We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Tacky Preston” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Preston

Save Saved
You added Hotel Preston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Preston
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   733 Briley Parkway, Nashville, TN 37217   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% Off Room & Free Wifi
Ranked #55 of 150 hotels in Nashville
Fayetteville, AR, USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Cheap and Tacky Preston”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hotel Preston is one of the funkiest ever seen! The public spaces are bright reds and pinks combined to a style that could be called "Brothel Nuevo". The room, though large and reasonably clean, was decorated in reds and blacks of poor quality. It seemed that nearly every aspect of this hotel shouts, "cheap, cheap!" especially the red leopard velour in the elevators. In spite of the cheap and tacky appearance of the Preston, the front desk staff provides good service, particularly David at check in.

Incredibly, Priceline rates the Preston 3.5 star. Perhaps that's on their scale for hourly hotels. Since the room lacked even a hair dryer, 1.5 star is more appropriate.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Preston09, Manager at Hotel Preston, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. I am sorry that our hotel was not what you expected. We do provide hair dryers in all our rooms. I am sorry that your room did not have one. Thank you for your feedback and I hope you will consider coming back to stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Monique
Facilities Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    221
    160
    82
    43
See reviews for
135
212
57
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

An older hotel remodeled as a low cost W hotel vibe. Bed was comfortable, linens were clean, easy airport access, friendly staff. I would definitely stay there again. My only two complaints would be that I could easily hear my neighbors in the room next door. And the heater/air conditioner was one of those old under window units. It worked fine, but was really noisy....

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We left our car last weekend and stayed when we came in from our recent trip. Room was very large and clean. Bed was comfortable. Then it sounded as if someone was going to come thru the ceiling over and over. Lots of loud laughing finally called front desk since it was late of the noise and was told it was a university debate team that had a hard day and he was sorry and thy were monitoring them. Gee we had a hard day too guess not important to this person. I told him since I could hear them one floor down I did not think it would be too hard to correct the issue. Again I was told it was hard to monitor what happens inside the room.

We also went to the restaurant twice and both times no one to greet you, we just seated ourselves. Food was good and reasonable but don't expect a wait staff. They need to staff restaurant better.

They do have a 24 hour shuttle and we used it a couple of times and it was great.

Will think twice though before booking here again for sure, sleep is not overrated.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Preston09, General Manager at Hotel Preston, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear DentonTraveler,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We hope everyone gets a good night of sleep while staying with us at the Hotel Preston. We will have to be better at monitoring noise complaints.

Thanks,
Steven Hoida
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Third stay at the Prescott. Great shuttle service and nice rooms. The bathrooms are a little small but nice. Greatest draw for me is the in-room massages the front desk will arrange for you. Not to be missed.

Room Tip: Love the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel Preston was a pleasant surprise. We needed a room on short notice and didn't want to pay too much. It's a little off the beaten path (meaning, it's not downtown), but it's right off of the interstate and a cab ride downtown was about $15.

Our room was really cute - the decor at this hotel is really cool; great pictures in the lobby. The staff was nice and accommodating and we ate dinner in the restaurant inside the hotel - and it was good as well.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here after bidding for a 3.5 star hotel on priceline. This is NOT that. the hotel is really old. The decor is cute/trendy, but felt dirty to me. The elevator reuired a room card which was a huge hassle with luggage and a toddler. No fridge in room (had to call for one), and it took 2 hours and 3 phone calls to get one. The phone cord/jack would not stay in the crumbling concrete wall - which was fine since we didnt need a phone. The bedspread had holes in it from over bleaching/washing. There was a mattress spring oking me in the back all night. No hair dryer in the room. TV was fuzzy and had only basic cable. Musty - basement smell permeated and seemed like a 'party' hotel with a younger crowd so was very loud all night long. Will not every bid on hotels in nashville again for fear of getting this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

First experience at the Preston, and I would stay there again. The employees were all very friendly/helpful and the room was clean. Keep in mind, however, that this hotel is right by the airport, so if you're a very light sleeper the flights taking off may bother you. I didn't really find it to be a problem myself.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Preston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Preston

Also Known As:
Preston Hotel Nashville
Address: 733 Briley Parkway, Nashville, TN 37217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 150 hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Preston 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Preston is a delightfully uncommon Nashville hotel. Conveniently located near Nashville International Airport, just minutes from both downtown Nashville and Opryland, Hotel Preston caters to vacationers and business travelers alike with an only-in-Music City combination of creativity and sass. With an eclectic art collection and unique touches like lava lamps, rubber duckies and pet fish delivered upon request, Hotel Preston moves to its own beat.The hotel’s distinctive rooms, designed with custom furniture, eye-catching colors and unimaginably comfortable beds, have attracted worldwide media attention. Each room has a You Want It, You Got It button that caters to guests’ needs or whimsical desires: high-speed wireless Internet access, Aveda bath products, a Pillow Menu and Spiritual Menu.Hotel Preston offers state of the art meeting facilities with 7,408 sq. ft. of space including the 4,400 sq. ft. Gather Ballroom. Café Isabella serves up Italian comfort food with southern roots at Hotel Preston and caters to guests for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel also boasts The Pink Slip, located off the lobby, where cocktails are served nightly and live music is showcased most nights and an inviting outdoor pool that is open seasonally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Preston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Preston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.