We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A logger's dream house” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fontanel Mansion

Fontanel Mansion
4225 Whites Creek Pike, Nashville, TN 37189
+1 615-724-1600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 122 Attractions in Nashville
Type: Architectural Buildings
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Fontanel Mansion is a 27,000 square foot log home formerly owned by Country Music Hall of Fame(R) member Barbara Mandrell, and is Nashville's only country music mansion tour giving visitors a sneak peek into the lives of country music greats. The home, situated on the 136 acre property, is nestled in the rolling hills of the Whites Creek Valley. With The Inn at Fontanel, the Woods Amphitheater, Pritchard's Distillery the Pepsi Studio Gallery, Cafe Fontanella, Goo Goo Outpost, AdventureWorks Ziplines, The Trails and Metro Parks Greenway, it is easy to see why Fontanel is becoming one of Nashville's premier destinations. We offer a family and dog friendly atmosphere located just minutes from downtown Nashville in Whites Creek.
Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A logger's dream house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

As everyone before has stated - an extraordinary house. Logs shipped in from out west in a beautiful setting - almost reminds me of Frank Lloyd Wright location. Hands on , you can touch everything. Even met Barbara Mandrell's daughter who helps manage the house.

Looks like it would be an interesting place to see an outdoor concert too. Willie's coming soon.

The only thing that out of place - part of the building is set up to honor the current owners - 2 bedrooms set aside to show tribute to all their accomplishments and all the people they manage.
They are legends in the country music industry and want you to know it.

Overall a great 2-3 hour stop.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    711
    132
    34
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nothing like I expected... ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed the tour of the mansion! We loved the laid back atmosphere, and our tour guide, Chris, was most knowledgeable and went out of his way to make sure that we enjoyed our time! He even stayed after his last tour to make sure we were able to tour the bus. Can't say enough great things about both, the tour, and our guide!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, New Hampshire
1 review
“Beautiful, humbling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Steve gave us an excellent tour, very knowledgeable and an enjoyable musician! Home is impressive construction, elegant but practical.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So Many Great Surprises!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I expected to see a place that was just where Barbara Mandrell used to live. There's that, but there is so much more! The largest log home in the world...mementos from all her famous friends, from both Country Music *and* other walks of life. A special treat is how so much of the tour allows "hands on" interaction, and pictures are encouraged. You might take the tour for one reason but there are many reasons you should. Special thanks to tour guide Steven Mogck for his great knowledge and kindness, and his patience in answering so many questions. A definite "must see" in Music City, along with some lunch at the Cafe before or after the tour.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Best Nashville attraction for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The splendor of the mansion is equaled only by the tour guide. An undiscovered talent, Steven Whitson not only exudes Southern hospitality, he also performs a few soul filled songs. Our kids (10 & 12) were inspired and enjoyed Fontanel far more than any of the other tourist attractions in Nashville. Thank you Steven!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fontanel Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Fontanel Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontanel Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.