We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frist Center for Visual Arts

Frist Center for Visual Arts
919 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203-3822 (Downtown Nashville)
615-244-3340
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 123 Attractions in Nashville
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Since opening in 2001, the Frist Center for Visual Arts has hosted a spectacular array of art from around the world. Not only an important cultural focal point for the city of Nashville, it is also a significant architectural structure, occupying one of Nashville’s great historic landmarks, the former main post office. Constructed from 1933 to 1934 under the direction of the local architectural firm of Marr & Holman, it displays both of the most distinctive architectural styles of the period: Classicism and Art Deco.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Crawfordville, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The building in general is a beautiful structure. I really enjoyed all the twenties and thirties style of paintings. There was a small cafe for cold cuts and drinks, a nice gift shop, I got my granddaughter a couple of art books at a very reasonable price. It didn't take me an hour to go through, I don't remember there being a fee to go through the small museum.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    89
    22
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very emotional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We walked into another world as we viewed the drawings of Steve Mumford from his war journals. It was difficult at times to look at the drawings and not have a strong reaction to the terrible effects of war. There was an air of sadness in the rooms. He most certainly raised our awareness to a new level.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

FREE to walk around outside and enjoy the statues, fountains and flowers..now if you go inside to attend an event there is admission but you can enjoy the gorgeous building and grounds for FREE

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Kids camp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I had my 10 and 11 year old here for camp for a week and they loved it. They wanted to go through the exhibits AGAIN each day when I picked them up. I highly recommend it

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Hit and miss or some things you like and”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

others you don't (and so what is art anyways?). So, while we were there we enjoyed some of the exhibits and thought some others were not to our liking. All in all, however, this place is on a manageable scale and can be enjoyed in an hour, or more if you are so inclined. Seems to favor traveling exhibits and so somewhat hit-and-miss on quality from an out-of-towners perspective.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frist Center for Visual Arts also viewed

 

Been to Frist Center for Visual Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frist Center for Visual Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.