We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in Nashville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University

Save Saved
You added Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2555 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #46 of 150 hotels in Nashville
new orleans
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in Nashville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I chose the Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt because of the location & the price. The downtown hotels were closer to our event (American Idol Summer Tour), but way too pricey. Luckily the hotel offers a shuttle to & from downtown till 11pm, which we used both days. It was nice not to have the hassle of parking downtown. The king size bed had a pillow top mattress and lots of pillows. So, we were extrememly comfortable. The room was clean with a super nice bathroom with plenty of towels. You will have everything you need except a mini refrig. I can't say enough about the staff from food service to front desk to valets. They were all so sincerely friendly and helpful. The food was excellent at the breakfast buffet and for room service. Filet mignons on our 1st night after many hours of driving were amazing! The room service usually forgot something like our bread basket or ice waters, but they made up for it. There are plenty of places to eat within walking distance, too.
We loved our 1st trip to Nashville. It is a beautiful city. Make sure to go all the way down Broadway to the riverfront and also check out the Country Music Hall of Fame Museum. Best restaurant downtown was the Big River Grill & Brewery. We will definitely stay at this Marriott for our next Nashville adventure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess J, Director of Sales at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Jillws

Thank you for the great review! Wonderful to here that you took advantage of the complimentary transportation to down town. Just one mile away yet offering convenience. We are glad as well to here you enjoyed or Food and Beverage options. We like to think we have one of the best teams in Tennessee. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Jess Johnson
Director of Sales of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    135
    70
    31
    15
See reviews for
96
91
29
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

The service was excellent from the time we pulled up to valet to when we left! The rooms were very clean and comfortable, and our rooms overlooked the football field. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess J, Director of Sales at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
B19763,

Thanks for the great review and the Five Star Score. Our associates take pride in keeping the property clean and looking beautiful. Look forward to having you back soon. Maybe come in for a Football game. The views of the Field are amazing.

Jess Johnson
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We had a really nice, spacious room. This property is in a great location. Breakfast was good but pricey. You pay extra for wifi and parking so this gets to be a costly stay. However, we truly enjoyed our time there, despite the extra cost.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess J, Director of Sales at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
MiSusan

Thank you for the feedback. I don’t know if you were aware but we do offer complimentary Hot Spot wifi within our lobby and public space areas and offer a complimentary shuttle if you are coming into Nashville and want the convenience of getting around quickly within the downtown area. Please let us know if we can help provide anything else to you. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you back soon.

Jess Johnson
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I can't rave about this hotel enough. We had an absolutely perfect stay this past weekend. The staff was wonderful--from the valets, to maintenance, to desk staff, to the bartenders--we were very, very impressed. The rooms were spacious, clean, and very comfortable. The hotel provides a courtesy shuttle downtown--a short drive, but saves on cab fare and parking. Several restaurants are within walking distance of the hotel which was also a huge bonus. Our room even overlooked the monument across the street. I wouldn't recommend staying anywhere else when visiting the downtown Nashville area!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess J, Director of Sales at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
MNnice07

Thank you so much for the amazing and wonderful comments. We are thrilled you took advantage of our great location. Yes the Parthenon & Centennial Park is located next door that offers a one of the kind experience. From Jogging, to visiting the only replica in the World of the Parthenon in Greece. Down to an inch. Thank you again for your business and we look forward to you visiting the Nashville at Marriott again soon.

Jess Johnson
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Just returned from a mini vacation with my sisters, the hotel lobby has recently been redone, and is gorgeous. Everyone, from the front desk staff, to the friendly barista at Starbucks, the valet guys and the shuttle driver was polite, welcoming and friendly. We had a meal at Park25, and the chef came out to meet us, and tweaked our food to our picky tastes, and it was outstanding. The breakfast on the concierge level included fresh fruit, old fashioned oatmeal with all of the toppings, yogurt, fresh coffee and lots more. Although we didn't go the wine bar, it always looked fun when we went by, and the music on Thursday sounded like it was good jazz that we would have enjoyed. Our room overlooked the Parthenon, and for exercise, we walked around that park or to the Vandy campus. The exercise room is much bigger than your typical hotel exercise room, as is the pool. Easy to get around, quick shuttle or cab ride downtown. Definitely my new standard stay when I hit Nashville again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess J, Director of Sales at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Mauimarti,
Thank you for the kind comments and feedback. Truly appreciate this coming from the DC area. Our associates take pride in what they do. I very pleased to hear of your great experience in our New Park25 bistro. We will continue the music so you defiantly need to come back and see us soon. Thanks again for the business and we anticipate your arrival back with us soon.

Jess Johnson
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

After a nearby hotel overbooked and gave away my prepaid room I ended up at the Marriott Vanderbilt and I'm so happy I did. This hotel offers service that rivals The Four Seasons Hotels which are really the gold standard in hospitality service. Every member of the staff at the Marriott Vanderbilt goes above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable. I had an opportunity to eat at both restaurants here and the food was top notch as well as a good value. It seems like even the big brand hotels are struggling to provide mediocre service while the staff here are delivering exceptional service every day. I was happily surprised by this hotel and I suspect you will be too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your response. I'm glad you were able to engage with our associates and try our new restaurant. We feel that guest engagement is very important.

Have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is all about service! My wife and I came to Nashville back to back weekends and stayed here both times. The location is about a $6 cab ride to Broadway and there are cabs anytime you need them out front. All the employees are very nice and the bar is always great for a night cap. We will definitely stay here next time we visit.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve s, General Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. Yes, we do have amazing bar tenders and staff. Park25 is a great place to relax and get some good food and drink and just people watch.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University

Address: 2555 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#32 Business Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville's premier hotel is located in the center of vibrant midtown and the heart of Nashville's West end. The hotel overlooks the historic Vanderbilt University campus and stadium, one of America's leading private colleges. The hotel offers over 11,500 square feet of meeting and banquet facilities and is only a short walk to some of the finest restaurants and attractions in the city, one of Nashville's premier hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Nashville At Vanderbilt University Hotel Nashville
Marriott Vanderbilt University
Nashville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.