We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Excellent View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Germantown Cafe East - CLOSED

Germantown Cafe East
501 Main Street, Nashville, TN 37206
(615)242-3522
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Spring Street
Description: Located on the ground floor of the 5th and Main building on the resurgent east side, Germantown Cafe East is less than a mile from Downtown Nashville and Five Points and mere steps from LP Field. Specializing in straightforward interpretations of classic bistro fare, Germantown Cafe East is the perfect spot to grab a sophisticated bite before the Symphony, after the theatre, or maybe just a regular old Tuesday night out. Enjoy simple, fresh, value-focused dishes served in a stunning contemporary room overlooking the Nashville skyline.
Kingston Springs, Tennessee
Top Contributor
533 reviews 533 reviews
529 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 208 cities Reviews in 208 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Good Food, Excellent View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This was my first visit, but certainly not my last. Lots of choices to choose from. Service is excellent. Food is very good. Daily specials are offered. Lunch and dinner Monday through Friday and brunch on weekends. Fantastic view of downtown Nashville. The owners have another Germantown Cafe in Germantown, located in north Nashville.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    5
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We went on Mothers Day, so as expected, the restaurant was quite full, as was the underground parking lot. Fortunately, parking on the street was easily found. We had six people. I had specifically requested a good table as we were celebrating a birthday, mothers day and a college graduation, however, we got the worst table possible - next to the kitchen and the entrance. No view at all.

Food was excellent, with the exception of the hash browns. Just go for the grits. Service was also excellent and the wait staff was very attentive and friendly. Prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Brunch and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Loved the brunch menu- had a difficult time choosing which entree to order. Ordered the Eastside Benedict- classic poached eggs over cheddar/bacon brioche with steak tenderloin and horseradish hollandaise, served with a side of pepperjack grits. Delicious! Husband and Daughter had CrabCakes Benedict, served with a cayenne hollandaise. Also yummy! Great Bloody Mary's. Our server also doubled as the bartender (Robert), because it was a busy Mother's Day and we chose to sit there instead of on their outdoor patio. We sat at a bistro table near a window, and it was great. Robert took excellent care of us, and we would sit in his bar again when we return-which we plan to :)

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service, nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Spacious restaurant, with tables not to close to each other. Charming waitress. Great view of downtown Nashville from panoramic window. We may have received particularly good treatment because our reservation was made by the concierge of our hotel.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Good place for dinner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We were visited GCE for dinner. Parking was easy - free underground garage parking. The dining room is elegant and the tables have a skyline view. Our server was professional while sharing the specials and reviewing the menu with us. Food was excellent. We had Lamb Satay and Baked Brie as appetizers. Both were tasty. For main course I had Garlic Poached Sea Scallops and my husband had Oven Roasted Ashley Farms Chicken. Both dishes were delicious and cooked to perfection. The wine selection was very good too.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Germantown Cafe East also viewed

 
Nashville, TN
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Germantown Cafe East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.