We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“state museum was well done” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tennessee State Museum

Tennessee State Museum
505 Deaderick Street, Nashville, TN 37243 (Downtown Nashville)
800-407-4324
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 96 Attractions in Nashville
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Tennessee State Museum is one of the largest state museums in the nation with more than 60,000-sq.-ft. of permanent exhibits and a 10,000-sq.-ft. changing exhibition hall where temporary exhibits are on view. The museum's interpretive exhibits begin 15,000 years ago with prehistoric humans and continue through the early 1900s with special sections on Native American Indians, explorers, pioneers, the Antebellum age, the Civil War, and the beginning of a new century. The State Museum is open every day except Mondays, and admission is free.
midlothian va
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“state museum was well done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

we enjoyed the hour or 2 we spent in the museum. many, many exhibits that describe the history of tennessee. very good state museum, we enjoyed it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    96
    19
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Ohio
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Wow, better then expected.. And free!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I visited aug 27 while in nashville. We paid to park at the meter in front of the museum, which was only $3 for 2 hrs(wish we had known this the previous day) I figured this would not have much to see and we would get fairly bored(we are both early 20s). I was wrong, it was very interesting. They had lots of exhibits through all different times in history. The building was also clean inside and out. It kept us busy for quite some time and their gift shop was very nice with affordable suvineors. The young lady working there was especially nice! She was very friendly like other staff working there. For a free attraction to keep you busy for a couple hrs, this is a must for history buffs and those who are not. Plus the capitol is across the street which we went to afterwards.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth your time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

THE Civil War exhibits were terrific. People were everywhere to help you thru the exhibit and the rest of the museum. When in Nashville make time to go.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“An interesting free museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is a very good museum with a variety of exhibits covering many interesting subjects. It's not easy to find the entrance but it's worth the effort. We were particularly interested in the Civil War exhibits. We spent a good hour looking at the temporary exhibit about the Civil War with lots of photos, letters and personal evidence and artefacts and then at closing time realised it was the other exhibit about the Civil War in Tennessee we were more interested in so we came back the next day and both exhibits were good. The exhibits about the early history of Nashville and Andrew Jackson were good too. The map wasn't easy to follow and at one point we were confused and went up to level 2 looking for the Andrew Jackson exhibit. I asked someone about him and he told me a few sentences about him and didn't seem to know about the exhibit on the floor below. We enjoyed this museum and we recommended it to our relatives who have lived in Nashville for years but never visited.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kewanee, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wow !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

There is so much to see and learn here. We spent several hours looking and reading but could have spent a few more hours but we were on a schedule. I would go back in a heartbeat and have recommended it to others who enjoy museums. I love the fact that it was not crowded with people and the exhibits are spaced out unlike some museums we have been to. It is in a great part of town near to many other attractions.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tennessee State Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tennessee State Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.