We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property with great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University

Save Saved
You added Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2555 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #44 of 150 hotels in Nashville
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent property with great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights on business. Check in was friendly and efficient and my room overlooked the Centennial Park. It's standard Marriott fare, which is why I love Marriott. Comfortable bed, decent products, well soundproofed rooms. The Vanderbilt location is really set apart by the excellent staff - always felt welcome and that nothing was too much trouble.

The location is great for exploring the west end / Vanderbilt area. It's over a mile to downtown, but the hotel has a complimentary shuttle that will take you in a 2 mile radius. There are some high-end chain restaurants next to the hotel (Flemings, PF Changs and J Alexander's) but some more local places can be found after a short walk. It's on the Vanderbilt University ground and felt friendly and safe.

The concierge lounge provides a great view of the Vanderbilt football field and the attendants were incredibly friendly. The pool is small, but well maintained. I'd definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Facing Centennial Park gave me a wonderful view every morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    138
    76
    33
    15
See reviews for
98
95
29
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
661 reviews 661 reviews
323 hotel reviews
Reviews in 171 cities Reviews in 171 cities
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a few times in the past year, the most recent of which was September, 2013, and I think the hotel's service is improving. For instance, valets do a really nice job of getting to the car quickly, retrieving cars quickly, and opening up the doors of the hotel for guests with bags. In the morning, a staff member stands right near the exit, ready to help with anything and generally wishing people a nice day and verifying they had a nice stay. Front desk staff have been very welcoming. The woman who works in the concierge lounge is very nice.

The lobby looks great, but the rooms need some work. They're not falling apart or anything, but they have older furniture and could feel a bit fresher. I feel the same way about the fitness center.

In-room dining has been very good--they do a particularly nice job with salads. Dishes have always been delivered promptly and with very pleasant service. The evening offerings in the concierge lounge are decent, although I've seen other Marriott properties do a nicer job.

Overall, the hotel provides a solid business travel experience, and it has a great location, particularly if your work is in the West End or with Vanderbilt. Multiple restaurants, from casual to fancy, are within walking distance, and the neighborhood is safe. Room rates can really vary--at times, I've found them a bit expensive for the experience the hotel provides, but when they are more moderate, the hotel provides solid value for the price paid.

Kudos to the management staff here for investing in service--it's gotten better and better over the past year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I am a frequent guest of this hotel for work in the medical device industry and stay here approximately 40 nights per year. The hotel is right on the Vandy campus and walking distance to excellent restaurants. I exercise on campus, which is safe and full of people. If you get a room on the stadium side, you look directly into the football stadium and have full sight of the field. The other side of the hotel has a view of the Parthenon and surrounding park, which is another great place to run. I would say this is an excellent hotel for the business traveler who expects a little more with their hotel stay, but also for the Vanderbilt parents who want to be walking distance to the entire campus.

Room Tip: Ask for the stadium side if you enjoy sports and the atmosphere of a sporting event
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I recently stayed here for a family visit that happened to coincide with a football game. The staff was fabulous and the property is beautiful (as is the view of the stadium!). Before arriving, I received a "virtual concierge" email asking if I had any special requests. I made several requests and this hotel accommodated almost every one of them. The person with whom I was communicating even put in a request for a suite upgrade, though that didn't work out. The one improvement would be if the Concierge Lounge were open on weekends and holidays. The lounge was closed all weekend plus Labor Day, which was a drawback for me. I know this happens at a lot of Marriott properties, though. Overall, a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have been staying at the Marriott Vanderbilt in Nashville since my sister attended Vanderbilt years ago. I have never been disappointed. Great location. Our room on the last stay (841) looked out onto the Nashville parthenon. Great view! Everything is comfortable and the service if very good. Small starbucks in lobby so easy to grab and go.

Room Tip: Room 814 has a view of the nashville parthenon
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing Marriott and allowing us to read about your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Talk about customer service. Whoever the manager is really has customer service ingrained into this staff. I don't think they could have been more helpful. I was here on business and didn't have time for amenities, but the concierge lounge was great and very well stocked, including bacon and eggs for breakfast. The restaurant/bar downstairs looked great -- very modern. And this place is quiet! This is the first hotel in years where I didn't need my earplugs to sleep. I will say that the parking was pretty high - that is always a disappointment and always a surprise. I find it a bit deceptive that they don't call that out when giving you a room rate - to pay $29 more bucks a night is significant.

Room Tip: I was on the side facing the Vanderbilt football field - extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We sincerely appreciate your feedback and are thrilled to learn you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Brook, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Bonus - Bananas and apples are available in the exercise room! :) We enjoyed this stay. But don't bother having breakfast here: Buffet is $17.95/person! Starbucks is around the corner with many choices, including egg wraps. We brought our bikes and toured the campus....great fun. Parking is silly expensive... maybe try street parking to save the expense.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of stadium!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University

Address: 2555 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#33 Family Hotel in Nashville
#39 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#39 Business Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville's premier hotel is located in the center of vibrant midtown and the heart of Nashville's West end. The hotel overlooks the historic Vanderbilt University campus and stadium, one of America's leading private colleges. The hotel offers over 11,500 square feet of meeting and banquet facilities and is only a short walk to some of the finest restaurants and attractions in the city, one of Nashville's premier hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Nashville At Vanderbilt University Hotel Nashville
Marriott Vanderbilt University
Nashville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.