We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Many Great Surprises!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fontanel Mansion

Fontanel Mansion
4225 Whites Creek Pike, Nashville, TN 37189
+1 615-724-1600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 96 Attractions in Nashville
Type: Architectural Buildings, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fontanel Mansion is a 27,000 square foot log home formerly owned by Country Music Hall of Fame(R) member Barbara Mandrell, and is Nashville's only country music mansion tour giving visitors a sneak peek into the lives of country music greats. The home, situated on the 136 acre property, is nestled in the rolling hills of the Whites Creek Valley. With The Inn at Fontanel, the Woods Amphitheater, Pritchard's Distillery the Pepsi Studio Gallery, Cafe Fontanella, Goo Goo Outpost, AdventureWorks Ziplines, The Trails and Metro Parks Greenway, it is easy to see why Fontanel is becoming one of Nashville's premier destinations. We offer a family and dog friendly atmosphere located just minutes from downtown Nashville in Whites Creek.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So Many Great Surprises!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I expected to see a place that was just where Barbara Mandrell used to live. There's that, but there is so much more! The largest log home in the world...mementos from all her famous friends, from both Country Music *and* other walks of life. A special treat is how so much of the tour allows "hands on" interaction, and pictures are encouraged. You might take the tour for one reason but there are many reasons you should. Special thanks to tour guide Steven Mogck for his great knowledge and kindness, and his patience in answering so many questions. A definite "must see" in Music City, along with some lunch at the Cafe before or after the tour.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    835
    164
    43
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Best Nashville attraction for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The splendor of the mansion is equaled only by the tour guide. An undiscovered talent, Steven Whitson not only exudes Southern hospitality, he also performs a few soul filled songs. Our kids (10 & 12) were inspired and enjoyed Fontanel far more than any of the other tourist attractions in Nashville. Thank you Steven!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Largest Log Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This was Barbara Mandrell's home for years. The tour is very laid back. You can sit on the furniture, lay in the beds, and pick up and play guitars of famous artists. We enjoyed this place more than we thought we would. Worth the time and money.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

When we first arrived, we were treated like royalty. It was a Business trip that also had time for fun. I was with my wife, and there was not shortage of entertainment and privacy. We were very fortunate to be there when a fund raising event was going on for a local Montessori school. You never know which Super Star will show up at Fontanel. We met people that have played major rolls in shaping the music industry.

Thank you for a truly AMAZING time. We will see y'all again very soon.

Larry

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carluke, South Lanarkshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fontanel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We did the tour of Fontanel with our guide Stephen Whitson who knew the place like the back of his hand. Everything was very relaxed, no restrictions about photographs, touching things, even playing the many guitars on display was allowed. Stephen played and sang for us. We are hoping he will become a big country star some day as we bought 2 of his discs. The house is fabulous and well worth a visit. It even has its own shooting gallery.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontanel_Attractions, Manager at Fontanel Mansion, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thanks for your wonderful review! Come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fontanel Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Fontanel Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontanel Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.