We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel, odd location for families, better for business travel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Nashville at Vanderbilt

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Nashville at Vanderbilt to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites Hotel Nashville at Vanderbilt
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1811 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 150 Hotels in Nashville
Metrowest, MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ok hotel, odd location for families, better for business travel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We like Embassy Suite hotels. However, this hotel doesn't meet the standards that we experienced in DC at the Dupont Circle branch. This is more geared to business clients associated with the university or many hospitals. The Omaha restaurant was overpriced and the waitstaff was not as professional as other establishments. On the up side the hotel was very clean and the main desk was very helpful. Breakfast is always a treat and very well presented. The cook preparing the omelets and waffles was in need of help but did a great job keeping up with the demand. The shuttle was a a bonus, dropping us anywhere within a 2-mi. area from the hotel. We would stay here again if the price was right. BTW, very comfy beds but walls are not insulated and you can hear your neighbors.

Room Tip: Book early so you can get the best deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    156
    52
    19
    12
See reviews for
131
104
15
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tuscumbia, Alabama
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Customer service at check- in was less than satisfactory. The attendant acted so busy however we were the only people checking in at that time. She didn't even make eye contact. The staff was very rude and told us they had no availability until I told her that DoubleTree said they did and sent us there then there was one magical room available. The shuttle needed at least 1 preferably 2 hour notice to be scheduled, so we just walked downtown which was not a bad walk during the day but we did taxi back late that night. The rooms were so loud you could hear the showers/commodes from the surrounding rooms like they were in your room. The furniture in the suite was very dated and worn. However, on the positive side the bathrooms were very well furnished and the continental breakfast was great and the omelet station was quick and delish!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Yesterday a large group that I'm part of had a dinner and dance in the banquet facilities at the Embassy Suites. Where do I start with the awful experience we had here? A rude waiter who knocked over someones beer and then refused to replace it was the start of the night. The hotel didn't seem to understand that a dance involves music, so when they got noise complaints, we were required to turn the music way down. What?! Why didn't they put us in a location where that wouldn't be a problem? They kicked out a guy who asked for water, which they refused, and he said it was ridiculous that he couldn't get any water. After kicking him out, they promptly placed out water. To top it off, they discriminated against two gay men who were kissing in one of the hallways. None of the straight couples were asked to leave for similar behavior. I almost forgot, they broke their contract with us to rent the facilities until 12. They sent us all packing at 11:15.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Not once did the front desk guy look me in the eye. He was in a hurry to get rid of me and I was the only one in the lobby. I have stayed at several Embassy Suites and the manager recep. was always great, this one was sub-par the snacks were a few chips and salsa and chex mix. The shuttle service stinks, take a taxi! It is only about $6 to 4th street. We tried to call them several times, for a ride back to the hotel only for no one to answer the phone, when we walked the 17 blocks we found the valet guy outside talking to some guy on a motorcycle. The noise wasnt too bad but be sure to shut your bathroom door, you can hear everything, and I mean everything when someone is in the bath room next door. I was very disappointed in this embassy suites, it was at best an average stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

I recently enjoyed staying here for 3 nights with my sister and neice to attend the women's SEC basketball tournament March 3-6. I was able to obtain group rates for our booster club by speaking months in advance with an awesome group sales representative, Mike Henry, who was extremely friendly, professional, and helpful to our organization, giving us a group rate, free internet access (normally $10/day), and reduced parking fees (normally $15/day). The tournament was at the Bridgestone Arena (about 1 1/2 miles away) and the free shuttle service was great at taking and picking us up, although I did also walk occasionally for a little exercise. I flew into Nashville and utilized the #18 public bus directly from the airport right to the arena for only $1.60 (my friends took my luggage with them when they drove), but if you are going right to the hotel, Mr. Henry advised that the most economical way to get to the hotel from the airport is the Greyline Airport Express. The cooked to order breakfast was very nice with plenty of room to sit in the large and beautiful lobby area. We also enjoyed the manager's reception, 5:30-7:30 in the same area for free drinks and watching more basketball on the large lcd tv's in the lobby. I did go and look at the gym and whirlpool area which looked clean and nice on the 2nd floor, but did not get a chance to use the facilities. As a Hilton gold HHonors VIP member, I was given a few amenities that were timely delivered upon arrival.
I stayed on the 7th floor and was able to preselect my room online before arrival. The 2 room suite was large (with a large hd lcd tv in each room and a door that can close in between), clean, well maintained, and we did not hear any noise from adjoining rooms, although the hotel was full. The living room area has a microwave, coffemaker (with coffe and tea), small fridge, and sofa bed. All of the staff at the hotel went out of their way to be friendly and helpful including the front desk, cleaning staff, manager's reception hostess, breakfast staff, and shuttle service. The parking garage adjoins to 3 different floors with the highest one being the 6th floor, but we had no trouble with the self park. Once there we really did not use our car, as the shuttle service was very good (you can book the shuttle in advance to assure availability). We also were able to take the shuttle to a nearby art museum (the Frist) which we enjoyed.
We ate one meal at the steak house restaurant in the hotel, and although I am a vegetarian, I was pleased with the salad options which I thought were reasonably priced and tasty. I also had a chance to utilize the business center which offers (free to everyone) internet access and a printer to print boarding passes, etc. There seems to be several restaurants within walking distance in the area, and a great cupcake place is right across the street.
I would give give this hotel and staff the highest recommendation possible and will look forward to staying here again for any future trips to Nashville.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

We spent three nights here while visiting Vanderbilt and to see Nashville. It's a beautiful hotel, 11 stories with luxurious suites. The elevator ride alone was fun, to see the lobby from four stories up. When we got to the suite, we found it very comfortable. The bed in the bedroom was very comfortable and even the mattress on the sofabed was comfortable. The cook-to-order breakfast was very tasty, a great way to start the day. Valet parking was very convenient, just expensive. Housekeeping staff were very flexible regarding our daily outings, and nothing was stolen.
The hotel is very centrally located, with good restaurants within walking distance, and a delicious steakhouse in the lobby. However, it is pricey. The internet service isn't included, so we did get nickel-and dimed. However, that's to be expected in a city. On the whole, an excellent hotel for the money.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berryville, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

I have stayed here before a few years back. The property has really declined since my first say. Friendly staff for the most part. Watch for less than well advertised costs with Valet Parking at $20 a day. TVs don't always work. Furniture is worn. The clientele was rougher than normal, with lots of drinking and such. The place just feels a bit rough around the edges, but we are in a recession.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Nashville at Vanderbilt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Nashville at Vanderbilt

Address: 1811 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Nashville
#12 Family Hotel in Nashville
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Nashville at Vanderbilt 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Nashville at Vanderbilt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel Nashville
Embassy Suites Nashville Tn
Nashville Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Nashville at Vanderbilt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.