We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant spot to see art” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frist Center for Visual Arts

Frist Center for Visual Arts
919 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203-3822 (Downtown Nashville)
615-244-3340
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 96 Attractions in Nashville
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Since opening in 2001, the Frist Center for Visual Arts has hosted a spectacular array of art from around the world. Not only an important cultural focal point for the city of Nashville, it is also a significant architectural structure, occupying one of Nashville’s great historic landmarks, the former main post office. Constructed from 1933 to 1934 under the direction of the local architectural firm of Marr & Holman, it displays both of the most distinctive architectural styles of the period: Classicism and Art Deco.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Minnesota
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Pleasant spot to see art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

The Frist Center is a nice venue to see art exhibitions. They do not have an extensive free art museum like some cities, but instead have traveling exhibitions, which are always excellent. There is a good cafe on site.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    93
    25
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“More than a museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This museum is a cultural experience that will give as much to children as adults. The 3rd floor is where you'll fin a large interactive art room for children that adults will have fum with too. The building is part of Nashville history as well. If you live in the area a membership pays itself off with regular visits.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Go for the architecture too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We arrived while exhibits were in transition, so were offered half price entry. The Goya Napoleonic War etchings were perfectly balanced against the incredible Steve Mumford drawings from Afghanistan and Iraq. As the parent of a Canadian airman who did a tour in Afghanistan, I found the honesty in the drawings incredibly moving.

But we were truly amazed by the building itself: a perfect art deco post office lovingly cared for in its current incarnation as visual arts centre.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Frist Supports Our Troops...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

...in thought, art and deed. Recently I visited the Frist with a National Female Veterans group which included WWII veterans. I am currently serving. I was SO impressed with our groups treatment as we toured the East West exhibit & Steve Mumford's amazing war art with our own tour guide. She indicated that the Frist honors military service by having frequent free Veterans events. I had a meaningful and memorable experience and appreciate the Frist's treatment of the US military and veterans. Thank You.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great art venue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a remarkable venue for the display of the visual arts. I have attended several wonderful displays of art at the Frist Center, and am amazed at the well-known art displays held there ... Allow yourselves plenty of time for this affordable venue!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Frist Center for Visual Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frist Center for Visual Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.