We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sort Of Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Back Alley Diner

Back Alley Diner
217 Arcade Alley, Nashville, TN
615-251-3003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 1,727 Restaurants in Nashville
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Soups, Sandwiches
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Sort Of Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

If you need to get away from the crowds and the madness, away from the cheesy tourist shops and the rest of the over-the-top that Nashville is, sneak off to Back Alley. We were in on a Saturday night, and the music was amazing (also not country, a bonus for me) and the food and the beer selection were superb.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    40
    16
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
1 review
“Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The concierge at our hotel recommended we go here for some good quick food and good service. I’m glad we listened to her because this place was exactly what we were looking for. BAD is a place were the locals of downtown Nashville hang, as we were told, and even being from outta town the bartender still made us feel like we were regulars too. Great Atmosphere. Great Food. I definitely recommend checking it out if you’re in Nashville, or better yet making it your place to hang if you live in near!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“Worth the Search!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I work downtown Nashville and come here weekly. Rarely ever a wait and the service is also great! Lots of good choices on the menu, you can be BAD and have a delicious burger or be healthy and have a large salad, either way it’s GOOD food! I have brought many co-workers here and they love it! Definitely a hidden gem if you’re not from the area but it’s worth the search!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Best Burger Downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My co-workers and I eat here from time to time. They have the best burgers Downtown. I think it's the seasoning they put in them, but they're amazing. I've only had lunch here so I don't know about the night scene, but it'd be nice to come in for a cocktail after work. The service is great and the people are friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Really in a alley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Had a hard time finding a place and stumbled into the place. Friendly staff and one of best burger I had ever had. Find it ....can't go wrong

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Back Alley Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back Alley Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.