We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and they get you with a surprise parking fee” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   920 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #48 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Acworth, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced and they get you with a surprise parking fee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Hotel is located in a very good location within a few minutes of the main attractions on Broadway and a few blocks away from the Gulch (new and way over priced shopping and dining area). I was a bit shocked that after paying several hundred dollars for the room for a four day mini trip that I had to pay a daily parking fee for the price of a nice meal for two. They tried to say the parking lot was not owned by the hotel, however, it is in the parking garage under the hotel.

Hotel is fairly old and while it has been renovated they didn't do a very good job of actual renovation. Basically some new carpet, a cheap flat screen TV and paint doesn't make it feel new. Just and old room that has been painted and new carpet installed.

Breakfast was ordinary stuff you'd find in a much cheaper hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    73
    28
    12
    6
See reviews for
17
50
4
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Theodore, Alabama, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel did have some minor issues, but the courteous staff went above and beyond to make up for them. For example, my room wasn't very clean, the TV did not work, and the internet in the business center went down while I was trying to print something. However, the staff resolved everything very quickly. The free breakfast was great, and they have a free shuttle service to,a few places in the local area. Great stay for the price. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emilie l, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am beyond pleased to hear that our staff was courteous when resolving the issues you inquired while with us. We do our best to make sure each guest has a great stay with us in Nashville.

Thank you again. Happy Holidays.

Emilie Lonergan
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hondo, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The front desk had asked us to take a seat and wait till they could find a room available. After a lengthy time of about 20 minutes, we asked again. They were sorry that it took so long and upgraded us to a suite. Nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emilie l, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the review on our hotel. I am pleased to hear that once you were able to check-in your stay with us was nice. I am sorry to hear you had to wait for a room but am glad the front desk was able to accommodate for you with an upgrade.


Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel.

Emilie Lonergan
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood, IL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Several members of my hockey team decided to see the Chicago Blackhawks play the Predators in Nashville this past weekend. So we drove down to beautiful Nashville Friday morning and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express downtown. Location? Phenomenal. Hotel? Nice. Nothing really special. When we made the reservations, we were told that a "suite" for five people would be $1,450 for two nights! That included an "extra person" fee and taxes. Our "suite" consisted of a small room with a couch (that pulled out into a bed for that expensive fifth person), a chair, a small desk and a television. There was also a dorm fridge and a microscopically small microwave squeezed in there too. Then there was a bedroom that had two beds (not sure if they were queens or just fill size) and a bathroom. That was our $1,450 suite.
But hey, it was boys weekend away with fun and hockey, so we bit the bullet and paid the inflated prices (the normal prices are much lower but Blackhawk fans traditionally flood Nashville every time the Hawks play the Preds so I guess the hotels see that as an opportunity to jack up the prices). The free breakfast was ok. Your normal powdered eggs and stuff that looks and smells like breakfast sausage but is really some mystery substance. But in the Holiday Inn's defense, it was on par with most of the free breakfasts offered at other hotels (except for the Hilton in Detroit I mentioned in an earlier review. Their breakfast was top notch.).
The hotel was clean and staff seemed friendly. But what really roasted my chestnuts was when I found out they charge $23 A DAY to park there! I know it says it clearly on their web site, but you just jacked your prices to about $725 a night for a room the Comfort Suites charges a little over one hundred bucks for! And now you want almost $50 more to park in that crappy little lot almost a block away? What a racket.
Anyway. The hotel is in a pretty sweet spot, just a few blocks from the Bridgestone Arena and the strip of bars/restaurants that make Nashville one of my favorite towns to visit. But it is, IN NO WAY, worth what they gouge you for. In hindsight, when we come back next time, we'll just stay somewhere a little further out and cab it to the strip. We probably could have saved about a thousand bucks if we did it this time. That buys a lot of BBQ and Bourbon (for you Bourbon drinkers).

Room Tip: Don't go when the Predators or Tennessee Titans are playing. They use it as an excuse to jack up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emilie l, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and the feedback you have provided. We use the feedback to gage how we are performing on an overall satisfaction level in the eyes of our guests.

I was taken back by your review because this is not the experience that is congruent with our hotel. When each guest checks in we outline to them the charges and we have them initial and sign. If at that time there is an issue we hope that our guests will address their concerns with us then.

Again, thank you for your time and feedback.

Emilie Lonergan
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent the weekend before Thanksgiving here with a group of 7. I picked it because of its price and location. It did not disappoint. It was fabulous. Everything was in walking distance and I am not a big walker. The hotel shuttle was great. The people in the hotel were great and helpful. I thought it was a great deal for the money. I loved the breakfast also. I would definitely recommend this hotel. I really felt you got a lot for the money.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emilie l, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
On behalf of our team here at the Holiday Inn Express, we would like to thank you for the wonderful review. We are pleased to hear that your entire group enjoyed their stay with us in Nashville. We strive each day to make sure each of our guests have a positive memorable experience. I am glad we were able to achieve our goal with all of you.

Thank you again for the great review,

Emilie Lonergan
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel no2 of 9, great location for overnight in nashville, located on broadway just a 5 min walk to the nightlife and culture of nashville, rooms adequate, good breakfast, not too good with paper plates and plastic cutlery, next stop memphis!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emilie l, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your time here with us while touring. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the states.

Thank you again,

Emilie Lonergan
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsbugh
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel staff was very friendly and the hotel itself was very clean. The breakfast was just like any other HI Express - pretty good with a variety to choose from, but nothing fancy. The room and lobby were comfortable and updated enough. The location is good, not great. The action is a 5-10 minute walk from here down a quiet part of the main street. There's a shuttle that runs from the hotel (although it doesn't run on Sundays, which we were disappointed about), so you can save the walk for the most part. I would stay here again, but don't expect to be just steps from action.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emilie l, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the time you took to review our hotel.

We are pleased to read that you had a good time while with us in Nashville. I am sorry to hear that we did not wow you with our location and shuttle services. We do our best to accommodate each of our guests needs. I will be sure to discuss this with our management team to see if there is anything we can do about the shuttle not running on Sundays

Thank you again for your feedback. We truly do appreciate it.

Emilie Lonergan
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown

Address: 920 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Nashville
#14 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown. Our great new look and perfect downtown location coupled with our famous southern hospitality gives you a perfect formula for a memorable stay. We are located in the heart of Music City USA, just a short walk away from the downtown entertainment attractions including the Ryman Auditorium, Country Music Hall of Fame, Wildhorse Saloon, Tennessee Titans, Coyote Ugly, Hardrock Cafe the Sommet Center (home of the famous Nashville Predators), and Vanderbilt University just to name a few. Have you seen our hotel recently? From the flat screen plasma TVs and micro-fridges in our rooms to our new outdoor patio overlooking vibrant Broadway Street, you will be planning your next trip back to Nashville before you leave. Come see what s new at the Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown...new lobby, new exterior, new rooms, 5 star service...new beginnings! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown Hotel Nashville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.