We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for a reasonable rate!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Preston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Preston to your Saves list
Hotel Preston
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   733 Briley Parkway, Nashville, TN 37217   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for a reasonable rate!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

On a recent road trip, we made the decision to stay overnight in Nashville. We used Priceline and got the Hotel Preston. After reading mixed reviews, we were pleasantly surprised to find a decent room for such a great rate. While I would not classify it as 3 1/2 stars as advertised, it was still clean, had some charm, and the staff was friendly and accomodating.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Preston09, Manager at Hotel Preston, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for the great review! I'm happy to hear we exceeded your expectations when it came to providing you with a pleasant and relaxing stay. I'll be sure to pass along your compliments to the rest of the staff as well. If you ever find yourself back in Nashville, I hope you'll think of staying with us again!

Cheers,

Janette Simon
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    262
    190
    96
    56
See reviews for
159
242
65
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I got a great deal on Priceline, name your own price. It was close to many areas of town, easy to get on 40 or Briley Pkwy. You have to use the room key for the elevator to go up.
I thought the room was clean but there was nothing special about it. There is a large selection of pillow types. The sheets were soft and the bed covering was modern.
I didn't eat in the restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Preston09, Manager at Hotel Preston, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thanks for this helpful feedback. We're so glad you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay! While it's wonderful you were impressed with the cleanliness of your room, we'd love to know what you think we could add to it to make it special. We're all ears! I hope you'll stay with us again soon. Our pillows are waiting for you!

Happy New Year,
Janette Simon
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The reception are is clean and trendy, but the loud music pumping out of the bar in the evenings might put some people off. The staff are friendly.

The red fuzzy walls on the inside of the elevator sure brings a dimension of color, compared to the brown walls and brown carpets when you go upstairs !

They sell rooms off cheap on the internet to keep the hotel full, so they are trying to make it work out. Can't fault that.

I would stay again, for this price I don't expect a 4 star hotel within a 1/2 mile of the airport runway !

There wasn't any breakfast.

Room Tip: Some rooms are inline with the airport runway, so stay on the quiet side !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Preston09, Manager at Hotel Preston, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thanks for this helpful feedback. We're always looking to knock it out of the park for our guests, so I'm sorry you had a very average stay. Were you at all disturbed by the music from our lounge? We make sure that our guests don't hear it from their rooms, but if you did, I hope you let our staff know. If there's anything you would add to or change about our decor, we're all ears! I hope you'll come back and stay with us again in the New Year. We'd love to bring that "wow" factor moving forward.

Cheers,
Janette Simon
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

So the pictures and reviews were good and we are traveling through from Georgia back to Chicago so we chose hotel Preston. We rented the executive suite because our two kids were with us. The hotel just comes off as creepy. It is a really dated hotel with a popcorn low ceiling which was renovated with cool furniture and such... But it just doesn't work. It made me feel like I was in a cheap apartment that I decorated way too well. The dead bugs were all over the windowsills and the desk... And the living bugs were... Everywhere! Absolutely gross. The bugs were ladybugs, that were seen... But there were a minimum of 20 crawling and flying around our room. They said there was an infestation in Nashville... No. So we left and are now staying at the omni downtown for $20 less and it is amazing. I just had to warn travelers as I really wish I would have read a review like this.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Preston09, Manager at Hotel Preston, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
I'm so sorry to hear about this very strange experience. We take cleanliness very seriously, so the last thing we want is for you to feel uncomfortable. I hope you let our staff know about the bugs. We should have sent someone to take care of the problem immediately or moved you to a different room. If that didn't happen, then I am truly sorry. Would you mind sending us an email with the day you stayed with us and your room number (Janette.simon@provenancehotels.com)? We'd like to look into this for you ASAP. Once again, I am truly sorry for any frustration we caused. I can promise you this isn't an accurate reflection of our service or our business in general.

Much appreciated,
Janette Simon
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottondale, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

This is going to be long, so just bear with me. This hotel deserves a thorough post to explain why I believe Hotel Preston deserves deserves more than 3.5 stars.
Let me explain. I work in the medical field and interact with the public often and customer service IS everything! I grew up in Nashville and lived here more than 35 years before I moved to Florida and I remember when this location was a Roadway Inn. Back the early days it didn't have a very good reputation for customer service, so when Priceline selected this hotel location for me to stay in to visit my relatives during Christmas I have to be honest I was very skeptical.
I couldn't have been more wrong.
This place has been transformed into one-of-a-kind hotel with amenities you won't find anywhere else. As soon as you walk through the revolving doors you will know this place is different, in a good way. The lobby is bright and eclectic full of unique artwork that you will not find anywhere else. A dress made totally of pink crayons, yes crayons! An acrylic bra lit up in psychedelic colors with what looks to be fiber optic sunburst coming out behind it. A retro 50's living room complete with an antique rotary phone and lamps. Retro pictures galore with some with cool looking holograms that seem to follow you around!
Let's stop a minute and return to the check-in desk. Remember me saying customer service IS everything? Well this place goes over and beyond any place I have ever seen. Not only are you greeted by nice, friendly faces that go out of their way to make you feel welcome, but you are offered a lava lamp and a beta fish in a bowl to keep you company. (Not to worry, they bring it up to your room for you after you have checked in!). I didn't have much luggage so my check in took less than 2 minutes. I had my room "key" and was on my way to my room. Now getting on the elevator is an experience in itself. The walls are decorated with pink stretched leather hide that you have to see to believe. What I thought was an extra security measure you have to slide your room key in to select your floor. Wow, who thought of that! Brilliant!
---Update----
The entire hotel is now non-smoking (Even in the restaurant and bar area so no offensive smoke to deal with!)

Ok stepping out of the elevator the hallway looks a little dated, but hey that's the idea! Gives the place a more lived in feel to me. It still looks great with updated signage and more retro pictures of interesting black and white photos from around the world of famous stars and unusual circus acts.
I stayed on the 5 floor and my room was designated a non-smoking room which was a little weird but I guess the policy is very new according to the staff and are still working I'm new signage.
Entering the room was also retro but very nice furniture and bedding was clean bright white covering with no stains or torn places. Headboard is huge and is an interesting retro feel to it. The cleaning crew left the CD/AM/FM radio playing on a Christmas channel which was a very nice touch. Beds were made up very nicely with big fluffy pillows and super soft comforters. The room was very clean with no offensive odors. Bathroom was nicely appointed with modern curved curtain rods and a marble counter with inlayed stainless steel sinks with ultra modern faucets that take a little getting used to but worked well. Nice hot water in the sink and shower. fancy soap and shampoo nicely laid out with a coffee maker and behind the door was a terry bathrobe! Closet had hair dryer, iron, and ironing board. Now get this, in addition to the lava lamp and the fish bowl they have a pillow menu that ranges from ultra soft to firm or hypoallergenic delivered on request and a choice of spiritual reading material of your choice that covers all religions delivered to your room at no charge of course! Now that's what I call customer service!
Bed was very comfortable and the room very quiet with a powerful modern heating and cooling system. Sleeping was a dream. The only slight issue I saw was with the TV signal was slightly weak and grainy but I don't think it was the hotels fault it was the service they used. I didn't watch it much so it wasn't a big deal to me. Speaking of communication, Wifi is now free and works very well.
Ok back to customer service for a minute. I was out late one night and the weather turned nasty and as I entered the hotel, guest were informed that all patrons should gather on the lower floor because a tornado warning had been issued. Well the staff brought all of us bottled water and kept us informed of the impending weather until the coast was clear. Now that's caring for your guests!
They had breakfast/dinner menus for room service but I didn't not partake in the food service so I can't comment on the quality of the food. Others I spoke to, said they were also very pleased with the hotel food but was pricey.
I really hated to leave the hotel because I enjoyed my stay but I definitely will come back. Kudos to the wonderful staff for a very quick check out,too!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Preston09, Manager at Hotel Preston, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
We are truly in awe of this review! Comments like these just make our day. We're so glad you had such an enjoyable experience with us from start to finish. You're right—customer service can either make or break a business, so it's wonderful to hear that we knocked it out of the park for you! From our quirky, retro decor to our fun amenities, we're so glad you were impressed with our unique style. Next time you need a getaway, our door is always open.

Happy Holidays!
Janette Simon
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Preston for two nights and were definitely please with the stay. Their pillow menu was a great bonus - as my husband and I are high maintenance sleepers. We literally had ten wonderful pillows on out bed! The beds were very comfortable as well. The front desk staff was friendly and helped with suggestions for restaurants in the area. Overall a great stay!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Preston09, Manager at Hotel Preston, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
We're glad we could please two "high-maintenance" sleepers! Comfy is always what we're going for. Thanks for your kind words, and we're happy you felt at home. Hope to see you back here over the holidays!

Cheers,
Janette Simon
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamakura, Japan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Yes, it's close to the airport, but the Hotel Preston also has some personality. Even if red faux leopard-skin wall coverings on the elevators are not the way you'd decorate your own house, you'll likely appreciate the fact that the design decisions didn't come from some central chain purchasing office. The rooms are roomy and comfortable, and wireless internet access is fast and reliable (and included in the price). My main disappointment in several previous stays was the lack of equipment in the Fitness Center. This time, however, it had several new machines, which I learned were added about six months ago. Overall, the property could use a bit of a facelift, but I'll certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: If you really need extra space (for lots of luggage, for example), ask for one of the corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Preston09, Manager at Hotel Preston, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We're so glad you had such an enjoyable stay! I appreciate you mentioning that we're a hotel with personality — we take great pride in our unique and quirky decor. I'm happy to hear you were impressed with our fitness center this time around. We're constantly updating our amenities, so I appreciate this feedback. Hope to see you back here soon!

Happy Holidays,
Steve
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Preston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Preston

Address: 733 Briley Parkway, Nashville, TN 37217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Preston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Preston is a delightfully uncommon Nashville hotel. Conveniently located near Nashville International Airport, just minutes from both downtown Nashville and Opryland, Hotel Preston caters to vacationers and business travelers alike with an only-in-Music City combination of creativity and sass. With an eclectic art collection and unique touches like lava lamps, rubber duckies and pet fish delivered upon request, Hotel Preston moves to its own beat.The hotel’s distinctive rooms, designed with custom furniture, eye-catching colors and unimaginably comfortable beds, have attracted worldwide media attention. Each room has a You Want It, You Got It button that caters to guests’ needs or whimsical desires: high-speed wireless Internet access, Aveda bath products, a Pillow Menu and Spiritual Menu.Hotel Preston offers state of the art meeting facilities with 7,408 sq. ft. of space including the 4,400 sq. ft. Gather Ballroom. Café Isabella serves up Italian comfort food with southern roots at Hotel Preston and caters to guests for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel also boasts The Pink Slip, located off the lobby, where cocktails are served nightly and live music is showcased most nights and an inviting outdoor pool that is open seasonally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Preston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preston Hotel Nashville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Preston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.