We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to rest on our trip to Orlando.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thrifty Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Thrifty Inn to your Saves list
Thrifty Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   343 Harding Place, Nashville, TN 37211 (Formerly pear tree inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A place to rest on our trip to Orlando.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The family and I decided to do a road trip to Disney from MN. A day behind the wheel and needed a place to stay. The service here was amazing they let us check in at 9 am and stay overnight which is almost unheard of with today's hotels. This hotel is perfect for a one night stay to rest up. The price was great for exactly that. The only real thing I would have to complain about was cleanliness. In between the nightstand and bed was pretty gross. Don't think the vacuum has touched that area in awhile. Would stay again for the price.

Room Tip: Good for a one night stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    9
    12
    23
See reviews for
15
15
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We travel every year to Florida from Wisconsin and always stay in Nashville since its about half way. Every year I try and find a good bargain for the stay. I booked two rooms at this hotel based largely on the price. About 45$ per room. Unfortunately after I booked it I started reading some of the most recent reviews and immediately became concerned, but decided to reserve judgment until after we got there. First of all, when we got there I'm pretty sure we interrupted a drug deal and the major players scattered as we drove in. Secondly, even though the rooms were booked together they were no where near each other, not even on the same floor and they refused to do anything about it or give an explanation as to why. My room was on the second floor and absolutely reeked of cigarette smoke. It was so bad that I knew it had to have been a smoking room, even though I asked for nonsmoking. I have asthma and I could hardly breath after going in that room. The walls were dirty, the curtains were faded and smoke filled, the carpet was stained and filthy,and the chair in the room was positively DISGUSTING with dirt and stains all over. To be honest, from the moment we got there we felt like bugs were crawling on us it was that gross. But my room looked like a four star resort compared to the one they put my sister in. No carpet, filthy with red stains on the walls and neither the phone or the lights even worked. My sister did eventually get put into a different room finally that at least had carpet and a working phone but that's about it. In addition, if they had a better room than the original, why wouldn't they have put her in that one originally???? There was no shampoo or soaps and the beds seemed old as well. I've never been to a flop house or a crack house but I sincerely think this is as close as it gets. We had our luggage in a roof carrier and my husband was so afraid we would be robbed that he wanted to sleep in the truck and he was up all night looking out the window checking on our suitcases. The free breakfast the next day was a joke. Yes the juice machine is still broken! There was bread for toast and donuts and a couple of bagels. The jelly was so old and gummy it couldn't even be gotten out of the container. Put it this way, we had booked rooms there for on our way back through Nashville on Sunday and promptly canceled them. This place should be closed down it is that terrible. I have stayed in many places over the years as we have traveled extensively, and this was by far the worst! Spend an extra few bucks and don't waste your time or money on this place!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

So you are looking for a 'Cheap' room in Nashville??? In this instance, Thrifty means Cheap... The location was convenient to where I needed to be & the price was better than average for Nashville - However, I have 3 very specific complaints which were ignored (or worse) by Management when I addressed them. 1.] The king-sized bed was BADLY swayed in the middle & the mattress was compressed to paper-thin... on both sides it was fine, however trying to sleep on either side would roll back into the middle. Management response: "Sorry, there are no other rooms available tonight." (Somewhat legitimate, but I'm sure this has been the case for months, as mattresses do not just wear out in a week - this one should have been replaced long ago). 2.] Cable TV reception in the room was fine on all channels EXCEPT HBO (advertised as Free HBO in Rooms)... Called down to the desk to report the problem & the night clerk said "Yes this has been a problem for 2 months now & we have called the cable company several times to complain - they haven't fixed it yet." - However the next morning (when the owner's wife was working the front desk) I mentioned it to her again & she said "Oh really, I don't know anything about that." to which I replied "Well the night girl said its been a problem for MONTHS." - No response from the owner's wife, as if I was talking to a wall. & # 3.] The Hotel sits on the side of I-24 so some road noise is to be expected, however I was on the opposite side of the hotel - away from the highway & could still hear traffic all night long - cant imagine how bad it must have been on the other side (facing the highway). 2 Stars - but if I think about it much longer I might drop them down to only 1.

Room Tip: For a 'Good' room - choose a different hotel, there are several in the same area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
a
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We noticed a very bad smell...like feces...and we came to realize that it was the receptionist. The body odor was very offensive and our tv was also bad so we had to change rooms which meant we had to talk to the smelly receptionist again...the room was clean so we stayed but would not go back

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed in Thrifty Inn , Harding Place, Nashville, TN on the night of 8th March 2014. When we went for the breakfast we saw that all the food was expired . The service was poor duty. The juice machine was out of service from last six month as told by manager. We asked for other bread from manager after looking on the packet that it is expired she told that this is the only bread they have. Room was stinking, Main office was stinking but as we have book the room already so we do not have any choice to go at late night. But please share this with people do not go to this hotel. This heel has poor facilities and poor customer service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I found this to be a great $44 hotel room. Room 128 by the pool was completely clean (based on the other reviews I took all the sheets off the bed to check for blood and bed bugs and found none. I had no bug bites in the morning. I moved furniture and no roaches. Satisfied, I slept like a baby. Are there nicer places? Not for $44. See the room before you commit, but mine was clean and perfectly adequate. This was a Wednesday night, but I saw no unsavory characters.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

My daughter and I were traveling to Florida after my grandmothers death and we stopped here for the night. We paid and then went to eat without checking out the room. When we did get to our room is was filthy. In the bathroom there were someone elses clothes. Trash under the beds and the sheets not clean I went to complain and she said after 15 minutes we could not have our money back but offered us another room. We checked it out it was newer with clean looking sheets but still trash under the bed. We found blood on the mattress though and when we moved the recliner in front of the door to feel safer trash fell out of it, Do not go there!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thrifty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thrifty Inn

Address: 343 Harding Place, Nashville, TN 37211 (Formerly pear tree inn)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thrifty Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Thrifty Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thrifty Hotel Nashville
Thrifty Inn Nashville
Nashville Thrifty Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thrifty Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.