We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel; best Marriott I've encountered” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University to your Saves list
Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2555 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #45 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Nashville, TN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel; best Marriott I've encountered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for a week with family and friends, as we all prepared for my wedding day. (My wedding reception was at the Parthenon immediately across the street, so the location couldn't be beat.) For starters, the hotel is gorgeous. It seems new, with dynamic and modern decor. The rooms are immaculate, and I visited a lot of them, as family members had rented out perhaps 30 rooms in the time before and during my wedding weekend. Food at the restaurants is expensive, as is the case at most hotels, and delicious. Many of the rooms either have a view of West End Ave. and the Parthenon, or Vanderbilt and the football stadium. Restaurants and stores including Borders and P.F. Chang's are steps away, easily accessed on foot without crossing any streets.

The service deserves really special mention. The staff at the Marriott bent over backwards to facilitate smooth check-ins for guests and distribution of all our "welcome bags." They also pitched in numerous times as my mom and I pulled together last-minute wedding tasks -- this includes sending and receiving faxes and other deliveries, as well as helping my mom (not a Nashville native) figure out good sources for different things. They helped my mom and I deal with several large, odd loads of stuff -- all the reception favors, for example. Several of them knew our names by the end of the week and were extremely friendly, helpful, and congratulatory. Bear in mind that our wedding utilized no Marriott services other than the block room reservations, which came at a block room discount. But they were more helpful to us in that last week, in lots of little ways, than some of my vendors.

I stayed at the Marriott a few weeks later for a friend's wedding, and this time the reception was actually at the Marriott. Their reception area was beautiful and the food was terrific.

In closing, I couldn't have been more pleased with our stay at the Marriott. The rooms are nicer than some of those at "boutique" Nashville hotels, including nearby Hotel Indigo, and the service is impeccable.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    143
    83
    35
    17
See reviews for
108
98
30
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

Obviously, the Marriott has structured their hotels to place the Marriott for the business travelor with a large expense account, the Courtyard for the business travelor on a budget or for family travelors, the Fairfield inn for cost conscious families and the Resdience Inn for larger groups that need more space. It was obvious that this Marriott catred to the business crowd that wrote off all expenses since they charged $4 for water in the room while most hotels offered that as a service. They also charged $22 for overnight valet parking with only a $3 discount if you parked it yourself. What truly annoyed us was that they charged $9.95 for 24 hour internet access while every hotel we stayed during these two months of traveling the country has offered WiFi as a free service! Ludicrous! We ending up spending almost $50 with unnecessary charges and fees. Believe me...there are other choices. And I am a Marriott rewards member that will not use Marriott other than Courtyards or Fairfield Inns.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

Nice clean facility. Superb location. friendly staff. Shuttle Suburban will take you to/from downtown or Hillsboro Village or anywhere reasonable for tips. Many fine eating establishments withing walking distance. Unique view into Vandy football stadium from room. Pretty cool bar just off lobby.

What kept it from being 5* ? --Room wouldn't get quite as cool as I wanted.+ $23/day valet parking not really typical of location--but is kind of offset by liberal free shuttle policies.

Marriott Vanderbilt was a good place to stay, particularly at Priceline rate.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

I vist Nashville about twice a year. This is a VERY BASIC Marriott and the only reason I stay here is if the Loews is full. Really there is no compelling reason to stay there in my opinion.
On my arrival this time I was offered a choice of 2 rooms - one with 2 beds or a king with disabled access. I asked for further explanation from the front desk clerk who just told me that there was shower instead of the tub. What she failed to mention was that the clothes rail in the wardrobe was built for disabled reach & therefore all of my clothes would be trailing on the ground! So I changed rooms.
There was no safe in the room and the views from many of the rooms are of the parking lot. The evening food delivered from room service was greasy & really unappealing, though the breakfasts were better.

Most disturbingly (and unhygenically) a had a experience repeated from a stay at the same hotel in 2005; namely my breakfast tray still sitting outside my room at 9.30pm when I returned from a day at the office. The room had been cleaned but sadly someone felt it OK to leave the food tray on the floor outside all day.

I really think the Marriott should look at upping its standards at this establishment. In the meantime I'm looking at staying at the Hutton next time.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

Got this for $75 a night on Priceline, and it was a lovely hotel in a nice location -- centrally located to restaurants and shopping and just a short drive to Music Row and downtown. The front desk didn't even let us know about our parking options (they were not the most helpful bunch), but from reading this, we parked easily on the street in front of the hotel at all times (we were there over the holiday weekend). I suppose the hotel is fairly nondescript in a hotel kind of way, but the rooms were spacious, the bed was huge, and it appeared well-maintained. Only complaint is that the neighbor's plumbing was very loud.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

Excellent hotel and location with easy walking access to P. F. Chang's restaurant, Starbucks, Border's and Vanderbilt campus. Self parking area is not convenient.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

We visited Nashville to attend the Grand Ole Opry, but many downtown hotels were booked. We picked the Marriott at Vanderbilt, which isn't far from downtown and saved us money. The room cost about $137 a night including taxes and lugs. The hotel is shoehorned in between businesses and the Vanderbilt University football stadium. Parking is inconvient and costs $20 a night next door. But it's a good hotel with friendly staff. Rooms are smallish but well appointed. The bathroom sink wouldn't drain easily, and no one came when I reported it. Our view was of the Parthenon and the big city park. The breakfast buffet was good but a little pricey for what you get. They have a nice indoor swimming pool, but no whirlpool, which is something I missed. They take you downtown on their shuttle, but it stops at 11 p.m. and that's too early. There is one computer for the public, but kids were constantly on it. On balance, I'd rather we had stayed downtown.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University

Address: 2555 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#33 Family Hotel in Nashville
#38 Business Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville's premier hotel is located in the center of vibrant midtown and the heart of Nashville's West end. The hotel overlooks the historic Vanderbilt University campus and stadium, one of America's leading private colleges. The hotel offers over 11,500 square feet of meeting and banquet facilities and is only a short walk to some of the finest restaurants and attractions in the city, one of Nashville's premier hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Nashville At Vanderbilt University Hotel Nashville
Marriott Vanderbilt University
Nashville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.