We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretentious in the Extreme” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Nashville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Nashville to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Nashville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Union Street, Nashville, TN 37201 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #31 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Beccles, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pretentious in the Extreme”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Indigo for two nights and everything about Nashville is great – except Hotel Indigo! First impressions were OK – we were met by the valet to park the car as soon as we drew up outside. Reception and check-in was good, but from there it went downhill. It is clear that Hotel Indigo is all about presentation – to the detriment of functionality. A few of the issues regarding our room 516:
1. The room is designed for two people, so why does it have only one chair and nowhere else to sit?
2. There was no hotel services directory in the room.
3. There was no bath, only a shower.
4. No microwave or refrigerator (the hotel amenities stated ‘kitchenette’).
5. The air con was noisy – with no controls to regulate it or turn it off.
6. There was no safe in the room.
7. There were no rails in the bathroom to hang towels. Once used, they had to be thrown on the floor to be replaced. (Clearly Hotel Indigo does not have an eco-friendly policy.)
8. No breakfast included in the price – and the hotel restaurant was very expensive.

On the first night, as there was only one chair and we wanted to eat a carry out in our room, we asked for another chair. No response. A second request did eventually result in another chair being delivered but it took a full 30 minutes from the first request for it to arrive. Then, the housekeeping (or lack of!). We left our room to go sightseeing at 8:30am on the one full day we were in Nashville. We returned at 1:00pm for a short respite to find that the room had not been serviced. Thinking that it would be done later, we put a ‘Do not disturb’ notice on the door while we had a short nap (a big mistake). We left again at 2:30pm and did not return until 11:00pm to find that the room had still not been serviced! The room was unoccupied for 13 hours that day and nobody had bothered to check. On leaving the following morning, a request was made to speak to the manager and a complaint was registered. He said that the room was not serviced as we had a ‘Do not disturb’ notice on the door. The fact that it was there for only 90 minutes during a full day did not seem to matter. You get one chance for the room to be serviced and that’s it! He did promise to investigate further and respond by email – however, nothing has been received some 17 days later!

Hotel Indigo is pretentious, not functional. If you want “pretty, pretty”, go to Hotel Indigo. If you want a comfortable hotel room with good facilities in Nashville, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndigoNashGM, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Nashville, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Indigo Nashville. We appreciate all comments that will help us to continue to grow as a team and offer better a product and service to our guests. I sincerely apologize for some of the areas in which you felt we fell short as we always try to we offer top notch service each and everyday. I have shared all of your comments with my staff and they will utilize all of your comments in upcoming meetings/trainings.

To follow up on some of your amenity concerns: The Hotel Indigo Nashville is apart of a Green Initiative to continue to reduce our footprint. All of our rooms are equipped with a minimum of 3 towel hooks located behind the door to ensure that our guests have the opportunity to not have their towels replaced if they choose to be a part of the program. We also offer an all encompassing guest directory in each room that sits flip top style on each desk top. I am sorry you were frustrated back the lack of some of the amenities you were hoping for and we will continue to keep them in mind as we have room to add additional items in the room. Again, thank you for your feedback and your patronage. We hope you with visit Nashville again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    184
    80
    27
    15
See reviews for
41
226
19
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Depew, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We loved this hotel. It was a great location and beautiful. My only complaints are that were were no basic amenities in the rooms (mini fridge, microwave), NO POOL, and that parking was $22 a day! Other that that I would definitely stay again at this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay higher up in tower two. We were glad we read others reviews and chose to do this!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndigoNashGM, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Nashville, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for the great review! I love seeing the tips to other travelers. I hope you will come again the next time you come to Nashville. We would love to have you here. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great, friendly staff. Nice decor. I'd say our room was a well-appointed small room. Cool shower with no door or curtain. High quality towels. The hotel is at one end of Printer's Alley, which is where we found the most "real Nashville" place, the Fiddle and Steel. The hotel is definitely close enough to Broadway to run to the room after dinner, etc, and get right back to the night life. Our view of the huge lawn in front of the Tennessee Supreme Court didn't hurt the stay. We used valet parking, which includes unlimited in and out privileges for $22. I wouldn't jack with it but, $16 a night for self park is cheap in Nashville, probably anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndigoNashGM, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Nashville, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thanks for the great review. I love the view you are speaking of from the room you are speaking of. That same lawn in a couple weeks will have concerts every Thursday Night through the Fall. Nashville is a super place for finding things to do. Thank you again for the review and for staying with us. Hope to see you again with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were going through Nashville on our way to Jazz Fest in New Orleans last year and decided to splurge on a really nice hotel. The reviews for Hotel Indigo were great and with great reason. The rooms were completely modern with trendy wall sized paintings and pictures all over the place. The bathroom was neatly done, although the shower had no door on it (it was designed that way, romantically). That made it awkward for us because none of the 4 people in my group were dating, but it ended up not being an issue.

The hotel bar was ridiculously priced. A double shot of grey goose vodka (top shelf) and cranberry ended up running be $22.50 without tip. I switched to beer after that.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndigoNashGM, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Nashville, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your great review. We hope the next time you find your self in Nashville or on your way through for something special you will stay with us again. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just loved the decor in this Hotel & the location is gold, only a couple of blocks from Broadway, so very convenient.

Staff were ok, with Blake last night being the most friendly & making a genuine effort to engage customers. The others we're ok on the surface, but scraped the surface let alone try to dazzle.

The highlight for me was returning after a disappointing time on Broadway trying to find music that I could tolerate (not a huge fan of country).

A few independent musicians in the lobby area/restaurant downstairs made my night. What I thought was going to be a fizzler ended up being a pleasant surprise.

The bands/artists were awesome & a bunch of hearing impaired people came to listen, with a translator signing throughout the performances with gusto. What an enlightening experience that turned out to be.

On top of that Julie was rushing around like mad managing the tables, putting in a tremendous effort to keep everyone happy - including me & clearly I was. Well done to her!

Dinner was great tasting & great value.

Exceeded my expectations overall.

Thanks Hotel Indigo, you rock!

Room Tip: Standard room was unbelievable. I got a room in a corner of the building on it's own (no neighb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndigoNashGM, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Nashville, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! I will be sure to share it with everyone including the musicians. They will love to hear it. I am glad you enjoyed yourself and hope if you find yourself in Nashville again you will consider staying with us again. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW IN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We only stayed here one night and I loved the hotel. The self park garage was convenient and reasonable for downtown. The room was comfortable and very nice. Loved having a Keurig in the room. I only wish they had at least a continental breakfast included. We like to eat something light before starting out for the day. The area was quiet. The staff that we spoke to were all very nice. We didn't have any special requests so can't comment on that. If you want to be downtown this location is OK.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndigoNashGM, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Nashville, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for the great review. Its a great charming hotel right in the middle of it all which is the best of both worlds. We hope you will come back to visit us soon the next time you are in Nashville. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I loved this hotel because it has charm and character. The building is old, but they have done a great job in keeping the old feel blended with the new. I loved the colors of the room. The one wall was decorated with a mural. It gave the room a totally different feel than just a regular hotel room. The stand alone shower was great also giving the feeling of more like home and less like a hotel room. The hotel did a great job paying attention to small details that added up to a unique experience. Having a Keurig coffee maker in the room was another nice touch. The room had tile floors which did make it seem a little noisy. That was my only complaint, but I would definitely stay here again and look for other Indigo hotels when I travel. The downtown location is great near to everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndigoNashGM, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Nashville, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review the hotel. The charm of the hotel is why we all love working here as well. Its so unique and unlike anything you will find in Nashville. I appreciate your great review and we hope to have you visit us again soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Nashville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Nashville

Address: 301 Union Street, Nashville, TN 37201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo Nashville 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown business district, Printers Alley and 2nd Avenue- at the corner of 3rd Avenue and Union Street-close to all major attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Nashville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Nashville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.