We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Done, Hilton!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1715 Broadway Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Basking Ridge, New Jersey, United States
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Well Done, Hilton!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

When my wife and I vacation, we normally use hotels that we are familiar with, so that we will know what to expect. Marriotts and Hiltons are our usual, mainly because that rooms are always clean and up to a certain standard. The Hilton Gardens in Nashville was definitely up to their usual excellent standards. If you drove too fast, you would drive right by it. The hotel is on the corner of a side road with a parking garage next to it. When you enter, you are greeted by nice smiling faces ready to help you in any way. From the valet parkers to the receptionists, to the housekeeping, everyone is saying hello and "have a good day". You cannot help but smile. The room was exceptional and clean. The fruit and coffee on the counter when you enter is always a nice touch, and the chocolate chip cookies were a nice treat. The fire was roaring in the lobby, and the chairs were comfortable.

The bed was nice and plush. The room was laid out exactly like the others we have stayed at-nice and functional. 4 elevators meant there was never a wait, or a crowded elevator. The pool was big and warm. You could swim laps on your own, while the children played in a different area of the pool. The jacuzzi was nice and bubbly and warm.

The breakfast was a nice and plentiful buffet. The food was great, and there were lots of southern treats to choose from, besides the regular American staples-eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, waffles, home fries, etc,

My only complaint was that the gym was small, and there was only 3 pieces of cardio equipment- 1 elliptical and 2 treadmills (there was also a recumbent bike, but no one used that). The wait to use the machines in the morning was 3 persons deep. I had to wait over an hour to get on the elliptical, and it was worse later in the day. Also, there seemed to be a lot of dust on the machine, which meant it wasn't wiped down regularly. But, there was plenty of weight lifting dumbbells and a nautilus, so it kept me busy until it was my turn.

ONE TIP!! If you want to save on the parking- park in the garage 100 feet away from the hotel around the corner. It is $ 10 a day, compared to $ 25 a day at the hotel parking lot. We were there for 3 days, so it was nice to save $ 40.

Otherwise, a very nice Hilton. Good job.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh G, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Andrew R,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I want to first apologize for the experience using the fitness center. While we are limited on space, the machines should always be clean and functional. I will pass these notes along to the housekeeping team to make sure we do a better job on that front. It's great to hear that we are up to the Hilton standard. Hilton sets very high standards for their guests, and we strive to meet or exceed those standards. We would love to have you back at the Hilton Garden Inn Nashville Vanderbilt the next time you are in town.

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    211
    67
    21
    12
See reviews for
119
183
24
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Hotel is in a great location The shuttle is a definite PLUS Quiet, comfortable, clean, hotel staff is helpful and friendly Restaurant on site Great business area & lobby Will stay here again-highly recommend

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh G, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your stay. It is always helpful to find ways to improve our service and to see ways in which we our helping to make our guests' stays more enjoyable. We can't wait to have you back, and maybe next time, you can take advantage of the many amenities we offer.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, IN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at some very nice hotels/resorts for less than the price of this ($200/night after parking). We got a King room with whirlpool and the tub wasn't quite big enough for 2 people to be comfortable. If you are debating this hotel or a downtown hotel, stay downtown. The bed was quite firm, and there is no free breakfast like in other area hotels. I am HHonors gold, but Hilton Garden Inn only offers a free water and a snack (a fudge round). The staff was very nice though! Everyone was pleasant and made some great suggestions.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh G, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear DuaneHaas,

I am sorry to hear that you didn't get the stay you were expecting. All of our Diamond and Gold HHonors members have the option of complimentary breakfast or bonus points. I am sorry this was not explained at check in. I would love to speak to you in more detail about your stay, and I would love to have you back to show you the true value of the hotel. Please email me at josh.gannon@hilton.com to discuss this stay.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed at this hotel twice (4 nights each trip) in February and March, 2013. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The free van service is terrific. I put my car in the garage and left it there. The shuttle will take you any place in the core area. My longest wait was 30 minutes at 5:00pm on week day and most of the time it was only 10-15 minutes.

The restaurant is average but after a 10-12 hour day who is interested in going out? Certainly, not me. The breakfast service is quite generous with lots of choices including "made to order" items. It seems a bit pricey at $13.00 but there are lots of choices and your coffee cup is never empty.

The rooms were clean with plenty of space. For people other than HHonors Premium members, the free wi-fi works ok for e-mail, etc. The upgrade to faster service if $4.95 per day, I think.

The hotel is located on a major traffic way and my room faced the street but I was never troubled by noise.

Good location and good service here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh G, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear jwaite212,

Thanks for your comments about your stays with us. Our guests love the convenience of the complimentary shuttle. Whether your here for business or pleasure, we want to take care of you. I am glad to see that you didn't have to wait too long for the shuttle. Sometimes, in the evening traffic, it can be a little delayed. Again, thank you for your thoughts.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here for three night at the beginning of April. We were impressed with the quality on offer. The standard of the room was brilliant, very big and spacious and the bed was very comfortable.

The location is a mile from downtown , but the hotel has a shuttle service which will take you downtown at a moments notice. There is also plenty to see and do in the Vanderbilt area.

Breakfast was reasonable value although the chefs are a bit stingy with the amount of food that they give you, although they will cook things for you on demand, so you can not be too critical.

Parking is around 25 dollars a night, but parking in Nashville is difficult anyway so it is worth taking the hit.

We would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, if one is available I am sure that they would accommodate you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh G, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear nicholas j,

Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. We think our location is great: in the heart of Midtown, but only a few moments to downtown. Here, you can experience the best of both. The all you can eat breakfast buffet is very popular with our guests, and we feel our chefs our some of the best. We would love to have you back soon so that you may take advantage of many of the other amenities that we have to offer.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield Glade, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent Easter Sunday at this hotel because our daughter was coming in on a red eye to Nashville from San Francisco. Decided to scope things out before she arrived the next day so we could take her sight seeing. Hotel was great. Valet parking swept your car away quickly and efficiently and it was worth the 20 something extra dollars as you could take it out and come back in as often as you wanted during your stay. The room they sent us to was undergoing some services and there was equipment left in the room. One quick call to the main desk and they were right up with a key to a new room and a basket of goodies for the inconvenience--very efficient. Indoor pool was of a nice size for a downtown hotel and the hot tub was very adequate. Free shuttle to music row and other locations made it easy to sight see without taking your car. Lobby, restaurant and lounge not quite what we're used to from a HGI, but okay, nothing special. Menu lacking, but nearby alternatives sufficed. Best place on music row ( especially if you're not into Country Music) was the Hard Rock Cafe, otherwise tons of places to grab a drink and a snack with livc music playing almost all day. Shops featuring boots and Country Western Attire everywhere on and off Broad. Ryman Auditorium and the Parthenon well worth visiting. Above all, clean, quiet, friendly staff, and convenient is what we always expect out of Hilton Garden Inns.Cooked to order breakfast was great.

Room Tip: If you are a HGI member, book a regular room and upgrade to a suite with points. It's well wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh G, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Greetings HeyJudeandDiz,

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take in the sights while in town. Our convenient location and the complimentary shuttle make sight seeing fun and easy. We love our valet team, and their attention to service and detail is a stand out in the hotel. I am sorry to hear about the room status at check in. I will pass your comments along to our maintenance, housekeeping, and front office teams to ensure that we can avoid mistakes like this in the future. Comments like these help us to ensure that each guest will have a truly enjoyable stay.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good location, nice clean rooms, reasonable rate, but an amazing staff. Everyone we had contact with went above and beyond to be helpful and courteous!. Room was nice size, clean and comfortable. Especially liked that we were able to set individual room temperature, as we are quite fussy when it comes to sleeping.

Room Tip: They have a shuttle to downtown, but it wasn't always that convenient to our plans. Used it a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh G, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Julie S,

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and the staff. We pride ourselves on our service level, and I am glad to see that you were pleased by the service. I am sorry to hear that the shuttle wasn't a great benefit to you. It runs continually, but it unfortunately is not able to accommodate every request. Hopefully the rest of the stay made up for that. We would love to see you again the next time you visit Nashville.

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt

Address: 1715 Broadway Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Nashville
#6 Business Hotel in Nashville
#10 Family Hotel in Nashville
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in mid-town Nashville conveniently located off I-65/I-40 on Broadway Avenue. Within a short distance of our newly built hotel is Nashville's bustling downtown area, the famous Music Row, and both Belmont and Vanderbilt Universities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.