We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but eat some place else.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University to your Saves list
Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2555 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #43 of 152 Hotels in Nashville
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel but eat some place else.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very nice. Free shuttle and directly across from a park and Vanderbilt stadium. The resturant service is the slowest I have ever seen. They are friendly but when you wait 30 minutes for the check after you have asked for it is not acceptable. Great hotel- the dining service.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and giving us your feedback. Sorry the service in the restaurant was so slow, no excuse for waiting for your check.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Checked in late sunday night and it took less than a minute and I was on my way up to the room on the 8th floor. The room was really clean and a decent size. The price was a little steep but sometimes you have to pony it up. Bill was correct and check out was painless.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rynpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. Price will fluctuate depending on whats going on in the city. Best prices are during the Holidays. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

"It's a hotel room." My husband and I said. Then the surprise came when we opened the curtains to see a full on view of the Vanderbilt football stadium. Super cool. I was surprised when we pulled up that the valet service didn't budge. Being the only car under the port and they just watched me get the heavy bag out of the trunk. Ordered a venti latte at the Starbuck's within and got half foam and only a third of coffee. It's also hop, skip and a jump to anywhere in Nashville from here but plan for the traffic. They are eager to clean the rooms! Service staff came back twice within an hour early. But it was clean and the front desk staff were quick to service. I still say Marriott has the most comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the view of the stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traceme2kc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and giving us your feedback. I'm glad you had a good stay and hope you join us again. I will mentioned your experience to the Valet Manager. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Spent 2 very comfortable nights here during an October weekend with our two young kids. It was a treat for our football-loving boys to have a room overlooking the Vanderbilt stadium on a game night! Room 901 has an incredible view of the entire field and we enjoyed watching the first half of the game from our room. I know some reviewers have mentioned being bothered by the band and other stadium noise, that wasn't the case for us. We found it exciting. It did not interfere with our sleep in any way.

We also really enjoyed the indoor pool on our first day. It had a nice view of the Parthenon. We took a bottle of wine with us while the kids swam. We were the only guests using the pool the entire time! We were disappointed that there wasn't a hot tub though.

Food was good though we only tried the breakfast buffet. It was priced as expected but we did appreciate the $6 kids' price. With picky eaters, an inexpensive meal is preferred.

Rooms were very comfortable: beds, pillows, and linens in particular. Could have had a better seating area. It was a bit tight in a room with two double beds. Room size was ok.

Tried to use the shuttle both nights but each time, it was going to be 15-30 minutes before it came back to hotel so we opted for a cab each time. Took cab to Broadway and 2nd Ave both nights for around $12 each way.

Our biggest kudos with the hotel goes to the very friendly and helpful staff. Valets were great as were front desk and restaurant staff. Felt very welcome and appreciated as a guest.

Would happily return on our next visit to Nashville!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jones4Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you had a great stay and were able to enjoy what makes our hotel special. Maybe you kids will go to Vanderbilt and you can visit us all the time.

Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a room on the 5th floor overlooking the Vanderbilt University stadium. We stayed Thursday night before a Saturday afternoon football game. Thursday afternoon the band/ and drum section practiced. and practiced. and practiced. I was just trying to read and got a headache. The next morning (Friday) we were awaken at 8 AM sharp by loud metal dropping noises. We don't know what they were dropping but it was loud and went on for about 15 minutes. Since my husband was there for a business party that was held in the hotel we were going to stay another night but the hotel would not take our reservation since the rooms were not available because of the game. So we transferred to the Gaylord Opryland Hotel north of town. Much better.

Room Tip: Stay away from the stadium side unless you don't mind noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1WagMore-BarkLess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, some guest love the stadium view and all the action and others prefer the Parthenon Park view. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenville, sc
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great location next to Vanderbilt Univ, and some rooms have a great view of the football field. The room was clean. Staff was great. Unfortunately I was here for a business meeting, so found it odd that there wasn't free internet access. Also, no refrig in the room, no free breakfast, TV had limited channels. Ok, so maybe this isn't home, but unfortunately I've been spoiled by some other chains and now expect these amenities.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank toney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. Marriott has many different brands with many different amenities. We have free internet in the lobby and Restaurant Bar area. It is a great stadium view, you can watch the Vanderbilt football game from your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a typical Marriott full service hotel. The staff is very upbeat and very helpful. Everyone goes out of their way to find an answer, fix a problem, etc. The proximity to Vanderbilt Stadium is a plus for some and a minus for others: game day and band practice. The biggest minus is the price. Most urban Marriotts are expensive but I think this one is overpriced for what you get. The Holiday Inn next door is nice and much less expensive for about the same room and amenities.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BalmyLatitudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. Yes, our price can fluctuate depending on the weekend or week. A great time to visit is over most Holidays when the hotel is slower. I'm glad you were able to experience the hotel and service on a game day environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Nashville Vanderbilt
0.5 mi away
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
#9 of 152 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 954 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hutton Hotel
Hutton Hotel
#13 of 152 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown)
2.1 mi away
Omni Nashville Hotel
Omni Nashville Hotel
#3 of 152 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 3,501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Vanderbilt - Elliston Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University

Address: 2555 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#24 Business Hotel in Nashville
#30 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#42 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville's premier hotel is located in the center of vibrant midtown and the heart of Nashville's West end. The hotel overlooks the historic Vanderbilt University campus and stadium, one of America's leading private colleges. The hotel offers over 11,500 square feet of meeting and banquet facilities and is only a short walk to some of the finest restaurants and attractions in the city, one of Nashville's premier hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Nashville At Vanderbilt University Hotel Nashville
Marriott Vanderbilt University
Nashville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing