We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Visiting Vanderbilt. Shuttle to downtown Nashville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University to your Saves list
Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2555 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #42 of 152 Hotels in Nashville
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location for Visiting Vanderbilt. Shuttle to downtown Nashville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Great hotel on the athletics end of Vanderbilt campus. Walk easily to all the athletic fields and the rest of campus. Don't bother renting a car. Parking is ridiculously expensive ($30/night self park and $35 valet) and I hear that the shuttle from the airport is inexpensive.Also, you pay to park everywhere in Nashville. Once you've arrived, the Marriott runs a shuttle wherever you want to go so you really don't need a car. The Starbucks in the hotel is a total RIPOFF. Walk outside 100 steps to your right and visit the Starbucks store. I paid $4,50 vs $1.75 for a regular coffee!
The dining staff is very friendly, but the continental breakfast isn't worth the money...and the dining room coffee is awful (it isn't Starbucks). I drank tea.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    161
    92
    39
    17
See reviews for
118
114
32
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 785 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stayed here for two nights recently. First time to this Marriott location.
Stayed here with some business colleagues. Like others I agree that the location is great.

PROS:
Extremely welcoming and friendly staff. Great valet staff too, extremely polite, helped with directions and had the a.c going (it was in the upper 90's the days I was there).
Nice property, that is, clean, well run, secure, etc.
Rooms are nice, bed is amazingly comfortable. And perfect pillows
Great wi-fi.
Starbucks in lobby, there is also one in the strip mall this Marriott is next to ( along with a PF Chang's and Barnes & Noble store)
Fridge in room - very nice to have cold drinks/water.
CONS:
A tad on the pricey side, $299/night for a room, $35/valet parking (self is $30).
I wish there were outlets by the bed to charge phone at night bedside. I did have multiple outlets on the desk which was good.

This is a great hotel in a great area. I would stay here again, but I would watch the prices

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor H, Front Office Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Nashville, TN. I have shared your comments regarding the staff to all of the departments in the hotel and I am pleased everyone met your expectations. Down at the Front Desk we offer mini cubes which has several outlets so you can plug in your device to more than one outlet. Please let me know next time you are in town and I would be more than glad to allow you to use one.

Have a great week and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Great location walking distance from Vanderbilt University. The Vandy Barnes and Noble bookstore is right downstairs, as is a PF Chang, Starbucks and more! Our room had a view of the stadium. The cons were lackluster service in the bar area--just wanted a glass of wine and a snack, but no table service. We waited a long time until I finally ordered at the bar. Also no free wifi, but it is free in the bar/lobby area. Parking is pricey. If my child goes to Vanderbilt, I would probably stay here again if I got a decent rate.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor H, Front Office Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Vanderbilt University and Nashville, TN. We have recently brought on a cocktail server for the bar area to provide extra service during peak hours to better accomodate our guest.

Hopefully we will be seeing you often when your child attends Vanberbilt.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
139 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This Marriott property is adjacent to Vanderbilt University and across the street from Centennial Park. The Concierge Lounge looks down into Vanderbilt Stadium. The walk across campus to the "Commons" area is a brisk 15 to 20 minutes.

I enjoyed my stay. The welcome was warm and friendly. It was easy to get to popular West End restaurants by taxi.

I stayed three nights in the hotel. The breakfast in the concierge lounge was fine. I liked the coffee better than at most hotels. The Internet in my room was a bit slow when I tried to watch the news, even though I had upgraded to the high speed service. I was leaving on an early evening flight. So, I requested a late checkout the morning of checkout, which Marriott instructs elite members to do. The front desk person denied my request when I called down. I went down and talked to him directly, and he asked another front desk attendant if it was ok. The second person said it was fine. But, it was a bit disconcerting to be put off so immediately at the first request, especially when the hotel wasn't pressed to turn around rooms.

I hadn't been to Nashville in many years, and I had not stayed at this property before. I would, however, recommend this hotel to friends and colleagues.

Room Tip: I had a view facing Centennial Park and West End, which is the busy side of the hotel. I was comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor H, Front Office Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with and I am extremely glad the hotel and location met your expectations. The coffee in the Concierge Lounge is a fresh brew Starbucks coffee which is a great touch for your elite members. I will speak to the Front Office team on how we can communicate and facilitate late checkouts based on availability of the hotel.

Have a great week and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I stayed at the Marriott Nashville last week for a conference and was very pleased with my stay. The hotel is beautiful and very comfortable. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous. The meeting facilities were awesome and the food was great. Attendants were there throughout the meeting to ensure meeting participants had everything they needed.

My room at a great view of the Vanderbilt University stadium (new Dudley Field). I was so close, I could literally have enjoyed the game right from my room, had there been a football game at that time.

The hotel is in a great location, convenient to the university, very nice restaurants, interstates, downtown, the airport. It was overall an amazing stay and a hotel I will book again when I'm at in Nashville.

The only negative was the very expensive onsite parking - at $30 per night, it was pretty pricey.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Dudley Field.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor H, Front Office Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great comments regarding the hotel and I am extremely glad the view and the location were perfect for you!

We look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future!

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
144 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Our room on the 10th floor had a beautiful view of Nashville's Parthenon. The room was immaculate and the bed/pillows comfortable. The bar downstairs was fairly loud. Nick, the bartender, was so nice! It had a nice selection of appetizers. The breakfast was a cold breakfast unless you paid the $13/person upgrade. Parking was adequate. There are many restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the park on the front side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor H, Front Office Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Nashville, TN. I am excited to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and the view of the Parthenon. My team and I hope to see you again soon when traveling to Tennessee!

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I have stayed here twice for business this spring. The good: convenient location to where I do business. The hotel staff are nice. David in housekeeping was especially helpful when I left an item in my room at checkout. The bad: the rooms have not added any electrical outlets since they were built. Not even at the desk. So to charge all my devices I had to use a wall outlet and set them on the floor. Unacceptable. The valet service is slow, even when I called ahead. And it is $30 + tax. Self park is not conveniently located. Most irritating is when my business plans changed and I needed to check out earlier than planned, I was charged $125. The pricing policy penalizes flexibility in response to changing business needs. I work for a large international company who designated this property as the preferred place to stay for business in Nashville. Marriott, clearly you do not return the favor and consider us a valued business partner. So I will stay elsewhere next time.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor H, Front Office Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us once again at the Nashvile Marriott at Vanderbilt during your recent business trip to Nashville, TN. I would like to thank you for the great comments regarding David and how he assisted you with the item left behind. I am sadden to know we did not meet your needs with the electrical outlets and charging your devices. We do have mini cubies at the Front Desk that you can use in the room to plug in multiple devices in one outlet. Also, regarding the early departure fee of $125 it is due to the agreement at the time of booking that you will be charged up to one nights room and tax without a 24 hour notice.

If you travel back to Nashville, TN, please feel free to contact me directly and I will be more than glad to assist you with the number of nights you will be staying based on your business travels.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown)
0.5 mi away
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
#13 of 152 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 745 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Vanderbilt - Elliston Place
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Nashville / Vanderbilt
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Nashville Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University

Address: 2555 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#27 Business Hotel in Nashville
#28 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#39 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville's premier hotel is located in the center of vibrant midtown and the heart of Nashville's West end. The hotel overlooks the historic Vanderbilt University campus and stadium, one of America's leading private colleges. The hotel offers over 11,500 square feet of meeting and banquet facilities and is only a short walk to some of the finest restaurants and attractions in the city, one of Nashville's premier hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Nashville At Vanderbilt University Hotel Nashville
Marriott Vanderbilt University
Nashville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.