We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“positive experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   920 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #55 of 150 hotels in Nashville
GA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“positive experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2007

I agree with most of the travelers about the hotel. The location was good. My room was clean and cheerful. There was a good deal of debris on the hallway carpets, but there was a lot of traffic walking through. I liked the granite counter tops in the bathroom, and the inside of the hotel was updated. The outside could have used a face lift, but I could care less as long as the inside was suitable. The staff was friendly. There were above average options at the breakfast bar. I was thankful that I didn't spend a fortune to stay downtown. The walk seemed safe enough from the hotel. It was pretty active downtown on a Sunday night. The parking was $15 for my one night stay. That is the first time that I have ever had to pay to park at a hotel in which I was staying. However, I was happy with the hotel and I would recommend it.

  • Liked — location, breakfast, friendly staff, best value for downtown
  • Disliked — paying to park
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    276
    117
    40
    26
See reviews for
77
211
33
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2007

I spent a night at this HI Express because of the rave reviews on TripAdvisor. I am mystified. This is a large, older, unrenovated
hotel with minimum likable qualities. For starters. it's very dirty. The hallways are filthy in the corners and littered with debris. The elevators and common areas are also dirty. The room wasn't vacuumed sufficiently either. The bed, pretty basic necessity, was long gone for any comfort, very lumpy and soft. The continental breakfast was average though the service was attentive and gracious. Front desk service was gracious as well, but no one knows how to give directions to places I needed to go. At a rate of $169.00/night, this is an unacceptable value.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2007

This hotel is in a great location. Within walking distance of downtown Nashville. It is located on the main road so we felt quite safe walking to and from the hotel. We found the accommodations excellent value for the money we paid. Breakfast is included and also food at night such as hot dogs. There is free public internet access. The room was very spacious and clean. Staff were very friendly.

  • Liked — Value for Money
  • Disliked — Corridors had fluff at the edges of the carpet
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce,GA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

The parking is horrible, not enough room to move around in the deck/laundry/storage area. Had overpowering smoke smell on the floor we were on. We also had a debit card stolen from the room and not much cooperation about the incident from hotel employees.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

Large clean rooms, free internet in the lobby. great location, only a 5 minute walk to all bars and shows. Even so the hotel offers a free shuttle service to downtown resturants and bars ect. Breakfast is absolutley awesome by american standards. Woud stay here again.

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2007

On our third hotel stop on our tour of the South, we ended up at the Holiday Inn Express. This was a very nice hotel and probably the best one we stayed at the whole tour. The rooms were large, featured pillows labeled soft or firm for the pillow specific, and had vending machines on all floors. Also a pretty relatively quiet hotel and a nice workout room. There is also free internet access in the lobby which although slow gave me the chance to check my email. They also had a free breakfast in the morning and a free afternoon snack that was popcorn, nachos and other days chili dogs. We were also located across from the Frist Museum which was nice and walked to the Flying Saucer for dinner.

  • Liked — Free breakfast and afternoon snack
  • Disliked — Would have liked to been closer to more restaurants and shops
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2007

I had a hard time picking neutral or above average. I chose above average only because of the price as compared to it's competition and it's location.

The location of this hotel was key, on Broadway within walking distance of the honkytonk bars. You will be three blocks away from the nightspots at the top of the hill, it is an uphill walk on the way home, the average person can walk it. Parking at the hotel is $14/day, parking in the city is $10/night, there is no way around it other than the meters which are ALWAYS taken and have a 2 hour limit. The parking garage is a fender benders paradise, there are so many concrete supports that it was difficult to navigate a double cab short bed truck thru it, yet by no means unmanageable.

My only complaints were the bathroom and the curtains. I believe that I have determined the meaning of Holiday Inn "EXPRESS". Express means quick, that's the kind of job they do cleaning the bathroom! When we arrived, there was blue shampoo of some sort on the shower wall, hair in the tub, half used shampoo bottles on the side, and a half empty Pepsi botle on the toilet tank. I called the desk and told them so they sent the cleaners up. When finished we had more new towels but still had the hair, blue shampoo on the wall, half used bottles of shampoo, and the mysterious Pepsi bottle. I can honestly say that in our 3 night stay, the shower was not filthy yet NEVER PROPERLY CLEANED! We had hair every day and the half bottles finally dissapeared on the third day, we threw away the Pepsi bottle. The rest of the bathroom and the room were cleaned satisfactorily or I would have been calling the desk. Also, BRING SAFETY PINS.... the curtains do not close and light from the adjacent parking garage will keep you awake all night! I don't mean that they almost close, I mean that they are open 4 feet! We pinned ours shut each night and it closed them fairly well.

In conclusion....I was afraid of the place at first due to the lower price compared to the others. In retrospect, I would go there again. It's cheaper, it's not the Hilton, but the location was good, the free breakfast was good, without a doubt the nicest H.I. Express that I have stayed in. Other comments that my wife had was how quiet the room and and hallway were and the bed/bedding/sheets/pillows were excellent. I don't always sleep well in hotels, this one was great for relaxing and sleeping! If you're there for seeing the sites and hitting the honkeytonks, you won't be in the room much anyway, there's plenty to do!

  • Liked — Great location plus the bed/bedding/pillows were excellent
  • Disliked — The shower was never properly cleaned and the curtains don't close
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown

Address: 920 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 150 hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown. Our great new look and perfect downtown location coupled with our famous southern hospitality gives you a perfect formula for a memorable stay. We are located in the heart of Music City USA, just a short walk away from the downtown entertainment attractions including the Ryman Auditorium, Country Music Hall of Fame, Wildhorse Saloon, Tennessee Titans, Coyote Ugly, Hardrock Cafe the Sommet Center (home of the famous Nashville Predators), and Vanderbilt University just to name a few. Have you seen our hotel recently? From the flat screen plasma TVs and micro-fridges in our rooms to our new outdoor patio overlooking vibrant Broadway Street, you will be planning your next trip back to Nashville before you leave. Come see what s new at the Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown...new lobby, new exterior, new rooms, 5 star service...new beginnings! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown Hotel Nashville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.