We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great venue for all wedding related events.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University to your Saves list
Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2555 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #47 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
1 review
“A great venue for all wedding related events.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011 via mobile

The staff at Marriott -Vanderbilt did an amazing job as our main hotel location for out of town guests for our son's recent wedding. From the front desk, to the bell staff, the bar, resturant and catering staff, every detail was accounted for. We received many very positive comments from our out of town guests

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    142
    83
    35
    17
See reviews for
108
96
30
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Parking $25, Internet $$, Breakfast $$ would not recommend this hotel unless you are here for business or a marriot platinum member. NOT family friendly

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaleEmil, Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time out of your busy schedule to rate us! Although there is a daily parking charge of $21 for self and $24 for valet, I think you will find this to be well in line with many downtown metropolitan areas. It is also a fact that we have a $9.95 charge for internet usage. With this, comes FREE local AND long distance calls. Plus, there is FREE Wi-Fi available in the lobby and restaurant. In addition we have a full service restaurant with made to order omelet’s and full breakfast buffet with a la carte options as well. Most of our guests have found these charges to be commensurate with a downtown, full service hotel.

With our location being a stone's throw from Centennial Park and the famed Parthenon, a short drive from the Adventure Science Center and the warmest indoor pool in the downtown Nashville area, we have had many comments on how wonderful this location has been from a family perspective.

Again, we sure appreciate you rating us on tripadvisor.com. You are so valuable to us. With that in mind, I invite you, or any other past or future guest, to call me (Dale) directly at (615) 340-5150 any time. It would be my pleasure to assist you in any way possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Met and/or exceeded the good things I've come to expect from Marriott. Super friendly staff, clean rooms, corridors, elevator, etc. Try as I would, I couldn't find a single thing to complain about.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Spent a weekend at this hotel with the entire family...Me, wife and 3 kids...ages 13/10/7. Check in was easy even though the hotel was bustiling with activity. Valet parking was superb and actually worth the $25 per day. Enjoyed Breakfast buffet on Sunday morning...food was good and service was excellent. I recommend this hotel for any event near the Vandy campus. We enjoyed downtown music and were OK with the driving. this is one place that I can truly say you get what you pay for. I was pleasantly surprised with this Marriott. I will definitely stay here again when visiting Nashville.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

This is a very nice Marriott, but what sets this hotel apart is the staff. I needed an urgent fax sent that was 50 pages long (!) AND had to run to a meeting. Carol kindly sent the fax for me, and put the original and confirmation in an envelope for me at the front desk. Kinko's was going to charge me $1.59/page. I have stayed here 4 times on business. Staff is always extra nice - better than 99% of the hotels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaleEmil, Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Baltimoremom60811, THANK YOU for such a wonderful review! We are truly fortunate to have associates and manager's such as Carol. I'd love to know the secret of how we'd rank as the BEST hotel you've ever stayed at. Thanks again and we sure look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Great location!!! Average room. I find it troubling that a 4 star hotel has double beds and not queens. I also find it troubling internet is not free. The room was no better, in fact not as good, as most hampton inn's or Courtyard marriotts I have stayed at. I bid on this room. I would have been unhappy if I paid full price for this room! But I still spent more than I would have at a Hampton or courtyard for not as great of an experience. Great location, though.

Guys at valet were AWESOME!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

The Operations Manager at this Hotel is FANTASTIC! From the time I walked in the door with my 2 small children, until the time we checked out. He greeted us with such a Welcome greeting right when we walked in. He said hello to my kids, one of which is 2. He made conversation with us the whole time we were checking in and out. Always a consistent service! Overall OUTSTANDING! I will DEFINITELY come back to this hotel during my next visit!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and choosing Marriott. Yes, Dale is Fantastic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University

Address: 2555 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#32 Family Hotel in Nashville
#39 Business Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville's premier hotel is located in the center of vibrant midtown and the heart of Nashville's West end. The hotel overlooks the historic Vanderbilt University campus and stadium, one of America's leading private colleges. The hotel offers over 11,500 square feet of meeting and banquet facilities and is only a short walk to some of the finest restaurants and attractions in the city, one of Nashville's premier hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Nashville At Vanderbilt University Hotel Nashville
Marriott Vanderbilt University
Nashville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.