We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cookies yum, staff great, room ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Nashville

Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo Nashville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Nashville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Union Street, Nashville, TN 37201 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 150 hotels in Nashville
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Cookies yum, staff great, room ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed at Indigo for 3 nights in May. First impressions were pretty decent. The lobby and restaurant are very modern looking. We were warmly greeted by hotel staff and quickly given our room and parking information. We parked in the garage next to it for $16 / day, which isn't too bad in my mind for a downtown location.

We ended up in a handicapped room, which isn't the best, but sufficient. I didn't really feel like complaining about it. The room was also of the modern style, which I didn't really like. Someone mentioned the tap water...oh my gosh, it is awful. I also didn't like the fact there was no fridge in the room and the fact that the air conditioner is really loud. I find the AC units in hotels are pretty hit or miss, this was a big miss.

We had to print our Opry tickets out at the business center which was quick and easy.

Summary:

We really liked the friendly staff and the cookies that always seemed to be fresh out of the oven. We also really liked the location.

We didn't like the style of the room, the tap water is gross (yes hotel staff should warn us), and the air conditioner was wicked loud.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    160
    72
    24
    13
See reviews for
35
191
16
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a Memorial Day weekend get away in Nashville. Our room was very dirty. The toliet had not been cleaned, nor had the shower. The second day of our stay, housekeeping did not even come. We had left at 9am, and returned at 4pm to an unmade bed.

The hotel is nice because it has live music every night. The food was okay, and decently priced for a hotel. All of the bartenders were friendly except for one. She was openly talking badly about customers infront of other customers.

The location of this hotel would be good, if there was anything on the immediate streets around it open. It's a quick walk to the action and all of the museums, but I would not advise walking alone, bc most of the side streets are deserted with not much open (there are also a lot of homeless people wandering around).

The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Upon check out when I was upset about the cleanliness of my room, they did accomodate me with reward points. None the less, I probably would not stay at this hotel if I were to visit Nashville again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Nashville, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear Nkhealy1517,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is nice to know you chose our hotel for its convenient location to the museums and other attractions, and the live music featured nightly. We are sorry we fell below your expectations regarding the cleanliness and housekeeping services. As an IHG Rewards member, you are one of our most valuable guests and I have shared your comments with our entire team to ensure improvements for any future visit you might have to Nashville. We look forward to welcoming you back for a future, positive stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Staff was great, rooms were big and clean (a little cold since the floor was marble). We slept great and the room was nice and quiet. A little pricey, but we would stay here again if in town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Got a late start on hotel reservations for the Final Four this year, ended up at this hotel. Strong location, close and within walking distance to most of the things we needed to get too. Staff was nice and helpful, there was a bar in the lobby, along w/ some convenience type food/drink products. The bar was stocked to the high end in terms of Scotch and almost no Gin which was unfortunate. Probably a good think on this trip. Newspapers were hard to find, the local kind. We didn't eat here so can't speak to the quality of the food

The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the walk-in shower nice. The bathroom counter was too small and they need hooks to hang your towels on closer to the shower. The coffee pot was w/o instructions but the woman who came to help was friendly and took care of making the machine work quickly. Not everyone has a Keurig and now I know why.

Compared to most boutique hotels we stay at, this one was pretty vanilla. I suppose the exception would be they had live music in the dining/lounge area on Friday and Saturday night if you are into that sort of scene. Like one of the previous reviewers noted, Printers Alley is just yards away if you are looking for bar/music entertainment. the Tennessee Museum is about 4 blocks away and that looked very interesting but I was sort of confined to quarters this year taking it easy on this trip. We would stay here again if we had too, but it isn't a destination kind of place. Rooms were expensive and at least for us, the amenities were not worth the extra expense

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I stayed four nights in this hotel with a group of extended family. The staff was very competent and attentive. The hotel is in an older building and the layout of the floors is somewhat of a maze. I had to search the whole floor to find my room. The room was fine, the bed comfortable and I had no problems with the television or the plumbing. One member of my group had a problem with the television in their room. There was exterior maintenance going on during my stay so that the sidewalk was covered with a scaffold.
The lobby is adjacent to the hotel lounge and restaurant. There is a library of red bound books in the lounge in keeping with the hotel's decorating scheme of printing. The Printer's Alley is next to the hotel. There is live music offered in the bar every night and jazz during the weekend brunch. There is free lemonade in the lobby.
Other reviewers have mentioned the two towers with separate elevator banks that only work for the rooms in that tower. My group had four rooms with two in each tower.
I drove there and chose to park in garage at 16.00 per night instead of 22.00 for the valet parking as I didn't plan on driving in town. The garage has direct access to the hotel.
The hotel is within walking distance of many attractions and restaurants. The bar district is on Broadway and many restaurants on Church Street. The staff made some recommendations to our group that were helpful.

Room Tip: If you have multiple rooms, try and get them in one tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Indigo Nashville for a boys trip a few weeks ago. The location of the hotel is fantastic. Its a few blocks away from Broadway and 2nd, but removed enough to be quiet. Printers Alley is literally around the corner. The hotel is a converted bank, so it has some very interesting architectural features and quirks. Definitely going for that "boutique" vibe. The rooms were spacious and the bathrooms were very nice and modern (huge showers!). The best parts about the hotel were the live music and the free, freshly baked cookies at the front desk. Seriously....those cookies were amazing.

There is so much live music everywhere in Nashville (even Starbucks and Subway have a dude playing guitar in the corner). The hotel has live musicians playing both at the breakfast/brunch buffet (...and she was really great btw) and at night, when the bar opens up. It was a great way to start the night by having some beers and listening to some talented singers right in the hotel.

Because it is two towers, it can get a bit tricky if you have friends staying in a different tower than you. There are two separate elevator banks, and your card does not work in the other set of elevators if you aren't staying in that tower. To get to my friends' room, I had to go up to the gym floor (the one floor you can go to in that tower if your room isnt there) and then walk down the stairs. That quirk is probably my one "complaint" about the Indigo. All in all, it was a very nice stay and the staff there were all super friendly and always give you that classic "southern hospitality".

We had originally booked our stay at the Gaylord Opryland Resort (every hotel was booked/over $450pn bc of the NCAA Womens Final Four). So happy we cancelled and switched to this hotel. It was great staying downtown and not having to cab it back after the bars closed..

Room Tip: If your room is in one tower, you cannot get into the other tower if you have friends/family staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Indigo service staff was friendly and helpful for first time visitors to Nashville. The room had a slick modern design, was comfortable and most importantly clean. The sheets were soft and the towels were fluffy and the Aveda toiletries were a nice touch. Best of all for visitors to a new city was the location. We could walk to all of the venues on 2nd Ave and Broadway. We had an overall great stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Indigo Nashville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Nashville

Address: 301 Union Street, Nashville, TN 37201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 150 hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo Nashville 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown business district, Printers Alley and 2nd Avenue- at the corner of 3rd Avenue and Union Street-close to all major attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Indigo Nashville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Nashville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.