We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Our Favorites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Flats - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Urban Flats
610 12th Avenue S, Nashville, TN
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Beaufort, SC
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“One of Our Favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Great atmosphere - - urban chic located in the "Gulch", a relatively newly renovated part of Nashville. Their flatbreads are fantastic as well as their selection of appetizers. A can't miss experience loaded with the young and trendy.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“I keep going back and I'm not sure why”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

It's probably the convenient location to my office. The food here looks better on the menu than it delivers. The flatbreads are the best bet. The bar is overpriced and servers are very friendly but not operating at a professional level (aspiring songwriters, maybe? They do try hard). Wine-down Wednesday is fun - $20 for 8 tasting pours and an hors d'oeuvre buffet. Valet park for tip - a better deal than the pay-to-park garage.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food was great, service not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I'd heard many positive things about Urban Flats, and the food definitely did not disappoint. However ... our party of three was seated immediately since we had reservations, but then we had to wait about 15 minutes before a server even said hello, let alone bring glasses of water. It was a fairly busy Sunday afternoon (Mother's Day), but the restaurant was nowhere near being full. When the server finally came to our table, he took our drink orders but rushed away before we could order our food or ask any questions. We placed our orders when he returned -- but then he came back a full 15 minutes later (we still didn't have our salads, btw) to tell us that the kitchen was out of one of the entrees we'd ordered. A new item was selected and the salads finally arrived, then about another 15 minutes later the entrees arrived. There was never any type of explanation or apology offered by the server, and no manager seemed to be anywhere in sight.

I will say the food was AMAZING, and had the service been better I wouldn't hesitate to give an overall "Excellent" rating. The atmosphere is great and the prices are reasonable. Because of these things, I will definitely return in hopes that I just caught the staff on a (very) off day.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Pizza with a twist!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Loved the menu selections. Flatbread pizzas, awesome. Pick a flat and pick half a salad, you can't go wrong. There were three of us and everyone chose something different so we could all have a taste of several items. The starter we shared was the flatbread dips. Four spreads with a whole wheat flatbread. Delicious!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Very Mediocre, this place won't last”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

I took my wife, collegiate son and his friends to Urban Flats February 11, 2012. The first thing I noticed was the decibel level of the place, it was incredibly LOUD. The floors are concrete and there isn't any baffling devices on the ceiling. What a racket! I did , however, have a very competently made cocktail before being seated and the hostess was marvelous in providing a table for 6.

Unfortunately it went downhill from there. Sevice at this point was slow and indifferent. Out appetizers were decent - the tomato/cheese dip being the best. The flatbread is basically an individual pizza with various toppings. One in our crowd had been there before and asked for extra sauce, a great move because these pizzas, or flatbreadm whatever, were very dry. All of them were so evidently this is an effort to skimp on ingredients? We had to ask for our food, and was told the kitchen was backed up ... the waitress spilled the extra sauce ordered on the member of our party who ordered it .. not an apology to be had.

then I got the wrong bill and had to get that corrected by now an increasingly surly waitress. If you get Leslie ask for someone else.

Given the combination of uninspiring fare and indifferent service I can't see this place lasting long in the very competitive area they are located.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Flats also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Flats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.