authentic and restored. In between the pleasant conversation, I really enjoyed looking around at the interior of the house. It was as though we'd all been invited to a large southern banquet.

Next time I'm in Nashville, I will stop by here. It's also reasonably priced, you can eat dinner for less than $20.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monell's at the Manor also viewed

 

Been to Monell's at the Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monell's at the Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.