We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the architecture too” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frist Center for Visual Arts

Frist Center for Visual Arts
919 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203-3822 (Downtown Nashville)
615-244-3340
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 253 things to do in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Since opening in 2001, the Frist Center for Visual Arts has hosted a spectacular array of art from around the world. Not only an important cultural focal point for the city of Nashville, it is also a significant architectural structure, occupying one of Nashville’s great historic landmarks, the former main post office. Constructed from 1933 to 1934 under the direction of the local architectural firm of Marr & Holman, it displays both of the most distinctive architectural styles of the period: Classicism and Art Deco.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Go for the architecture too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We arrived while exhibits were in transition, so were offered half price entry. The Goya Napoleonic War etchings were perfectly balanced against the incredible Steve Mumford drawings from Afghanistan and Iraq. As the parent of a Canadian airman who did a tour in Afghanistan, I found the honesty in the drawings incredibly moving.

But we were truly amazed by the building itself: a perfect art deco post office lovingly cared for in its current incarnation as visual arts centre.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    105
    26
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Frist Supports Our Troops...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

...in thought, art and deed. Recently I visited the Frist with a National Female Veterans group which included WWII veterans. I am currently serving. I was SO impressed with our groups treatment as we toured the East West exhibit & Steve Mumford's amazing war art with our own tour guide. She indicated that the Frist honors military service by having frequent free Veterans events. I had a meaningful and memorable experience and appreciate the Frist's treatment of the US military and veterans. Thank You.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great art venue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a remarkable venue for the display of the visual arts. I have attended several wonderful displays of art at the Frist Center, and am amazed at the well-known art displays held there ... Allow yourselves plenty of time for this affordable venue!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“SMALL COLLECTION, AMAZING ART DECO BUILDING”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

It is an incredible art deco building, really worth a visit. There is an eclectic collection with nice paintings (nice Monet´s). People is very kind and helpful, there were no crowds so the visit is really peaceful.
Could be the audioguide explanations are a little bit long

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great small museum with rotating exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

You can only review the exhibits you saw as they change out frequently. I saw the Looking East: Western Artists exhibit which was excellent. Had many fabulous impressionist paintings and showed the link between East and Western art that I had never thought about. Steve Mumford's War Journals were also excellent- pen and watercolor sketches from his time in Iraq and Afghanistan primarily. Worth a visit when you're in town but check out what is showing first.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Frist Center for Visual Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frist Center for Visual Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.