We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Hotel in Downtown Nashville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Nashville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo Nashville to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Nashville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Union Street, Nashville, TN 37201 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #31 of 150 Hotels in Nashville
Florence, Kentucky
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Cool Hotel in Downtown Nashville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in this really cool downtown Nashville Hotel. Although Indigo is a small chain, no hotel is alike so they feel very boutique and unique. This historic building was originally an office building. Although it's been completely re-purposed and renovated in a very modern style, many original details remain which creates an interesting and artful blend of old and new. I particularly loved that the gorgeous terrazzo floors are preserved in the guestrooms. What a great alternative to carpet. They just gleam and shine. There is an area rug under the bed which is nice.

We were able to check in early and were given a room on the 3rd floor, on the front (Union Street) side of the hotel. Street noise and people talking on the sidewalk below could be heard since we were so low and the window glass is only single pane. We went back to the front desk and asked to be moved higher (PLEASE NOTE: DON'T USE THE BATHROOM or MESS ANYTHING UP if you want to be moved- they may not be as kind and helpful if housekeeping has to re-do anything). We were offered a 5th floor room on the side of the hotel. We checked it out, and while street noise was no longer a problem we ended up in a MUCH smaller, awkwardly laid out room. To make matters worse there was a brick "half-wall" right outside the window which I believe is part of the exterior's architecture. Great from the outside, but from inside it meant absolutely no view and very little natural light. SO, back to the front desk we go to get our first room back. By running the air conditioning system's fan continuously and closing the heavy blackout curtains, we were able to drown out most of the noise so we ended up sleeping just fine.

The location is superb- right around the corner from 2nd Ave. and only 4 blocks from Broadway. There are many art galleries close by on 5th Ave. and if that's your thing I highly recommend timing your stay with the Art Crawl which is the first Saturday of each month. You will be able to gallery hop for FREE all evening. We probably visited 20 studios that night. This hotel is also super-close to the pedestrian bridge over the river to LP Field if you're in town for a football game.

We did valet parking, and were charged $22 per day plus tax ($2.04/day).

Definitely a great option if you're looking for a non-traditional, non-cookie-cutter hotel with a convenient downtown location. The hotel and guestrooms are really beautiful. Just be sure to request a room as high up as possible, and away from the elevator/ice machine as is the case in any hotel if you're a light sleeper. Also keep in mind that the rooms vary in size and layout. If you're not satisfied with the first room assigned, consider checking out a different one before settling in.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    170
    76
    26
    14
See reviews for
40
205
18
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

ARRIVAL: Taxi from the airport to hotel approximately
US$25.
SECURITY: Anyone can walk into the hotel lobby and
take a lift to any floor as you only have to use your key
card to open your room door. Security is not so good.
We did not feel safe at this hotel as anyone could
walk in off the street and access the lifts to any floor.
Nashville on a Saturday night is extremely busy with
so many people about and there was at least 20 police
vehicles in the area and probably 100 visible police
officers to prevent crime. Drunks walking up and
down the streets until about 4am making lots of noise.
ROOMS: Rooms were very small with no space to
put anything. No in room safes. We paid $260 for
the first night but on inspection it was only worth
about $80 per night. Our rate included a full hot
breakfast but when we checked in they gave us a
$10 voucher each towards breakfast. It is not possible
to have breakfast for this price as it was a la carte
and you had to order from a menu - the coffee alone
was $2.00 plus tax. You also had to add a gratuity!
This was just a scam! The room we stayed in was
just so depressing my wife said "please get me out
of here".
INTERNET: No wireless connection could be made
from our room as the signal was too weak. Also no
cable connection could be made. We had to go
down to the business floor to get an internet
connection.
DEPARTURE: We were booked in for 4 nights but
after the first night we checked out and went to the
Holiday Inn Express on Broadway. We were able
to get an excellent room here for about $140 plus tax
and this price included full hot breakfast and reliable
in room internet connection and also a fridge in the
room.
OVERVIEW: Hotel Indigo was originally two banks
that were converted into a hotel so everything was
disjointed and did not flow properly. From our
experience at this hotel we would never stay at any
Indigo brand hotel ever again. Nothing but a scam
and probably 2½ star at the very most. I cannot
understand any of the other glowing reports on this
hotel as I think they must have been drinking their
bathwater when they wrote them.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

The Hotel Indigo downtown is an older building, but nicely renovated & decorated. The rooms are comfortable, and there's a nice bar in the lobby that has live music every night.

I'd recommend staying away from the elevators as the doors seem to be really loud (squeaky)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I had a weekend get away to Nashville on august the 13th 2011 and wanted a hotel close to all of the nightlife and fun things to do in downtown Nashville. Walking distance to 2nd ave and many great restaurants. This hotel met all i was looking for and more. The building is over 100 years old but the hotel was completed in 2009. The staff was very friendly and really enjoyed talking with Johnny the next morning at the restaurant over breakfast. The rooms were small but very well appointed and very comfortable beds and a really nice shower large enough for two, wish it had two shower heads or body misters but overall very very nice and i will be back again

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

The Hotel Indigo is terrific. It is about 3 blocks from the main street in Nashville (a short walk if it is not 99 degrees outside). The hotel staff was helpful and the room was spacious and very clean. There was a small business center and gym which were very convenient. The hotel restaurant had good food and nightly music. Overall, this is a great hotel and I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Very unimpressed overall and I am a huge fan of the Hotel Indigo unique brand. We arrived in the afternoon for a fun-filled night in downtown Nashville. Arriving at the hotel, I immediately fell in love with the renovating of an old office building into a hotel. As we pulled up, the bellman just stood by the front door. Finally, I told him we were checking in and would like to valet our car. I honestly felt it was a bother to him that we were there. He did not offer to take our bags. Another car pulled up behind us, and received the same treatment. The check in was quite seemless. We reached our room and I absolutely loved it. Very classy, comfortable, clean, and with a big bathroom and open shower - really impressive job on redoing the rooms. We had a corner room that overlooked the Courthouse. Quite nice. No swimming pool - didn't like that. Easily within walking distance of all the great Nashville downtown hangouts, great restaurants, or the stadium for a Titans game if you're in town for that. Safe location. Check out was not as smooth. And we were charged twice on our credit card for the room. I had to make several phone calls before the duplicate charge was credited back. Very frustrating and not even an apology from the Hotel.

Room Tip: Corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Stayed one night for business on a weekday as others were booked. Hotel is a recently remodeled circa 1900 skyscraper. Despite attractive lobby rooms feel unfinished and somewhat cold. View from fourteenth floor, however, is amazing.

The Hotel Indigo at West End near Vanderbilt is preferable and there are better options downtown.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Nashville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Nashville

Address: 301 Union Street, Nashville, TN 37201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 150 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo Nashville 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown business district, Printers Alley and 2nd Avenue- at the corner of 3rd Avenue and Union Street-close to all major attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Nashville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Nashville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.