We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Among the BEST for Holiday Inn Express” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   920 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #57 of 150 hotels in Nashville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Among the BEST for Holiday Inn Express”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I have just returned from a 2 night stay in which I booked 5 rooms for 10 traveling companions to attend a nearby conference. I booked the rooms online and then called the hotel and was connected to Valeri who was friendly and personable and went above and beyond the call of duty to take care of us. She secured a special room for a guest with "mobility issues," as well as took the time to share about local eateries and sights of interest within walking distance. It was obvious that Valeri loved her job! (Given the chance, I would hire this lady immediately!)

The rooms were comfortable, clean and had a mini-fridge and microwave. The breakfast buffet was outstanding, and had a great variety! My only complaint would be that the breakfast serving crew seemed to be overwhelmed & understaffed. Their demeanor was that of frustration and hurry. It seemed that the hotel was full, and during peak times, (7-8:30) the coffee and some food items were constantly running out. But there was alway plenty of their signature cinnamon rolls!

The prices here were very competitive with other hotels and the Holiday Inn Shuttle would take guests and pick them up most anywhere within a 2 mile radius.

I would definitely stay here again if I was working or attending an event downtown, and would be sure to ask for Valeri if special assistance is needed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIENASHVILLEDT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown for your 2 night, 5 room, 10 person trip to the Music City.

My team and I are absolutely delighted to read that you consider our hotel “amount the best for Holiday Inn Express.” In fact, we are the largest Holiday Inn Express, within the InterContinental Hotels Group portfolio, in the country. Our ultimate goal is to not just live up to your expectations, but to exceed your expectations each and everyday. It was our pleasure to provide you the personalized concierge service that we are known for. I shall certainly extend your great comments to Valeri. She is one of our seasoned professionals who exemplifies customer service to a tee. Thank you so much for recognizing one of my employees in this regard.

On behalf of my team, we look forward in welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dan Deaver
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    279
    118
    41
    27
See reviews for
77
213
33
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This isn't a purpose built HIExpress so it has some challenges (older building; noises) but apart from that it is great. I had a spectacularly fast check-in and all of the clerks recognized me by name following my first walk up. I got great advice on restaurants and assurances I'd be safe walking the few blocks into the center of everything Nashville - they were right. There was a courtesy van on offer but I needed the walk. Comfy bed, nice view over Union Station, furnishings work.
I had a noise in my room that was intermittent - about once an hour there was a loud buzzing noise. I was in bed and nearly asleep when I figured out it wasn't just the TV - and by then it was too late to call for maintenance. I told front desk in the morning and they expressed concern - so hopefully no one else is awakened every hour or so by whatever this is. (likely the refrigerator)
I want better in room coffee makers - don't care for the single serving in a styro cup thingy that is becoming common. (it's just instant coffee - and not particularly good)
I want a luggage rack - I hate putting my suitcase up on furniture where it can leave marks or damage upholstery.

Room Tip: I love trains and train sounds so a view over Union Station was great for me. If you aren't a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIENASHVILLEDT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
We appreciate your valuable feedback regarding your experience at the award winning Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown; and for taking the time out of your day to post a review on TripAdvisor.

You are correct, we are not your typical Holiday Inn Express; we are actually the largest Holiday Inn Express in the country with 287 guestrooms, complete with 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. This, in itself, allows us to cater to a larger clientele looking for that full service hotel experience. We sincerely appreciate your feedback outlining our top-notch service team that will do Whatever It Takes to create lasting memories for our guests. Our location, size, and team is what truly separates us from the rest of the competition in the downtown Nashville market. With that said, I would like to take this opportunity to apologize if you were left to feel disappointed with the buzzing noise coming from your room. I will make sure to follow up with our engineering team to pinpoint exactly where this is coming from. With respect to luggage racks, all of our 287 guestrooms and suites have luggage racks in the closet; and some of our larger rooms actually have multiple luggage racks for even more convenience.

Your recommendation and comments will not go unnoticed, and I will make certain to pass along your positive feedback to my team for a job well done. Next time you are visiting Nashville we would love to have another opportunity to welcome your return visit for another great experience.

Sincerely,

Dan Deaver
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WISCONSIN DELLS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I stayed at this property on April 26 and 27. I made the reservation on April 25th- with the rate being $349 for the first night and $179 for the second night- I thought this high for a Holiday Inn Express- but I needed to be there. After making the reservation I found a lower price on www.mybookingbuddy.com. I took a screenshot- called customer care - and submitted a request to get the first night free- as their best price guarantee says. I was told by the manager at Holiday Inn (rude) and the front desk (rude) that they would deny it because third party sites are not honored. Where else are you supposed to find a lower rate?? I arrived at the hotel the next day and they knew nothing about it- and their phones were down so I couldn't call customer service. FINALLY at 11pm I was able to use the phones to call customer service- I was told by a HOLIDAY INN employee that there had been issues and submissions through the best price guarantee were not being received. He instructed me to resubmit- and he would send an email documenting this. Well- I get an email saying the best price guarantee could not be validated- OF COURSE NOT!! It was after midnight- and it was for THAT day! You cannot call anyone at Holiday Inn- all I get is condescending letters saying they "understand" my frustration- I don't care that they understand. I want them to honor the guarantee and they will not- and they will not give me a legitimate reason why- nor will they admit that there was an error on their part. EXTREMELY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE. It is evident that as a corporation they make a concerted effort to deceive and lie to their guests. They have guarantee that they refuse to honor- and they refuse to even discuss it with me on the phone- or allow me to talk to a supervisor. I have been a travel agent for over 20 years and NEVER have I been treated so poorly by a company. I will do everything I can to NOT send clients to ANY Holiday Inn ANYWHERE. I urge everyone reading this to NOT patronize them- they are a dishonest company.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear bouttahere,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Located on Broadway across from First, this hotel is within easy walking distance to downtown and venues such as the Ryman Auditorium, Bridgestone Arena, and the Frist Centre. We arrived early and although our room wasn't ready, we were able to park our vehicle, which was much appreciated. There was a $22 charge for parking, but the underground parking lot was convenient with elevator access to the hotel. The hotel provides a shuttle service but we walked everywhere and didn't use this service. An excellent breakfast is provided with hot and cold items, and the lobby area and breakfast area are very spacious and tastefully done. The staff were very friendly. Our room was comfortable and clean. We booked at this hotel for a Thursday night and afterwards thought of adding a Friday and Saturday night to our stay, but the rates really hiked up on the weekend so we opted to only stay the Thursday night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIENASHVILLEDT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for choosing the award winning Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown for your excursion from Sudbury, Canada. We are most appreciative of your charming feedback for other potential guests to take notice on TripAdvisor.

I am truly happy to read your kind recognition of our top notch housekeeping department for working hard to personally detail your room; our Express Star breakfast complete with all the traditional hot/cold breakfast items; complimentary downtown shuttle, location, and service. Our team of hospitality professionals has adopted a service culture that is the absolute best in the business. A team that genuinely takes pride in their work, and this is reflected in our service scores. Thank you so much for inspiring us even more.

We welcome your return visit anytime to once again exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Dan Deaver
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This hotel offers a quality room for the price but nothing fancy. Its in an ideal location just a few blocks from downtown. Most everything is in walking distance. The hotel also offers a free shuttle service within a 2 mile radius if you prefer. In addition the complimentary breakfast is very good and offers both a hot and continental breakfast buffet along with quality service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIENASHVILLEDT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown. I appreciate you taking the time out of your day to share your detailed experience with the social media world on TripAdvisor.

I am happy to read your kind recognition of our team's efforts to ensure you were comfortable and warmly welcomed. I was also pleased to learn the location was convenient for your visit to downtown Nashville. We personally believe our location, and award winning guest service, is what sets us apart from the rest of the competition in the Nashville market.

Once again, thank you for your comments and for choosing to spend your time with us.

Sincerely,

Dan Deaver
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The hotel is nice and is in a quiet area. It is walking distance to the town center with bars and restaurants. It is a 15 minute walk. There is a parking under and just next to the hotel, for an additional charge. The room was quite ok.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIENASHVILLEDT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Greetings from the Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown! I would like to personally thank you for detailing your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your recommendation towards our brand, and hotel, for others to read. Our hotel is conveniently located next to everything that our Music City has to offer. Also, on Friday/Saturday, we feature live entertainment in the lobby; complete with hors d'oeuvre and refreshments to set the ambiance for a fun-filled Nashville weekend. These little extras are what make us an award winning hotel in the eyes of our guests.

On behalf of my team at the Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, we hope to have another opportunity to welcome your return visit very soon.

Sincerely,

Dan Deaver
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location. Just blocks from great restaurants in the gulch and live music on the row. We stayed one night, Tuesday, and the hotel was busy but quiet. Check in went smoothly and quickly. The room was a nice size, the beds were comfortable with plenty of pillows. The free breakfast is pretty good, plenty to choose from. The only downside is its $22 to park.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIENASHVILLEDT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
I would like to express my sincere gratitude for taking the time out of your busy schedule to give us a wonderful review of your experience at the Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown.

It is with great pleasure that we warmly welcome, meet, and exceed our guests expectations on a daily basis. Our hotel property is perfectly situated in downtown next to everything the our Music City has to offer. From the smooth and quickly check-in, to our beautifully appointed rooms complete with comfortable beds and pillows; all of this and more are what makes us an award winning hotel in the eyes of our guests. Your review gives my team great pride, and actually motivates us to continue giving outstanding service that coincides with our award winning hotel.

On behalf of my team, I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Dan Deaver
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown

Address: 920 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown. Our great new look and perfect downtown location coupled with our famous southern hospitality gives you a perfect formula for a memorable stay. We are located in the heart of Music City USA, just a short walk away from the downtown entertainment attractions including the Ryman Auditorium, Country Music Hall of Fame, Wildhorse Saloon, Tennessee Titans, Coyote Ugly, Hardrock Cafe the Sommet Center (home of the famous Nashville Predators), and Vanderbilt University just to name a few. Have you seen our hotel recently? From the flat screen plasma TVs and micro-fridges in our rooms to our new outdoor patio overlooking vibrant Broadway Street, you will be planning your next trip back to Nashville before you leave. Come see what s new at the Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown...new lobby, new exterior, new rooms, 5 star service...new beginnings! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown Hotel Nashville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.