We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place, but not sure I'd stay again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Preston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Preston to your Saves list
Hotel Preston
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   733 Briley Parkway, Nashville, TN 37217   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Ohio
1 review
“Not a bad place, but not sure I'd stay again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

Stayed at Hotel Preston 4 nights, after being very impressed with their website.
First the good stuff: Classy room, great bed, free shuttle to/from the airport, nice pool, reasonable price, AVEDA bath products, awesome helpful shuttle drivers (especially "Nolan"), free shuttle to Opryland Mall, efficient room cleaning, didn't hear any airport noise at all, able to print off airline boarding pass in computer center.
Now the bad stuff: extremely noisy air conditioning unit in room (kept us awake), very few tv channels, very hot in the hallways, our floor's ice machine was broken the entire four days, vending machines carry Coke products only (I drink Pepsi), no lunch hours at hotel restaurant, front desk staff not very knowledgeable about things like computer questions, $9 charge for internet access in the room.
I don't plan to visit Nashville again, but if I did, I probably would not stay here...I guess MAYBE if they upgraded their room air conditioners...as that was the worst part of the Hotel Preston experience. They cooled the room down fast, but the humidity would take over when the unit was turned off, you really had to keep it running and it was VERY loud.

  • Liked — comfortable bed
  • Disliked — air conditioning unit in room extremely loud
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    261
    190
    94
    56
See reviews for
158
242
64
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2008

Stayed here for the marathon weekend and overall we left very satisfied. Almost all of the renovations are complete, except for the pool which we were sad to find out was closed until the following week. The rooms are very modern and looked very much as-advertised on the website. LOVED the super comfortable bed and flat panel TV. We had a corner room with extra hallway space. Reserved a non-smoking room but ended up on a smoking floor as I found out when I had to trek to the sixth floor for ice because our floor's machine was broken. THe room had no trace of a smoke smell, though. The bathrooms are surprisingly small, yet pleasing. Marble counters, stylish faucet, soothing showerhead but the tub obviously outdated the room, and there was no hairdryer or fan (standard at other hotels?) in the bathroom which made for an uncomfortable area to get ready. Cleaning service didnt come until 5pm, which was rather unusual. No room service menu or do not disturb sign was provided. Internet is rediculously slow for $9 a day; at least a minute to load google, and worse for others. The live music at the bar downstairs is nice and representative of the Nashville scene, but seems out of place at the hotel, especially when it is clearly audible on the fourth floor, even after midnight (when they "close") and many of us had to be up around 3:30am. These are the only and slightly nit-picky complaints we have, and understand that a complete renovation of staff and facilities takes time to work out its kinks. However, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Live music audible from room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Progressive07, Marti Timmons Director of Sales at Hotel Preston, responded to this review, May 16, 2008
Dear A Run-In-

Hotel Preston Loves Country Music Marathon Runners! We are the first in line each year to offer our hotel to runners and our staff volunteers each year to help with this fantastic event. Thank you for coming to town to join this great running event! Music every mile, great fun. We are pleased to say we opened our pool especially early this year so the runners could enjoy it. Some of your fellow running mates splashed in the cool pool after the big event.

Thank you for your comments, we take every detail into account and will share your observations with our associates. We look forward to next year 2009 Runner's Welcome at Hotel Preston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2008

Definetly would not stay at this hotel again, far from downtown Nashville and that's where everything is. They will not shuttle you downtown so you have to pay $20-25 each way if you want to go anywhere but the Opryland Mall. They are not very knowledgeable at all in regards to tourist attractions or bus schedules. It was like a chore for any of the front end staff to help with our requests.

Shuttle drivers were very kind and helpful. Rooms were nice but they didn't even have CMT or GAC as a TV channel and you had to pay to listen to music. They also charged for local calls. Just seemed like everytime we turned around they were charging us for something.

The restuarant is only open from 630am-1030am and then from 5pm-10pm. There is no other place to get anything to eat unless you get shuttled to the mall. Only one corner store is a 5 mile radius. Not impressed with this hotel at all.

  • Liked — comfy beds
  • Disliked — how the staff were treating us
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Progressive07, Marti Timmons, Director of Sales at Hotel Preston, responded to this review, May 16, 2008
Dear Saskatoon-

Hotel Preston is a quick 6 miles from Downtown Nashville or Opryland Attractions, which to most is a hop skip and a jump away. We are sorry our shuttle does not go downtown, however we do run the wheels off to the airport 24 hrs and to Opryland for shopping at Saks Off Fifth Ave and good eats at the Aquarium Restaurant!

You are obviously a music lover, in our rooms you have a CD Players which comes in handy, plus we offer a wide selection of CD's in our library for your to use while your visiting. Next trip check it out!

Sorry you missed our 24 hr room service menu - great salads and sandwiches or the restaurants that are next door 2 blocks for a quick bite off site. Glad you enjoyed the comfy beds, would love for you to try us again, CMA Fan Festival is very exciting June 4-7 come check out the music scene in our Pink Slip Lounge, you never can tell who might be in there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennys22
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2008

I thought this hotel was really nice. The front desk clerks were very friendly, the hotel was clean & has been remodeled in a very contemporary/modern way. My room was HUGE, the bed was large & very comfortable & the furniture was modern & nice. The bathrooms have granite countertops & are very clean & new. The room service menu was actually affordable & not overpriced! There is a very large parking lot with ample parking.

The hotel is very close to the airport, but the only disadvantages are that the views from the rooms are of the interstate or the parking lot. However, it is not noisy at all. There also is a surcharge for internet access.

I had a great stay at this hotel & would return.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington, ks
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

We recently stayed at the Hotel Preston overnight on the way to Memphis. It's a nice little boutique hotel, a little too urban for my taste, but nice. They have lot's of cool little extra's like lava lamps and pet fish to make your stay more comfortable, none of which we took advantage of because we were just ther to sleep basically. The rooms were stylish and the beds were comfortable, but our room was in need of some repair - little things like a non functioning ceiling fan, a small tear in the wallpaper, just little things here and there. We got the room on hotwire and got a pretty good rate, but if we had paid full price I probably would have complained. Overall, good value.

  • Liked — comfortable beds, good rate
  • Disliked — room not in the best of shape
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Progressive07, Marti Timmons, Director of Sales at Hotel Preston, responded to this review, May 16, 2008
Dear Daisilee-

Thank you for taking a moment to share your eagle eye with us. We are grateful and will pass along your keen observations to our maintenance department for a quick fix.

Come stay with us again soon! After that 3 hour drive from Memphis a comfy bed is waiting at Hotel Preston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2008

My wife and I were in Nashville for a conference and decided to stay at the Preston. We have always been interested in the hotel as I have seen it off of the interstate for a while and the giant pictures hanging on the outside of the hotel peaked my interest a while back. The hotel itself is real modern and "artsy" which is different but pretty cool. Check in was great and the staff were extremely friendly! The staff at this hotel was the best I have experienced in my travel worldwide! We were always greeted happily and they seemed genuinely appreciative of our business. I think the hotel is in a great location, close to pretty much everything. Our room was right off a runway and I was worried at first but I did not hear a thing all night. The room was comfortable and my wife and I were extremely impressed with how comfortable the bed was. The rooms are an “older style” one room set up but was decorated nicely. I was also impressed with the cleanliness of the room and bathroom. The only complaint I had was our tub. As impressed as I was with the colors, decor, and cleanliness I inspected the tub to find it was extremely old and looked as though it had been chipped and it just did not fit. The tub was extremely clean; it just looked old or something. My thinking was if I was the mgt. and was going to spend as much money renovating the place, I would replace those tubs. Everything else was pretty awesome. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast and thought it was a nice little restaurant. The prices for the breakfast was comparable with a breakfast you would get at any "sit down" restaurant however I thought the price for the coffee was a little much. All in all I think this hotel is pretty cool and defiantly something different. If you are looking for a different hotel with great service, and a good price I would recommend the Preston. We would defiantly go back!

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Progressive07, Marti Timmons, Director of Sales at Hotel Preston, responded to this review, May 16, 2008
Dear Jalco-

What an adorable couple! Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your insight and honesty. Yes, the tubs are getting upgraded too, we tried to take a small break in the facelift process to breath. We are back to work and will have those tubs looking new before long. We get lots of wonderful comments on the great beds, isn't that what a wonderful hotel is all about, yes, the beds!

We hope to have your smiling faces back in the near future. Thank you for your time and comments, they are much appreciated at Hotel Preston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2008

As a long-term frequent user of Hotwire, I have never been as disappointed in a "4-Star" rated hotel as I was with the Hotel Preston. It is not appropriately rated. At best it is a 3 1/2 star, but a 3 star rating would be appropriate. It is good (but not outstanding) hotel. Do not book it expecting a 4-Star experience.

  • Liked — Beds were comfortable
  • Disliked — Overall condition of the hotel and performance of staff
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChadArmistead, Assistant General Manager at Hotel Preston, responded to this review, March 24, 2008
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are excited about being rated for the first time since our renovation has been completed by AAA, the only official rating we recognize. We are constantly trying to improve our operation to ensure guest satisfaction, and hope you will come stay with us again.

Chad Armistead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Preston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Preston

Address: 733 Briley Parkway, Nashville, TN 37217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Preston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Preston is a delightfully uncommon Nashville hotel. Conveniently located near Nashville International Airport, just minutes from both downtown Nashville and Opryland, Hotel Preston caters to vacationers and business travelers alike with an only-in-Music City combination of creativity and sass. With an eclectic art collection and unique touches like lava lamps, rubber duckies and pet fish delivered upon request, Hotel Preston moves to its own beat.The hotel’s distinctive rooms, designed with custom furniture, eye-catching colors and unimaginably comfortable beds, have attracted worldwide media attention. Each room has a You Want It, You Got It button that caters to guests’ needs or whimsical desires: high-speed wireless Internet access, Aveda bath products, a Pillow Menu and Spiritual Menu.Hotel Preston offers state of the art meeting facilities with 7,408 sq. ft. of space including the 4,400 sq. ft. Gather Ballroom. Café Isabella serves up Italian comfort food with southern roots at Hotel Preston and caters to guests for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel also boasts The Pink Slip, located off the lobby, where cocktails are served nightly and live music is showcased most nights and an inviting outdoor pool that is open seasonally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Preston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preston Hotel Nashville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Preston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.