We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frist Center for Visual Arts

Frist Center for Visual Arts
919 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203-3822 (Downtown Nashville)
615-244-3340
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 96 Attractions in Nashville
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Since opening in 2001, the Frist Center for Visual Arts has hosted a spectacular array of art from around the world. Not only an important cultural focal point for the city of Nashville, it is also a significant architectural structure, occupying one of Nashville’s great historic landmarks, the former main post office. Constructed from 1933 to 1934 under the direction of the local architectural firm of Marr & Holman, it displays both of the most distinctive architectural styles of the period: Classicism and Art Deco.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
130 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We enjoyed seeing this small museum. It has a good location and is a nice place for a quick visit. There weren't many visitors but it was a weekday and hopeful more people enjoy this place on the weekend.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    93
    25
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful exhibit, small space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

While the actual exhibit on prehistoric American art was beautifully laid out and thoughtful, I was surprised at the lack of permanent exhibits (besides ArtQuest and the gift shop...). My husband and I were hoping to spend a few hours in here, but we were in and out in 45 minutes. Worth the trip, but feel free to plan something else for the same afternoon.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, Iowa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Art Deco Building!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a great art museum to visit. The building itself is a work of art. The works they pull in are really interesting but be aware that they need a copy editor for their explanations and sometimes even their plastic applique writing on the walls.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee, United States
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This place never fails to delight! It always has all kinds of exhibit for everyone! Check their schedule to see what is available for you and your family! Don't miss this place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Culture Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

A cold and rainy Saturday afternoon prompted my husband and I to seek an indoor activity. We were fortunate the Rembrandt and Dutch Masters of the Golden Age, and Art of Ancient Americas were on exhibit. Both well organized, excellent historical content, and fine examples well researched. We were surprised to find this gem in the middle of CW music city. Formerly a post office, the Frist is a fine example of adaptive reuse architecture. Do not make the mistake of passing this up when in town.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frist Center for Visual Arts also viewed

 

Been to Frist Center for Visual Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frist Center for Visual Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.