We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't leave hungry!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monell's at the Manor

Monell's at the Manor
1400 Murfreesboro Pike, Nashville, TN 37217-2811
615-365-1414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 1,695 restaurants in Nashville
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“You won't leave hungry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Monell's is a great place to take a crowd. Everyone sits around a big table and family style bowls are passed around. The meatloaf and fried chicken were excellent. Look around the 1930 mansion. The bottom floor is the restaurant. Sitting is crowded and the place was packed for lunch on a Thursday. Everyone in my group of 25 enjoyed it. One price --$16---no selection off a menu---lots of food!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    81
    30
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antioch, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Supurb home cooking.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Communal dining. you eat with other folks at a large table served a fixed menu for the day family style. They keep it coming. Skillet fried chicken to die for. Corn pudding - OH MY!! Home cooking with a little southern flair, but, truely soooo good! Check the Menu for the entree
of the day. If it bothers you to dine with folks you dont know then dont go. Met some interesting people. We live here and plan to go often.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Some food very good, other, not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I stopped at this restaurant looking for some southern food. We knew in advance, about the communal seating and serving, which turned out to be delightful. We met some nice folks, and conversation flowed.
Now to the food:
First came salads, slaw, three bean, and tossed. All were fine.
Biscuits and corn bread were next, and they were average, at best. The biscuits tasted like the Pillsbury frozen kind, which had been allowed to cool too much,
Our meats were fried chicken, which I thought was excellent, crispy, well seasoned, and not greasy. Also, pot roast in gravy, probably round; oven cooked barbque ribs, which had a good flavor, but you had to cut around the fat, and a chicken casserole, which I really did not try.
The sides were: pole beans, great corn pudding, mashed potatoes, a little watery, some sort of warm pineapple chunk casserole, sliced candied sweet potatoes, and some others, which I do not remember.
The most disappointing part of the meal was dessert. They called it strawberry shortcake, but not really. It consisted of a few mushy strawberries, and some sort of pudding, with a graham cracker crust mixed in there somewhere.
I might come back, just for the corn pudding and fried chicken. However, I would not fight the crowds that were arriving as we were paying our bill.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't love all you can eat dining, but this was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Normally I hate all-you-can-eat places but this was pretty good. Chicken, pork chops, potatoes, apples and cucumber salad were all very good. Bread and dressing were not. Shared a table with a very nice family and food was replenished quickly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Your Grandmother's House for Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Interesting ambiance -- family style dinner. You are seated at a long table, and if your party doesn't fill it all up, other diners are seated with you. Being friendly is important.

A variety of salads (cole slaw, macaroni salad, cucumber tomato salad) are presented with corn bread and biscuits. A little while later, we were served fried chicken, baked chicken and fried pork chops. Accompanying these were green bean, potatoes, mac and cheese. Sweet tea, iced tea (unsweetened), lemonade and water were offered. These was topped off with peach cobbler.

I enjoyed this more than my husband (who is a gourmet chef) did. This restaurant presents home cooking in a family-style dining environment. I thought the food was good, like one of the many Southern Sunday dinners I've had at friends houses. Fancy, it wasn't. Gourmet, it wasn't. Plain down home cookin' -- it was. Have fun with it and enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monell's at the Manor also viewed

 

Been to Monell's at the Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monell's at the Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.