We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   920 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #46 of 151 Hotels in Nashville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

As you can see by the score, this was a good holiday inn, but I did have a recently refurbished room on the second floor. I needed to complain a couple of times, small things, but the response was excellent. The customer service shown was impressive, and you can only tell when you have a problem, so top marks for this. It is a classical Holiday Inn and the breakfast is as you would expect, fairly basic, but okay. Location is great as it is a 5min walk to downtown. Overall good experience on first trip to Nashville. (It also made me feel at home as it rained everyday, just like England :) )

Room Tip: I was on the second floor in a new room facing the side road. On each of the 3 days a truck delivers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    87
    36
    14
    8
See reviews for
24
69
5
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed in this hotel 4/10/2015-4/11/2015. Lobby is nice. Breakfast is hot and ample.
The rooms were disgraceful. The carpet in our rooms was moldy and had not been cleaned in a long time, if ever. The hallways were dingy and poorly lit. My bathroom was sketchy; the dirt on the floor had been pushed up under the sink. The floor had been poorly mopped. The tub was dingy. But worst of all, I was charged $500/night for the pigsty. I will never stay in this place again. The parking is also a joke. The spaces fit clown cars but no decent vehicle.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emilie l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear that there were housekeeping issues that you encounter while losing with us earlier this month. If you could please reach out to me directly to be able to discuss this matter further that would be greatly appreciate. My email is elonergan@jrk.com.

Again, thank you for the review and I look forward to hearing from you.

Emilie L
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

As a property for the more budget conscious, I didn't have very high expectations for this hotel, but was pleasantly surprised at everything it had to offer. I'm a platinum member by virtue of holding a branded credit card and that entitle me to a suite upgrade when available and it was in this case. There was a slight hiccup as it took the hotel more than 2 hours to clean and prep the room, but the front desk added 5,000 points to my account without me having to ask and I thought that was a very nice gesture.

The suite was roomy and comfortable though my only caveats are that my room did get a fair amount of traffic noise which might be hard to a light sleeper and the a/c unit in the bedroom is located such that the air blows right over the bed. The best solution for me was to turn it off at night.

A free breakfast is served every day and it was far better than I expected. Features besides the standard cereal and yogurt offerings include a pancake making machine- fair, cinnamon rolls- yummy, scrambled eggs, turkey sausage and biscuits and gravy. there was even chocolate milk available which is great for kids and rarely seen at other hotels that I've stayed at

Even though the hotel is just a few blocks from the downtown hotspots and the Music City Center, The Bridgestone Center, and Country Music Hall of Fame, they offer and on-demand shuttle for most of the day that will drop you off at or near these locations.

One of the more unique features is a texting service that the hotel promotes as a way to connect and get questions answered. I gave it a try and it worked great.

Also there is a light reception on Friday and Saturday evenings in the lobby though I would get there early as the food runs out quickly if the hotel is booked.

Overall it was one of my better hotel experiences and easily my top choice the next time I visit Nashville.

Room Tip: One that isn't directly facing Broadway if you're sensitive to street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emilie l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Travel4less,

First, I would like to thank you for being a loyal IHG Platinum Member. We are beyond happy to read what a wonderful stay you had with us. WE do our best to make sure that if a guest does have an issue we do try to resolve it when notified. I am glad we were able to take care of any issues with your stay. I will be passing along your review with our entire team about the kind words you had of our staff and property.

Again, thank you for the review and your loyalty; we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Emilie L
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel for four nights whilst visiting Nashville for the first time. The hotel had been recommended to us for both its location - close to all of the bars and restaurants - and for its outdoor pool. The first point was spot on. It was close enough to all of the action but far enough away to be quiet during the night. However, the pool, which was a decider for us on the hotel, was closed until May (I think) despite the fact that it was quite warm. The hotel itself was clean with nice rooms but the breakfast was awful - plastic knives and forks and paper plates with very little choice. I will stay in Holiday Inn hotels in the future but will think again about Holiday inn Express.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emilie l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear 2755Julie,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate the feedback we receive on how we can better accommodate for guests and their needs. I am happy to read we were the ideal location for your needs while in Nashville. For the safety of our guests we do need to follow proper procedures for the pool opening; with that being said this is why you are correct with the fact our pool well not be opening until May.

Again, thank you for the review and the feedback.

Emilie L
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonesboro
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here for a few days for an event happening in town. The staff were very friendly, lobby and common areas were clean and updated. Halls were a little outdated and dirty but nothing too bad. Room was right on Broadway and you may want to avoid this or ask for a room away from Broadway because it can be very loud with traffic and emergency vehicles. Bed was comfortable and I had no issue with air-conditioning. Everything worked great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Broadway Street. It will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emilie l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We know you had many lodging choices while in Nashville and we are glad you chose our facilities. We are in an ideal location just blocks away from the Nashville Entertainment District.

Again, thank you for the review. We hope to see you again in the future.

Emilie L
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We found the hotel to be nice and clean. Breakfast was aversge with a good variety of foods. Refrigerator in room was nice. A nice walk to Honky Tonk Row. We used the free shuttle service many times with no problems. Jacks BBQ on Broadway has delicious ribs and is worth the wait.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A very nice place to stay within walking distance to everything downtown. Breakfast was nicer than the usual hotel breakfast. The staff was friendly and helpful. We were staying multiple days and our room was generally not serviced until late afternoon, which was challenging as that conflicted with nap time. :-) There is a shuttle that will take you up and down the hill, but we enjoyed the walk. The king room was very clean and spacious with the best hotel water pressure we have had in years. When we return to Nashville we will stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and while it didn't have a view of anything it was easy to walk up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emilie l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Julie and Don,

What a wonderful review. I am so happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations on so many levels. I will be sure to let the front desk team know of your kind words. Thank you for letting us know about the housekeeping; we will try to work on something to resolve this.

Again, thank you for the review and we look forward to serving you again.

Emilie L
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown

Address: 920 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Nashville
#21 Family Hotel in Nashville
#33 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#45 Business Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award winning Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown! Whether traveling for business or leisure, rest assured that you have made the finest choice in the award winning Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown. We are the largest hotel within the InterContinental Hotels Group portfolio boasting 287 guestrooms complete with over 10,000 sq feet of flexible meeting space making our hotel property ideal for corporate retreats, meetings, and receptions. The Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown is perfectly situated in downtown Nashville within a stone's throw of Bridgestone Arena, Nashville Convention Center, Music City Center, Frist Center for the Visual Arts, Ryman Auditorium, Music Row, LP Field, and the vibrate downtown Entertainment District. Our guests can enjoy amenities such as complimentary Wi-Fi access, complimentary Express Start breakfast each morning, and a seasonal outdoor pool. On Friday and Saturday we have hors d'oeuvre in the lobby, complete with refreshments in the evening hours featuring live entertainment from one of Nashville's rising musical talents to set the tone for a fun-filled Nashville weekend. Start planning your Nashville Experience today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown Hotel Nashville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.