We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“below par rooms area questionable” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge North

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge North
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   110 Maplewood Trace, Nashville, TN 37207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #99 of 150 Hotels in Nashville
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“below par rooms area questionable”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were not satisfied with the area in which the hotel was located.The hotel catered to a lot of extended stay local area guests.The guests stared at you as if they were looking to mug you or take away your possessions.Loud music was blaring from cars in the parking lot.The room had a bad odor and was not cleaned.The ambiance in the room felt like all furniture and bedspreads were years old.The front desk never did anything about the noise and music blaring in the parking lot even though we called them several times.All in all a very negative stay.The vanity sink was leaking and no hot water.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    26
    28
    12
    12
See reviews for
26
27
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

the hotel is located in a bad area of nashville.the desk clerk was very unprofessional.he looked liked he had just woken up and was in his dirty attire all wrinkled. When checking in it was like a burden to him that we came to disturb his sleep and was very rude.The room was in very dirty unkempt shape.when puliing sheets there were big holes and bed bugs and roaches crawling all over the beddings.there were people shouting loudly in the parking lot and rooms.the people were of strange behavior.drug dealers were swarming aroungd the property.we checked out from the property as they would not listen to our issues and did not refund us our money as desk clerk mentioned he had no authority to do so.he was good at taking our money when renting room .buyer beware stay away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here for two nights for a weekend trip to Nashville. I was worried, beacuse it was one of the only places we could find to stay, as there was a lot going on in Nashville when we stayed. It was clean, yes it smelled like smoke, but you know going in it's a smoking hotel. The staff was nice enough, they helped us find a taxi cab, but we didn't really rely on them for anthing else.It was $20 to take a cab into Nashville from here (including tip). many little fast food restaraunts close. The room has a fridge and a microwave. We were happy with the value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I felt like I got what I paid for. The building and furnishings are showing their age (cigarette burns in the clean blankets, TV that needed a few minutes to get going), but the area was quiet and a short drive into Nashville. Overall cleanliness was 7.5-8 out of 10. On the plus side, the wifi signal and temperature/ water pressure in the shower were both great. Nice to have a fridge and microwave too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

In fairness - we stayed only one night at this hotel, and it generally served its purpose (bed, bath, and a quick night's sleep). However, I would never stay here again.

I wasn't even really greeted upon check in. The clerk was on the phone (clearly a personal phone call), sitting behind a thick security wall of plexiglass, and honestly did not utter a word to me, other than slipping something through the little window for me to sign and muttering my room number. Fine - not the most hospitable, I can get over it.

Checked into our room and it reeked like smoke. I was prepared for this as I was told they only had smoking rooms available when I made the reservation. Fine, I was told ahead of time, I can get over it, even though it was nasty.

Went to unpack and low and behold - I found drugs and paraphernalia in one of the drawers. Seriously. Had my husband confirm what I was seeing and promptly packed up again and returned to the lobby. The clerk was still on the phone but quickly hung up when I told her what we'd found and that we wanted another room - stat. She was apologetic and quickly moved us to another room...a nonsmoking room in fact. Huh....thought I was told that none were available? Guess they make an exception when illegal drugs are found?

So we settled into our new, non smoking room. It was fine. Nothing fancy but was generally clean. Linens were poor quality but again, it was the Econo Lodge, I wasn't expecting much.

Throughout the night, there was a lot of "traffic" in and out of a room below us. I saw several cars come and go and it was clear to me that whomever was using that room was likely not a fellow traveler but rather someone conducting some sort of "business". It was very loud throughout the night.

This hotel is in a mixed area of Nashville - definitely some unsavory surroundings nearby. I probably wouldn't have felt as unsafe had I not discovered the drugs in room #1, and not witnessed all of "traffic" in the room below but truthfully, those two things, coupled with the surrounding neighborhood just made me a bit uneasy.

We didn't attempt the breakfast so I have no comment on that.

The room was cheap. The clerk was accomodating in moving us to another room. The rooms were "okay". But would I do it again? Absolutely not. Pay the extra money and stay elsewhere.

Also - general traveler tip....in some bigger cities, it's not a big deal to stay 5-7 miles away from downtown but this general location did not feel at all convenient to downtown. So if you're going to Nashville to check out the honky tonks, etc. - you really are better off to stay somewhere closer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

great experience and great rate. internet worked great in the room. room was clean and had amenities like shampoo, soap, and lotion. towels were clean and fluffy.
we didnt eat breakfast here so not sure about it

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

You have to love Econo Lodge - they are not fancy, and most could use a good update. But it always has the things you look for and need. Large room, fridge, microwave, a table and two chairs, and comfy beds. We also like the sink and vanity outside the tub/toilet area, and Econo Lodge usually has this arrangement.
We also like motels with outside entrances to the room - where you can park right in front of your door and you don't have to shlep your luggage up stairs and down long halls.
This Econo Lodge had it all. Nice size TV, two queen beds (they don't have any king beds) and an really great shower - pulsating water flow and lots of it. And high enough for a tall person to shower comfortably.
Was it fancy? No. And it could use some refurbishing attention. But it was a good night's sleep with all the things we look for in a room. Can't ask for much more - and at a great price.
Skip the breakfast - it was basically non-existant.

Room Tip: Plenty of parking, so all the rooms seem to be in a good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge North

Address: 110 Maplewood Trace, Nashville, TN 37207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 150 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge North 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Econo Lodge North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge North Hotel Nashville
Econo Lodge Nashville
Nashville Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel North

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.