We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“March Madness in Music City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University to your Saves list
Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2555 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #40 of 151 Hotels in Nashville
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“March Madness in Music City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I am so happy that this hotel property has been updated. It is extremely convenient for Vanderbilt families (except for freshmen living in the Commons). Great location with some rooms (and pool/fitness center) facing the football stadium and others looking out at Centennial Park and the Parthenon. Lovely. The lobby, bar and restaurant renovations are noteworthy. Much more chic and appealing. The business center has also added computers and space for checking mail and printing boarding passes. Rooms are quiet, comfortable and very clean. Why there is no wifi, I don't know; but at least the ethernet connection is now set up! Easy to grab a snack in the hotel, or at nearby restaurants and coffee shops. The staff has always been pleasant (particularly the valets), but I found them even more accommodating the last two times I have stayed here. Very nice setting and people!

Room Tip: Ask for a high room to be away from the street, but the views on either side are really very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University! We value your comments and apologize for any miss information the led you to believe we did not have wireless internet access. We do offer the service in all areas of the hotel and look forward to serving you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    156
    88
    38
    18
See reviews for
118
113
32
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for several days. Loved the location right across from Centennial Park. One side of the hotel overlooks Vanderbilt's football stadium. Downtown is easy to get to from the hotel, and the hotel has a shuttle service that was great. They will take you anywhere within a 2 mile radius from the hotel. Even though we had a rental car, we used the shuttle several times to avoid parking downtown. If you bring a car, plan on paying $25 for self parking or $27 for valet. Seriously, pay the 2 extra dollars so you don't have to walk from the parking garage behind the hotel. The valet service was very prompt and had our car waiting when we called ahead from our room. Several restaurants within walking distance including PF Changs, and Rotiers.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your candor and look forward to serving you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulaski, Tennessee
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a fantastic location. The staff are super friendly and even remembered us from a previous trip the month before! I thought that was pretty awesome when you think about the number of people that they encounter on a daily basis. The room was great, no complaints.

We haven't yet to be thrilled with the restaurant. The service is slow....maybe they were understaffed? If you enjoy breakfast in hotels then you will like it, I personally have not enjoyed it. I am not a hotel food kind of lady.

We have stayed at this location and the Renaissance location in Nashville, this is by far our favorite.

Room Tip: Walking distance to several restaurants. You will need to plan on driving or taking a cab if you in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
We appreciate the review of your experience. This information has been shared with the Food & Beverage team and look forward to wowing you on your next trip to Nashville. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed at the Marriott Vanderbilt during a weekend trip to Nashville. The hotel was very easy to find for someone that had never been to Nashville and in a great location. I walked to Centennial Park, which was literally across the street, and I even walked all the way to Music Row which was about a mile down West End Ave. The hotel also shares a parking lot with a shopping center which has a Barnes & Noble, Starbucks, PF Chang's, and Flemings to name a few. The front desk staff was absolutely wonderful! When I checked in, they recognized I was a Marriott Rewards member and gave me a quick tour of the property since I had never been there before. The staff at the bar was great as well! I was a female traveling by myself, but the bartenders were always making sure I had everything I needed and very friendly. I felt very safe in the hotel and in the area around the hotel. I also took advantage of the shuttle to go downtown to the bars off Broadway one night. It was very convenient to use and when I called to be picked up, the shuttle was there in about 5 minutes. As for the hotel room, the view was amazing! I had a full view of the stadium and some of the Vanderbilt campus. The bed was very comfortable and there was a mini fridge, which was great. If I had to find anything to complain about, as a female I would like more counter space in the bathroom - but that would be my only complaint from the entire trip. I loved the Marriott Vanderbilt, its location and its staff - I can't wait to stay here the next time I am in Nashville. Many thanks to the staff for a great and memorable experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing such a detailed review of your experience. It truly adds value for future guests as well as to the team at the Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University. It is appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Spent one night while in town for Pink concert at Bridgestone Arena. Hotel was conveniently located a couple of miles to Bridgestone arena. The hotel offered free shuttle service to concert however they were extremely backed up and we ended up taking a cab 5 people for $10. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and the shower was hot with good water pressure. We had a great view of the Vanderbilt Football Stadium from our room. The lobby was beautifully decorated with a nice bar and coffee area. Valet parking $26 and self parking $24. PF Changs in same parking lot as hotel and Wendy's is across the street. The hotel is overpriced. Not sure why hotels in downtown Nashville are so extremely expensive. If the hotels had been more reasonably priced we would have stayed in Nashville longer and enjoyed the music city as it was we only stayed 1 night. That was disappointing!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt! We sincerely value your feedback and appreciate the opportunity to learn where we may improve. Please take a look at some of our parking or stay for breakfast packages if ever back in Nashville. This may add the value you are looking for to stay another night on your next trip to Nashville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We live just outside of Nashville so we stay at this Marriott on an occasional late night in town. Typical Marriott - nothing really unique about it over any others. We stayed on the concierge level but that didn't get us anything because the club was closed for the weekend. Our room had an odor of cleaner or perfume that never went away. We got used to it but it made us feel like the room was unclean. The bar/restaurant was average. Location is really good. West End Ave. is a very nice area of Nashville. Several restaurants within walking distance to hotel. PF Changs, J. Alexanders, Flemings, etc. Overall a good experience each time we stay there.

Room Tip: You can either view Centennial Park with the Parthenon or Vanderbilt's football stadium, dependi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your experience! The team at the Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University appreciates your candor and will leverage this feedback to improve future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millburn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Vising the college, so this was super convenient. We were overlooking the football field, which my son thought was just awesome! Nice rooms, comfortable beds with great linens. It was a fast trip for us so we didn't have the opportunity to use the work out facilities, or the pool. But sure to return and check it out next time.

Room Tip: Back rooms have view of football field, and I'm guessing front rooms have view of park; so you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCarlos1207, Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing Marriott! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to serving you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University

Address: 2555 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#29 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#29 Business Hotel in Nashville
#38 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville's premier hotel is located in the center of vibrant midtown and the heart of Nashville's West end. The hotel overlooks the historic Vanderbilt University campus and stadium, one of America's leading private colleges. The hotel offers over 11,500 square feet of meeting and banquet facilities and is only a short walk to some of the finest restaurants and attractions in the city, one of Nashville's premier hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Nashville At Vanderbilt University Hotel Nashville
Marriott Vanderbilt University
Nashville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.