We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mansion tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fontanel Mansion

Fontanel Mansion
4225 Whites Creek Pike, Nashville, TN 37189
+1 615-724-1600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 260 things to do in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fontanel Mansion is a 27,000 square foot log home formerly owned by Country Music Hall of Fame(R) member Barbara Mandrell, and is Nashville's only country music mansion tour giving visitors a sneak peek into the lives of country music greats. The home, situated on the 136 acre property, is nestled in the rolling hills of the Whites Creek Valley. With The Inn at Fontanel, the Woods Amphitheater, Pritchard's Distillery the Pepsi Studio Gallery, Cafe Fontanella, Music City Ziplines by Adventure Works, The Trails and Metro Parks Greenway, it is easy to see why Fontanel is becoming one of Nashville's premier destinations. We offer a family and dog friendly atmosphere located just minutes from downtown Nashville in Whites Creek. Closed on Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day.
Tyler, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mansion tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a great opportunity to see the expansive log home that was built by Barbara Mandrell. She and her family lived here for many years and the home is filled with memorabilia and awards from her career. Steven is an excellent tour guide and gives you lots of information. This is a must see attraction.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    961
    187
    56
    13
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Don't Miss this Behind the Scenes of Country Music History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This attraction will make you feel like you've just spent a personal afternoon with Country royalty. If you visit Nashville because you're a Country music fan, this is only second behind the Hall of Fame as a "must see". The guides let you actually sit behind the piano, and touch the items that remain in Barbara Mandrell's home. Not only Barbara, but others are represented here. Don't miss this fine experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontanel_Attractions, Manager at Fontanel Mansion, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
It seems like you really appreciate what Fontanel Mansion has to offer. You really can step into the home that Barbara Mandrell lived in. You can even 'Eat Crackers' in her bed. lol Thanks for your great review and come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fascinating insight into Barbara Mandrel's life and family while living in Nashville.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Our tour guide was Steve Whitson. Steve provided a very insightful and friendly tour of the mansion. He was very knowledgeable and had personal connection with friends of the Mandrel family which was very entertaining. His warm and upbeat personality made for a great afternoon. His spontaneous playing of the guitar with one of his own songs was especially delightful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice tour, but rated too high on TA”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a tour where they ask you to go on TA and rate, which gives them an artificially high rating. It was interesting, but certainly not #2 thing to do in Nashville. Our guide, Steve, is a struggling artist, like so many others here. He did a event job telling us about the log cabin.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This was an awesome tour, plus there is so much more you can do than just the tour.

The tour started off with a bus ride up to the mansion. The bus driver was very nice and informative. When we got to the mansion we had our tour guide Steven waiting for us. He was Great with all his knowledge of the place, from Barbara to everything in the mansion to the new owners. It is true you are allowed to touch things. If you have Steven as a tour guide get him to sing. He sang for us and I am so glad he did. He is such a great singer I bought his cd there and I am loving every song on it.

After the tour I went walking on the beautiful trails that are on the property. They also have frisbee/disc golf on the property. After the hiking I went to eat at the restaurant. The food and service was great.

So when you come and do the tour, make sure to save time to take a hike, play disc golf and have a fabulous meal.

Don't forget your triple a card for your discount.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fontanel Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontanel Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.