We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice amphitheater--great show” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fontanel Mansion

Fontanel Mansion
4225 Whites Creek Pike, Nashville, TN 37189
+1 615-724-1600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 260 things to do in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fontanel Mansion is a 27,000 square foot log home formerly owned by Country Music Hall of Fame(R) member Barbara Mandrell, and is Nashville's only country music mansion tour giving visitors a sneak peek into the lives of country music greats. The home, situated on the 136 acre property, is nestled in the rolling hills of the Whites Creek Valley. With The Inn at Fontanel, the Woods Amphitheater, Pritchard's Distillery the Pepsi Studio Gallery, Cafe Fontanella, Music City Ziplines by Adventure Works, The Trails and Metro Parks Greenway, it is easy to see why Fontanel is becoming one of Nashville's premier destinations. We offer a family and dog friendly atmosphere located just minutes from downtown Nashville in Whites Creek. Closed on Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day.
Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice amphitheater--great show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We visited Nashville recently and took a chance on getting flying in and getting to the amphitheater on a Friday night for a 7:00 p.m. show--glad we did! Big and Rich with Gretchen Wilson was a great show. Nice amphitheater, nice summer night.

Big and Rich were hot, had a very varied act, but it was Gretchen who made the difference. Sweet voice that could go to strident rocker--great stage presence.

They could use some more food vendors--home made hot dog stands for good causes isn't quite enough.

Didn't go to the Mansion--the show was the thang, y'all!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    961
    188
    56
    13
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“You gotta see this to believe it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

I remember seeing footage of the construction of Fontanel on television & Oprah with Barbara and Ken Mandrell leading the way and trying to imagine it's splendor.

Well, you gotta see this place to believe it because it totally catches you off guard & makes you think.
Yes, it's a big house with the requisite bedrooms, bathrooms, dining room, gigantic game room, multiple kitchens and fireplaces. But, it feels more like a cruise ship at rest or elongated tour bus, hiding inside a big Lincoln Log home. After a while you forget about Barbara and Ken and get tickled at the humongous logs protruding everywhere and the squeezing in of another little area or room. It's a cool house, (except in the pool area where it's a good 15-20 degrees hotter), and feels like a genuine home despite the "multiples" that necessitate celebrity life.

I loved the youngest child's bedroom & window, very cozy and inviting but if I'd lived there I'd want one of those balconies off the bedroom like the others had too. That being said, the back bedroom covered in black fabric wallpaper felt like a nightclub/recording studio & seemed odd. Odder still is the last minute shower with a log ceiling overhang only a beaver could love cause no one else could stand up in it & shower unless you're leaning against the shower door. LOL.

Not to mention the new owners of the house advertising their MusicMafia clientele at every turn so the lines blur with musicalities. Yes you get Barbara Mandrell, Gretchen Wilson, Big & Rich, Alabama, a fine art painter and wood carver to boot. And be sure to take a look at all the autographs & pictures in the game room of every celebrity who passed through. It's quite full of industry!

Kudos to our knowledgable tour guide, Steven, who was pleasant enough & sang Barbara's hit "I was country when country wasn't cool" with an awarded Gibson guitar making an imtimate atmosphere in the game room I wouldn't have thought possible.

And if Barbara and Ken ever want to see their house in smaller view, they should visit my cousin Joey in Portland. He has a very large game (hunting) room with outside patio/grill too. LOL

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Woods Amphitheater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

My brother, two friends and I saw Steely Dan at Woods Amphitheater at Fontanel last night.The whole experience was wonderful.The Dan never fails to put on a great show but I was really pleased with the way the ingress and egress happened.I was also impressed with the sound!I am a musician and have done sound.I am usually let down by sound at many concerts.Bass and drums being too loud for the mix.Anyway,not so at The Woods.It was right on!If you are in nashville check and see if there are any shows you might want to see and go.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

This house is amazing! Steve was our guide, a very tallented and informative young man. He made the tour fun and informational.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fontanel Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontanel Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.