We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Room 932” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University to your Saves list
Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2555 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #43 of 151 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Grand Haven, Michigan
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Loved Room 932”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I had a 4 hour work assignment in Nashville and decided to bring my wife and 8 month old for a long weekend. We thought downtown would be too hectic/busy for our little guy and my wife wanted to run in the morning so we chose the Marriott Vanderbilt to be in a slight quieter area with a good running neighborhood.

The park across the street from the hotel is very large. It was perfect for running and my wife enjoyed running past the Parthenon.

The room was a good size. Even though we were at the hotel through a "name your own price" discount travel sight, we were treated very well. I asked for a room as high as possible facing the football field and our room was on the 9th floor right over the middle of the end zone. What a great view.

The room was a good size with two double beds. Spotless. Nice sized TV. Beds are soft with nice duvets.

The bathroom was also a good size. Marriott is like the Buick of hotels. Comfortable. Nice. Some refinement. The only "non Cadillac" aspect of Marriot vs. their JW brand or even Westin is in the shower. Plain old tub showers with plain shower heads. It's what we knew we were signing on for with a 4 star hotel but still, Marriott, the tub shower is really dated.

The Starbucks in the hotel was great. Valet Parking at $35 a day is an outrage but their valets were very quick and friendly. A big shout out to Kiefer who was super friendly. We never waited more than 2 minutes for our car.

If you don't want the mayhem of downtown, it's a 5 minute drive from the hotel to the heart of all the fun of downtown. The area had several good chai restaurants within steps of the hotel - PF Changs, J Alexander, Texas de Brazil as well as a Wendy's immediately next to the hotel. There are a dozen fun restaurants within a 10 minute walk and it's about a 20 minute walk to the fun Hillsborougn district (a 3 minute drive).

We were the only people to use the pool and it was very nice. It's on the third floor of the hotel and has a nice view of the neighborhood.

Every employee we met was genuinely friendly.

Great stay although I wish the shower was a bit nicer and that parking was free. Still loved our stay.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    153
    85
    38
    18
See reviews for
115
108
32
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I booked this on Priceline and saved honestly over 30%. The hotel overall is very nice and close to anything you want to walk to! Don't park at the hotel! It's an extra 32$ per day for the parking deck. You can park on the city street 2 blocks from the hotel on the Vanderbilt university. I validated this with the university police which is close by.

J Alexander's is a great restaurant close by.

Check out the art fair across the street by the Parthenon.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a girls trip. We picked this location for the value. We could've stayed downtown, but with the free shuttle it was worth not being within walking distance. We decided to save our money for going out.
We stayed on the concierge level, they have daily breakfast and snacks and drinks. We only got to take advantage of this a couple of days, because the lounge is closed on weekends. But, with the fridge in our room we just grabbed a few bottles of water and hit up the rite aid across the street for snacks.
The free shuttle is an excellent option for getting around and they'll take you anywhere within a two mile radius. The drivers were great and helpful with suggestions of things to do. They're are plenty cabs around town and uber is another great option too.
The best website I found for Nashville is nashvilleguru.com this site lists every neighborhood and the restaurants, shopping and happy hour specials. If you're looking for great shopping check out Hillsboro village (the shuttle will drop you off) Mid Town has some great restaurants too and not as busy as Broadway

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have thought long and hard about this review because it still makes me angry thinking about it. We love Marriott properties and have a lot of friends that work for MI so we thought we couldn't go wrong. We came here for a 3 day wedding weekend and had tickets to the football game on that Saturday. The rooms were fine and our floor was quiet. No complaints there. The morning buffet was good. Now for the bad stuff....I was appalled by their game day ritual and it certainly does not reflect other Marriotts we have been to. We had breakfast in the morning, went shopping, then set out to tailgate with some friends around 4 p.m. (it was a night game). Around 9 p.m. it was chilly so a few of us decided to leave and come back to watch the game on their "big screen" as had been described by our breakfast waiter. We were also starving. We walked into the back entrance only to find garbage overflowing, cigarette butts everywhere, beer cans littering the sidewalk, and people stumbling into the hotel. When we walked into the main restaurant we couldn't find a seat, the barstools had been taken away and was told by the bartender they aren't serving dinner. We found a manager to which she gave us a small card with 5 or so items on it and said "this is what we call our gameday dinner". Um, what? There must have been 200 people in the restaurant watching the game, I'm sure 75% of these folks were not hotel guests. I can't believe they allow this to happen. If I were a guest that was not in town for the game I probably would have checked out. It also didn't make us feel safe as we constantly saw people coming and going from the elevators which clearly were not guests either. Next time we go to a Vandy game we'll be staying at Lowes.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick B, Director of Operations at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear NJFoodie609,

Thank you for the review from your stay last Fall, and for the compliments on the room and buffet. My apologies for the issues with the influence of the game and our location to the stadium as it can bring an influx of fans and public space usage. In terms of the menus, we only selectively switch to game day menus on those relevant game days to better serve all guests and customers. Hopefully we will have a chance to better serve you on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Patrick Brown
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 3 nights in April for a wedding. Rooms was adequate size with a refrigerator and great view of Vanderbilt's football stadium. Elevators were fast. Never used the pool or fitness room. Staff were nice and helpful, providing tips on where to eat, and helping me find someone to shine my shoes. Hotel provides complimentary transportation within a 2 mile radius. Drivers were safe and courteous.

Room Tip: Most rooms face either the Parthenon or Vanderbilt football field
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautiful room with view of the Parthenon. Extremely comfy bed too. Close to everything! Would definitely stay here again. Service was exceptional. Walking distance to several good restaurants too. Right next to stadium if you are going to a football game

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Costs To Park And Greater Than 30 Min Wait To Get Out Of Garage!!!!!!It Was Very Frustrating. You Should Not Have To Pay For Parking At Same Hotel As Attending Conference And There Should Be Enough staff

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick B, Director of Operations at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear frustrated2222,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. My apologies for your issues with the parking garage not functioning correctly and for the pricing, as it is an added amenity that we do charge for all guests opting to use. We will compensate you for your parking experience if you could please provide your personal information to me via the email listed below. I hope that all other aspects of your stay were excellent.

Please let me know if there is anything further I can do for you.

Best,
Patrick

Patrick Brown
Director of Operations
Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt
patrick.brown@whitelodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University

Address: 2555 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#29 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#30 Business Hotel in Nashville
#34 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville's premier hotel is located in the center of vibrant midtown and the heart of Nashville's West end. The hotel overlooks the historic Vanderbilt University campus and stadium, one of America's leading private colleges. The hotel offers over 11,500 square feet of meeting and banquet facilities and is only a short walk to some of the finest restaurants and attractions in the city, one of Nashville's premier hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Nashville At Vanderbilt University Hotel Nashville
Marriott Vanderbilt University
Nashville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.