We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only in an emergency” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   920 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #51 of 151 Hotels in Nashville
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Only in an emergency”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We arrived into Nashville after driving for nearly 12 hours and we were hoping to find a hotel, check in, grab some dinner and sleep. We weren't expecting Nashville to be overrun with hoards of people descending to see the free open air street concert. We drove from hotel to hotel and everything was fully booked or crazily expensive. We even abandoned the idea of staying in Nashville and made our way to the highway to find a motel, but the slip road was closed and the traffic getting onto the highway was even more disheartening! We turned back and tried our luck again. That is when we discovered the Holiday Inn Express. We enquired about availability from the disinterested check in staff and quoted a quite high price. With no other options, we decided to stay.

I unloaded the luggage and parked the car in the car park around the owner, which f course, also carried a surcharge. Thankfully I found a space quite close to the lift.

As we had been traveling across the world and driving across much of the east of the US, we had a fair bit of luggage and inquired about a porter, only to be told that there was no porter. We had to load up and take the trolley all the way to our room, up the lift and long a seemingly endless and seedy looking corridor.

The room was nothing special and holds no favourable or negative memories. It was functional. A quick change of clothes and we walked the few minutes into the 'concert' area for dinner.

On our return, the check in staff were still oblivious to everything going on in the hotel and seemed more interested in their personal conversation than to acknowledge our entry. They were even too engrossed in their own discussion to pay heed to a drunken group of girls hijacking the luggage trolley to use as their personal vehicle to take them up in the lift, shouting at a standing guest waiting to enter the lift, leaving him quite confused.

For me, I knew that this meant I would have to carry the luggage down in the morning without the use of a trolley. Oh well. At least breakfast was included.

I thought too soon. Breakfast was more than basic. I am being quite harsh here, but if they had a trough, I am sure they would have dumped the food on it to serve to us. Well, it was more than basic and the kitchen use seemed to be churning out food and dumping it into the receptacles. The guests, however, seemed quite content with it, so we were the ones out of place.

As anticipated, I had to carry all the luggage down without the aid of a trolley and I deposited the card at reception with a quick and relieved goodbye.

Would I stay here again? Try and make me!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    98
    43
    17
    9
See reviews for
28
77
5
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It was great to be able to walk everywhere and not use cabs. Nice pool and even afternoon snacks (with delish lemonade) in the lobby every day! The rooms had all the amenities we needed. The lobby had internet, which was great for researching local places.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor, which wasn't loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel had a free shuttle downtown, very prompt and courteous. Location was within walking distance, also on a bus route. Staff was extremely helpful and very resourceful. Major attractions were reasonably priced and the Country Music Hall of Fame was the highlight of our trip. Don't miss the Parthenon or the farmers market either! Our next trip to Nashville we will definitely stay at this same hotel. The breakfast buffet was very typical, but it was free so no complaints. Make the trip to the Pancake Pantry...well worth the trip.The trolly tour was helpful and the guides gave you more information than you would ever get on your own, well worth the time.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a mid week business trip. If you need to be in federal court, this is your place. Everything good. Nice workout facility. Close to everything. Good breakfast in the morning. Coffee all day.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Location of hotel is great - so close to the action. The free shuttle service is what sold me on this hotel. I didn't think my Mother or I could walk as much as I presumed we would need to in order to see all the sites. Shuttle service was very efficient. All staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast buffet was more than adequate. Room was comfortable - nothing extraordinary, but comfortable and safe.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the church next door and Broadway - Room 723.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here in April for a marathon. The location was perfect as the marathon started 5 blocks down the road. The runners lined up along Broadway and the corrals were located just outside the doors. We were able to cheer on our runner from two spots very close to the hotel in addition to the starting line. They supplied breakfast hours early to accommodate runners staying at the hotel. Room was spacious and quiet. The towels were super soft and smelled wonderful. I debated putting that in a review, but I have never had towels that soft before! I came home and was disappointed by my own linen closet. They offer a shuttle service that is GREAT and we utilized it a little bit. The only downside was it does not run on Sunday. Also, we asked if we could get picked up at the stadium after the race. They did not go that far and we understood. However, when we returned from the long walk, I heard someone saying the shuttle was at 3rd street picking up runners. Had someone suggested they would meet us at 3rd street, it would have helped as we were tired. Kelly was very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Overall, our stay at the Holiday Inn Express was really good. My husband I and I stayed over Memorial Day weekend so the hotel was full. The room wasn't the newest but overall it was clean and the bed comfortable. I thought the breakfast was really good with biscuits, gravy, eggs, sausage, plus the standard cereal, breads, and oatmeal. My only problem with this hotel was the price. We stayed two nights and were quoted $150 for one night and $250 for the next. Also, parking is $24 a day and the parking garage was full so we were told to park next door in another parking lot. If I vacation in Nashville again, there won't be a huge desire to stay downtown, I'd rather save several $$ and stay about 10 minutes away from the downtown area.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown

Address: 920 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Nashville
#31 Family Hotel in Nashville
#39 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award winning Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown! Whether traveling for business or leisure, rest assured that you have made the finest choice in the award winning Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown. We are the largest hotel within the InterContinental Hotels Group portfolio boasting 287 guestrooms complete with over 10,000 sq feet of flexible meeting space making our hotel property ideal for corporate retreats, meetings, and receptions. The Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown is perfectly situated in downtown Nashville within a stone's throw of Bridgestone Arena, Nashville Convention Center, Music City Center, Frist Center for the Visual Arts, Ryman Auditorium, Music Row, LP Field, and the vibrate downtown Entertainment District. Our guests can enjoy amenities such as complimentary Wi-Fi access, complimentary Express Start breakfast each morning, and a seasonal outdoor pool. On Friday and Saturday we have hors d'oeuvre in the lobby, complete with refreshments in the evening hours featuring live entertainment from one of Nashville's rising musical talents to set the tone for a fun-filled Nashville weekend. Start planning your Nashville Experience today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown Hotel Nashville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.