We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Fontanel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fontanel Mansion

Fontanel Mansion
4225 Whites Creek Pike, Nashville, TN 37189
+1 615-724-1600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 123 Attractions in Nashville
Type: Architectural Buildings
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Fontanel Mansion is a 27,000 square foot log home formerly owned by Country Music Hall of Fame(R) member Barbara Mandrell, and is Nashville's only country music mansion tour giving visitors a sneak peek into the lives of country music greats. The home, situated on the 136 acre property, is nestled in the rolling hills of the Whites Creek Valley. With The Inn at Fontanel, the Woods Amphitheater, Pritchard's Distillery the Pepsi Studio Gallery, Cafe Fontanella, Goo Goo Outpost, AdventureWorks Ziplines, The Trails and Metro Parks Greenway, it is easy to see why Fontanel is becoming one of Nashville's premier destinations. We offer a family and dog friendly atmosphere located just minutes from downtown Nashville in Whites Creek.
Carluke, South Lanarkshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fontanel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We did the tour of Fontanel with our guide Stephen Whitson who knew the place like the back of his hand. Everything was very relaxed, no restrictions about photographs, touching things, even playing the many guitars on display was allowed. Stephen played and sang for us. We are hoping he will become a big country star some day as we bought 2 of his discs. The house is fabulous and well worth a visit. It even has its own shooting gallery.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontanel_Attractions, Manager at Fontanel Mansion, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thanks for your wonderful review! Come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    776
    152
    40
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
North East, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I took two teenage girls, 13 and 18 who had no idea who Barbara Mandrell was! Steven, our tour guide, was amazing. He knew so much about the house, the family and the current owners. He took the time to explain to my girls all about Barbara Mandrell and just how popular she was at the time. He made her real to them. Then Barbara's daughter Jamie showed up and took the time to talk to my girls about what it was like growing up there. She was so personable! Steven sang a couple of songs for us during the tour and we all really liked that. Maybe someday we can say we knew him when! It was so nice to be able to touch the things and really get a feel for the house and just a glimpse of what it was like to live there. We finished with lunch at the Cafe Fontanella and our waiter Jamie was so friendly! He sang us a song too! We left there headed for the airport to end our trip and my 13 year old said "we met so many nice people today!" I think if we ever find ourselves in the area again, we will stop back by!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontanel_Attractions, Manager at Fontanel Mansion, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your day at Fontanel. It is such a compliment to read that you would come back next time you are in Nashville. I am so glad your teenagers had a wonderful time! We appreciate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Probably wouldn't go again...they have turned it into more of a museum....not as good as if Barbara Mandrel was still there.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontanel_Attractions, Manager at Fontanel Mansion, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
I'm sorry you didn't have the greatest experience. We appreciate your time and your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The Fontanel Mansion is a must see when in the Nashville area. The tour is amazing and don't forget to stop in at Cafe Fontanella!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontanel_Attractions, Manager at Fontanel Mansion, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your time and business. Come back some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chattanooga, tn
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“I would like to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I really enjoyed this tour! Our guide, Steven, was so sweet and informative. He did a great job memorizing our names and made us feel right at home. It is nice to go to a museum and be able to touch things or even sit on couches, etc. I also loved that he sang for us. He did an excellent job! I would like to go back again some day. This is definitely a great thing to do while in Nashville. I highly recommend!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontanel_Attractions, Manager at Fontanel Mansion, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
We do hope that you come back some day and visit us! It seems like you had a wonderful time and I am so happy you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fontanel Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Fontanel Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontanel Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.