We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better customer service but also increasing room rates/less perks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University

Save Saved
You added Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2555 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #40 of 150 hotels in Nashville
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Better customer service but also increasing room rates/less perks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Since my last review, I would like to say that the front desk staff has improved in attitude overall. It only took me 2 requests on my recent stay to get a new hairdryer to replace the one that made a screeching metal sound. Unfortunately, the full size hairdryer was replaced with this tiny, travel dryer that barely moved any air. The room rates have also increased over the last 6-12 months or so which are now in five-star range some nights when compared to locations. This is not a five-star hotel. Especially not with a tiny hair dryer to replace a full-size (save money somewhere else Marriott). And there is a new "policy" for the concierge level rooms, if you want a room on 10 or 11 you need to ask for it when checking-in since they are trying to upsell for that level. What was once a convenient perk for your loyal memebership and repeated stay just got thrown aside for a $20/night upsell to the person who stays 3 nights a year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review! We appreciate your detailed feedback and want you to know it hasn't fallen on deaf ears. It will help this facility continue to pro-actively address our guests concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    131
    69
    29
    14
See reviews for
93
88
29
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I spent two nights here during the Country Music Marathon Weekend. Overall, the hotel is fantastic and all of the staff I encountered were fabulous.

Pros: Location, location, location. The prime location of this hotel cannot be overstated. It is directly across from the lovely Centennial Park, near great restaurants and shopping. Plus, the hotel offers a complimentary shuttle within a three-mile radius. The room was very comfortable, but could stand to be updated a bit. Our room on the eighth floor overlooked Vanderbilt Stadium. The bed was very comfortable with nice pillows. I can't say enough about how helpful and accommodating the staff was. I'm a Marriott Rewards member and was thanked for my loyalty upon check in. The hotel also gave out information about the marathon at check in and everyone seemed to genuinely care about our experience. The Starbucks in the lobby is a great convenience and the rooms have coffee makers in them, too.

Cons: Not many. Valet and self-parking is pretty pricey at $29 per night. We parked on the street about a block away for free. Also, the bath towels are really shabby. They are worn out and not soft at all. I expect more from the Marriott.

Overall, I recommend this hotel and would stay here again, but maybe bring my own towels!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for ensuring we know our successes and opportunities to improve! I will certainly work to ensure that the towel issue is mitigated and promise a quality experience on your next trip to Nashville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My recent visit to Nashville saw our training seminar booked at this location. Overall, this hotel is very, very good. The staff was always extremely helpful & accomodating...especially the front desk & sales/banquet staff. The decor is a little eclectic, but it works. My sleeping room & meeting room were both clean & comfortable. The layout of the bar/restaurant/coffee bar is great...open & conveniently located on the 1st level. While the food I tasted from room service, the restaurant, & our meeting wasn't stellar, it was certainly decent & no one went hungry! This is a fantastic Nashville location, especially if you are visiting the Vanderbilt campus for any reason. To be 100% honest, I don't LOVE this property like some of the other hotels I've reviewed...but I like it very, very much.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of something other than a back parking lot...the stadium, perhaps?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your candor and hope others find it to be useful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I "live" in the hotels - I prefer the Marriott brand, however I am about done with lack of attention to customer 101s.

This is yet another one of the Marriott brands that just has no concept of brand loyalty and customer service. Not only are they missing the 101 subtleties of service, it appears that knowing your customer and executing on the service commitment is too much for them to aspire to.

Great location, great restaurant, excellent concierge room, lovely reception area. I have stayed here a number of times.

Being as cranky as a I am right now with the regularity of this experience across a number of locations, I would say that the Marriott Brand has got a lot of work to do on focusing on the customer.

I carry Marriott Platinum Life as well as Hilton Diamond (yes... I really live in hotels) I cannot believe the difference in service between the 2 brands!!! This is sooo sad!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your observations and clearly frustrating experience during your recent stay. Being such a well traveled individual I have no doubt this constructive feedback will allow us to grow and learn from our mistakes. Please do not lose confidence as we sincerely do care and certainly understand that you have choices. We look forward to making this right in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This Marriott has rooms that overlook the Vanderbilt football stadium and that makes it a special place to stay on a football weekend. The hotel is VERY consistent with the care, appearance and functioning of all aspects of the property. Getting rid of the cigar bar was more than a little appreciated ... then adding a Starbucks in the lobby was and even better idea. Good location for Nashville meetings, large or just one on one. Rooms are good size, well appointed and always clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Looking down into the stadium is always neat - even when a game is not being played.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for submitting such outstanding feedback! We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time in Nashville and was there for business. The people were all wonderful and this part of the country is beautiful. I never did get to see the sights, but will be taking my wife back to do all the fun stuff this summer. Stay tuned for an updated review.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

After spending over $1000 at the hotel for the weekend, my camera was stolen out of my car by the valet parking service. The staff has done nothing to compensate me for the loss. The hotel was nice and clean, but it wasn't worth getting my camera stolen. They didn't even reimburse me for the $29 valet parking charge!!!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
We are terribly sorry to learn of this frustrating and unacceptable experience. Please feel free to contact the property General Manager to allow us to investigate this matter further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University

Address: 2555 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#37 Business Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville's premier hotel is located in the center of vibrant midtown and the heart of Nashville's West end. The hotel overlooks the historic Vanderbilt University campus and stadium, one of America's leading private colleges. The hotel offers over 11,500 square feet of meeting and banquet facilities and is only a short walk to some of the finest restaurants and attractions in the city, one of Nashville's premier hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Nashville At Vanderbilt University Hotel Nashville
Marriott Vanderbilt University
Nashville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.