We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frist Center for Visual Arts

Frist Center for Visual Arts
919 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203-3822 (Downtown Nashville)
615-244-3340
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$28*
and up
Nashville Trolley Tour
Ranked #17 of 206 things to do in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Since opening in 2001, the Frist Center for Visual Arts has hosted a spectacular array of art from around the world. Not only an important cultural focal point for the city of Nashville, it is also a significant architectural structure, occupying one of Nashville’s great historic landmarks, the former main post office. Constructed from 1933 to 1934 under the direction of the local architectural firm of Marr & Holman, it displays both of the most distinctive architectural styles of the period: Classicism and Art Deco.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Crawfordville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The building in general is a beautiful structure. I really enjoyed all the twenties and thirties style of paintings. There was a small cafe for cold cuts and drinks, a nice gift shop, I got my granddaughter a couple of art books at a very reasonable price. It didn't take me an hour to go through, I don't remember there being a fee to go through the small museum.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very emotional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We walked into another world as we viewed the drawings of Steve Mumford from his war journals. It was difficult at times to look at the drawings and not have a strong reaction to the terrible effects of war. There was an air of sadness in the rooms. He most certainly raised our awareness to a new level.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
143 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

FREE to walk around outside and enjoy the statues, fountains and flowers..now if you go inside to attend an event there is admission but you can enjoy the gorgeous building and grounds for FREE

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lucy_Ott0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Kids camp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I had my 10 and 11 year old here for camp for a week and they loved it. They wanted to go through the exhibits AGAIN each day when I picked them up. I highly recommend it

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bberrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
266 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Hit and miss or some things you like and”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

others you don't (and so what is art anyways?). So, while we were there we enjoyed some of the exhibits and thought some others were not to our liking. All in all, however, this place is on a manageable scale and can be enjoyed in an hour, or more if you are so inclined. Seems to favor traveling exhibits and so somewhat hit-and-miss on quality from an out-of-towners perspective.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BarryandJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frist Center for Visual Arts also viewed

 

Been to Frist Center for Visual Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing